We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Safe place in Naples” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Culture Hotel Villa Capodimonte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Culture Hotel Villa Capodimonte
Ranked #67 of 189 Hotels in Naples
Fairbanks, AK
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Safe place in Naples”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

Not a 4 star by any means but in a safe place of town, with a gated parking area. The hotel looked a little outdated but the rooms looked nicely updated. Nice garden area and great view from the rooms towards Mt. Vesuvius. Breakfast was nice but WiFi was expensive $10 for 3 hours. Kinda of hard to navigate through the town to get there but a nice spot, nice neighbor hood with restaurants near by. Wouldn't really recommend the hotel restaurant, pretty but took a long time to get our food and we were the only ones there. Not the best food we've had either. There was a pizzeria at the end of the road that was amazing. We ate there both nights.

Room Tip: Room with a view of Mt. Vesuvius
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AK_Tarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letizia66, Direttore at Culture Hotel Villa Capodimonte, responded to this review, 30 November 2012
Thank you for your review. Culture Hotel Villa Capodimonte offers rates which include free wi-fi as well as low cost rates "room only".
I regret to learn that you did not enjoy our restaurant, I assure you, that I will take care to understand what happened and what we may do on order to improve.
Best regards
Letizia Tancredi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    164
    77
    33
    16
See reviews for
57
137
14
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Östersund, Jämtlands Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

Here are the highlights:

Good stuff:
*Hotel staff was very friendly, polite and helpful
*Beautiful view since the hotel is very high up on a hill
*Huge beds

Let downs:
-Rude restaurant staff
-Is far away from city center, and the area has a bad reputation. We were advised to stay indoors in the evenings, by more than one person. They do offer one free shuttle bus tour in the morning, at various times each day. But the taxi going home every day will set you back a little and it felt very limiting.
-Minibar-fridge was broken. Not that we minded, but somehow feels like that should have been easy to catch had the checked it prior to our arrival. **** Gold star, the fixed it and gave us free internet to make up for it.
-Internet costs money, and breakfast is not included.
-We had ants in our room. Which the front desk staff took seriously, but the cleaning man they sent to help didn't seem to take it very seriously. He came armed with bug spray. He did his thing and left. The next day, ants still there - of course, since the seemed to live in the wall. We went back to the front desk and they sent the same man. The cleaning man looked at the ants, said "un momento" and left. We waited for over half an hour but he never returned. Finally we went back out to the front desk to ask if he was returning or not, since it was late and we were wanting to go to bed. Cleaning man was sitting by the computer taking it easy. Hmpf. ****Gold star, front desk man gave us a new executive room a floor up and was sincerely apologetic.

So bottom line. There was problems - and they fixed them! Hence, we felt okay about our stay. But was it a 4 star experience? Definitely not! If so, there wouldn't had been so many issues that had to be dealt with.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letizia66, Direttore at Culture Hotel Villa Capodimonte, responded to this review, 30 November 2012
Thank you for your detailed review and for listing the highlights.
I am sorry to learn your letdowns, because there were plenty of things to do in order to improve your stay. I will check with my "friendly, polite and helpful" staff, why we did not change your room (normal procedure for complaints).
Culture Hotel Villa Capodimonte offers rates including breakfast and unlimited use of wi-fi and rates "room only".
I appreciate your compliments for the view, view from Capodimonte area, on the top of the hill and outside from traffic and frenzy of the city centre.
Please, ask always for the manager, when you have serious problems with your hotel room.
See you soon.
Letizia Tancredi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

If we hadn't looked at tripadvisor then we wouldn't have known just how far out this hotel was. Most hotel sites say it's about 2 miles from the centre, which it may be as the crow flies, but wasn't if you went in a Taxi. Wasn't in a good enough area to walk around in the evening and you would have been knackered trying to walk to it from the centre in the heat of the day. It was about 15 euro in a taxi each way but the hotel offered a shuttle down to the town in the morning at 10 or 10:30 but none coming back.

As a result of this, it would have cost us at least 300 euro in taxi fares over the ten days so we moved hotels to one near the Via Toledo.

Rooms were actually quite good, clean, modern and comfortable, and the grounds were nice. Staff were generally helpful. The place seemed quite empty though. Breakfast was included in our room rate but was quite poor. Would be good for a short stopover for a night or two but not suited to a longer visit.

The restaurant was closed at lunch during our stay, so without visits to the town there wasn't much in the way of food from breakfast onwards. There is also nothing around the hotel for quite a distance for food etc.

A pool would vastly improve this hotel. The space is there and a pool is a rarity in Naples, so this would be an excellent place to relax for those that way inclined.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room with a view of vesuvius and hopefully you won't end up in one of the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank plymouthsp2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letizia66, Direttore at Culture Hotel Villa Capodimonte, responded to this review, 30 November 2012
Dear Guest,
the location of Culture Hotel Villa Capodimonte is its major plus and minus. Amazing garden, guite and relaxing surroundings, view all over the city and the sea, away from chaos and stress. Not central. In the centre you would not find conditions as listed above.
August is low season for the city of Naples, with low occupancy and low rates.
Our breakfast is composed by: 3/4 types of bread and rolls, toast, rusks, cookies, croissants, croissants with jam, croissants with chocolate, savory croissants, bundles, donuts, homemade tarts and plum cakes, 4/5 jams, honey, nutella, butter, margarine, different types of cheese, ham and sliced, canned fruit, fresh fruit, branded yoghurt, 3/4 types of cereals and corn flakes, scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, bacon, coffee, tea, milk, fruit juices etc.
The restaurant was closed for lunch during the low occupancy month of august, but a snack menu was available at our Veranda Bar served in our beautiful garden.
Best regards.
Letizia Tancredi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

First, if you stay here, you should keep in mind that it is not convenient at all. It is very far away from any city center and requires a taxi of 8 to 18 Euros each way. If they order the taxi for you, the taxi will try to charge you 18 Euros. If you can catch a taxi on your own, it costs between 8 and 10 euros and even more on Sunday.
This place is run with the sense of a scam. First: the mini-bar was filled with empty bottles which they then charge you for. I brought the state of the mini-bar to the attention of the staff on Day One. They assured me it would be rectified but it never was and they still tried charging me 8 Euro per empty bottle for a whopping 56 Euro bill on check out.
Second: they charged me for a day trip to Pompeii but told the Pompeii company that we had insisted on paying cash. The touring company would not take us home until we paid cash. I am currently reversing the credit card charge through my company, but this is a good example of their behavior.
Third: They tell you breakfast is on the veranda whenever you are ready, but on check-out, we were handed a bill for 175 Euro. They charged us 20 euro per day for breakfast without saying a word. Everything else (the 5 Euro per hour internet, the overpriced and terrible dinners) had a charge on it, but the breakfast was an unspoken scam. Seriously, 20 Euro for a hard boiled egg and canned fruit? And to add insult to it all, the coffee tasted like watery folgers.
To make matters worse, their cleaning staff threw away some of our belongings -- mostly toiletries but wine and food as well -- and then asked me if I was missing my toothbrush (for instance) and offered to sell me another one for 5 euro. It was insane.
I am a pretty well-traveled person. I have lived in 4 countries and visited almost 30. Yet I can say summarily that this is the creepiest hotel I've ever stayed at. The constant disingenuous lying and overcharging for everything made each interaction with staff a trying affair. The fact that they consider themselves to be four star is especially terrible.
Avoid at all costs.

Room Tip: Watch out for the vomit stains on the carpet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meredith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letizia99, Direttore at Culture Hotel Villa Capodimonte, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Your review had my best attention. You may take a look to former reviews of Culture Hotel Villa Capodimonte in order to have a complete idea of our location and services.

Taxi fares are not determined by hotel staff. Taxi companies suggest different solutions from Capodimonte (panoramic and “green” zone of the city of Naples) to City Centre: if you put the taximeter on, the fare ranges from 8 to 25 Euros depending on traffic, week day/end, day/night-time, luggage; if you choose the flat rate, the fare will mandatory be of € 12 extras and luggage included.

The mini-bar bottles were filled with water by the former guest of your room, we apologize that our housekeeping staff was not able to recognize this, but the bottles were well-taped. We took care of this problem as soon as you reported it and cancelled every charge on your bill.

The excursion company accept credit cards for reservations until 24 hours before the trip. You were informed about by Front Office staff (it is also written on their brochure) ! You asked to pay by credit card again directly on the bus, and were escorted to a money machine (bancomat) by the driver.

Your reservation was a “room only” booking. You are frequent travellers, so you know that this means that breakfast is not included in your rate. We regret that our breakfast buffet was not to your satisfaction ; that’s why we deducted you 3 of 8 breakfasts token. Our breakfast buffet (€ 10,00 per person) is composed as follows: 3/4 different types of bread, biscuits, 3 types of brioches, “krapfen”, 2 different home-made cakes, 6/7 different jams, honey, nutella, butter, diet margarine, margarine, 3 different types of cheese, 2 different types of cold cuts, fresh fruit and canned fruit, natural and fruit yoghurt, 3 different types of cereals and muesli, boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, bacon, 3 different types of fruit juice, fresh milk, low fat milk, mineral water, tea, american coffee, espresso/cappuccino, as well as items for celiac and diabetics.

Your dinners had an average charge of € 11,50 per person (1 course and beverage), I believe this to be a reasonable price for a four star restaurant. Our food is ALWAYS freshly cooked and prepared with fresh raw materials.

I queried personally our housekeeping staff regarding your belongings and I was answered that they remembered well bottles of wine in your room, that were half empty and NEVER token away. Nobody did ever talk to you about the price of a toothbrush.

Trusting that the above explanations are to your satisfaction, be assured of our constant attention to all guests wishes and expectations.

Please enjoy travelling!
Letizia Tancredi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed one night before travelling down the south coast. The staff were really friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious, clean and quiet. The beds were huges and comfortable. We ate in the restaurant where the waiter was very pleasant and the food good.The continental breakfast was plentiful and with lots of choice. The garden and grounds were very attractive. We would have liked to have stayed more nights and explored Naples and the nearby park. We would go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letizia99, Direttore at Culture Hotel Villa Capodimonte, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Thank you for your appreciated review.

We look forward to welcome you soon again in our Oasis Culture Hotel Villa Capodimonte.
Best Regards
Letizia Tancredi
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

we only stayed one night on our way home but I would return as the surrounding area, although rough, like the whole of Naples, was on the edge of a lovely park and had astounding views. The staff were lovely and the room big and plush. the grounds were well kept and the resteraunt good value with exelent service. The house wine was very good as was the food.

Room Tip: I quite understand why a previous reviewer felt as if they were a prisioner but as long as you take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thejeremiahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Direttore at Culture Hotel Villa Capodimonte, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Location - Rooms - Staff: the three points that make the difference between a hotel and a Good Hotel. Thank you for your review.
Letizia Tancredi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012 via mobile

Me and my wife arrived on wed. Night may 30th , we were put in room 204 next to buffet area
There were only three staff the whole time , the bartender was tending bar and dinner waiting tables , we were told it was unsafe to leave hotel after dark, it was suppose to be a four star hotel, every four star we stayed at in Rome and sorrento had free breakfast and wifi, not here everything here was extra, our last night they had local wedding that kept us up all night, wevhadva 600 am flt, we complained but which did no good . We left there exhausted..
We felt like prisoners in hotel the time merely gate and bars around the whole hotel
Would not recomend this hotel at any price.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dennis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letizia99, Direttore at Culture Hotel Villa Capodimonte, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Thank you for your comments.

I do agree, that, as in all major cities, moving around on nighttime may preserve more risks, while discovering the city. Our guests visit the city of Naples starting from Capodimonte's Royal Park and Museum which is only 500 mt from our panoramic hotel.

Usually our guests choose to stay away from traffic and chaos and prefer to take the chance to relax in our beautiful botanic garden.

Your are perfectly right, regarding the local wedding that took place during your stay. We would have loved to change your room, if you would have contacted our front desk directly to complain.
Best regards
Letizia Tancredi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#30 of 189 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Pendino
Culture Hotel Centro Storico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fuorigrotta
Hotel Palazzo Esedra
Hotel Palazzo Esedra
#21 of 189 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Ranch Palace Hotel
#53 of 189 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Hotel Tiempo
#39 of 189 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Culture Hotel Villa Capodimonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culture Hotel Villa Capodimonte

Property: Culture Hotel Villa Capodimonte
Address: Via Moiariello 66, 80131, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Naples
#33 Business Hotel in Naples
#43 Luxury Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Culture Hotel Villa Capodimonte 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Culture Hotel Villa Capodimonte è un hotel 4 stelle di Napoli che sorge all’interno di un meraviglioso giardino botanico sulla collina che ospita il grande Parco di Capodimonte e il suo Palazzo Reale. La struttura ospita il rinomato ristorante Torre del Palisciano, e dispone di un centro congressi con diverse sale attrezzate per meeting e conferenze. The Villa Capodimonte Culture Hotel is a 4-star hotel in Naples which stands in a splendid botanical garden on the hill which accommodates the large Capodimonte Park and its Royal Palace.Every morning a free transfer service to the historical centre is available for our clients.The hotel has WiFi internet connection throughout, which is free in all the Executive rooms.The hotel has a large unmanned internal parking space, which is free and exclusively for client use. Breakfast is served in the magnificent Oleander Veranda, looking out on the beautiful hotel park where each morning the hotel will extend its good morning greetings with a substantial buffet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia and TravelUp so you can book your Culture Hotel Villa Capodimonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capodimonte Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing