We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hard to find, but a pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Culture Hotel Villa Capodimonte
Ranked #64 of 190 Hotels in Naples
Level Contributor
130 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Hard to find, but a pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Culture Hotel Villa Capodimonte. The grounds were absolutely beautiful. The room was immaculate. The hotel service was great. We ate breakfast at the hotel as well, which wasn't included with the hotels price. The breakfast was okay, but if I had to do it over again, I'd probably just find a pastry shop instead and get a cheaper and fresher meal. One major word of advice: if you are driving to the hotel, get a GPS unit. We would have never found the place if it wasn't for the GPS

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    165
    81
    33
    16
See reviews for
59
142
14
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We wanted to stay somewhere near to the airport and this was brilliant. REALLY helpful staff on the desk and an oasis of calm in the a crazy brilliant city. We had a great family room for all 5 of us and it was really good. We walked to the end of the road and found a wonderful pizza place on the corner. Fab place with massive pizzas starting at 3 euros!
Anyway hotel was clean and had free wifi for the kids. We will def return!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alasdair F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Churchville, PA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Poor quality hotel starting with being in a neighborhood that requires walls and a metal gate to let the cars into the parking lot. Walk a hundred yards to the the reception where we were greeted by a snooty and uncaring front desk. We had to ask for towels three times, there were none initially, and was given attitude each time. Dark hallways and no cell reception below the main floor. 9 local channels on the TV and a view from the first floor looking into dirty wall with a half eaten apple just outside. 10 euros for 10 hours of internet service. The restaurant is an embarrassment to Italian food with Pillsbury rolls out of a tube, poor service and annoying 80's music redone by Italian artists blasting in your ear. Eating out requires a lengthy and expensive cab ride. This may have been a grand hotel a some point in the distant past but it is no longer. On a positive note, the rooms are large and relatively clean. After a glorious week in Positano, during which we had nothing but the best experience, this was a sour place to end our trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tikitaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

I’ve traveled to Naples on business regularly for the last decade and we are always searching for a hotel that can accommodate our needs, which can be many. Most tourist area hotels do not really care that much – Villa Capodomonte does. The Culture Hotel Villa Capodimonte is exactly what my colleagues & I have been looking for all along. It has the perfect combination of comfort, well appointed rooms, quiet location, decent food and a staff that is simply second to none. We (four American business travelers) stayed here for two weeks and we will definitely be returning if / when the need arises. Definitely an outstanding value based on other hotels I've stayed at.

I selected this hotel based on a TripAdvisor review of a person who had also stayed here long term (2 months). Like him, I also stayed in room 412. There is nothing special about this room, it just worked out that way. His review is spot on.
I cannot say enough good things about the hotel staff. They were very accommodating, friendly, and bent over backwards to help us in getting taxis, laundry, photocopying, dinner, restaurant recommendations, etc. Our business required us to leave well before the normal start of breakfast service. However, for a fee, the hotel provided us with full, early breakfast service & it was a lifesaver. We tipped well - they appreciated it and returned service in kind. I know they would have given us good service regardless of the tipping. After work, we would gather in the salon and have drinks. The staff would always make sure we had plenty of little snacks (peanuts, olives, cheese, crackers, fancy finger sandwiches, etc.).
Rooms & Grounds. We stayed on the top (4th Fl) – ocean views. Nice views w/ balconies. The other rooms were nice too. I don’t think you would go wrong w/ any room here. The hotel grounds were lovely & enough for walking around to explore but not too much to get lost. Decent views of the bay & Vesuvius. Lovely flowers & flowering trees.
Vehicle Parking. We had a minibus for a vehicle (carrying 4 people, luggage & equipment). Finding a place to put a large vehicle is always a problem in Napoli. The gated / secured parking at the hotel was a lifesaver. Hotel parking alone is almost impossible to find in Napoli & they had sufficient room. Leave the car keys w/ the reception desk because they may have to move the cars around to fit in as many as possible. However, it never happened to us.
Location & access. This would be the only drawback, although minor in my opinion, but I am used to Europe. The hotel is adjacent next to an old tower (Torre del Palasciano), visible from the city of Naples or Tangenziale highway. It is about 10 – 15 min drive to the airport, door to door in free traffic. For those used to wide streets, accessing the hotel may be a challenge. It is accessed by very narrow streets which the Italians navigate w/ no problem. We noticed that every car parked on the streets was sideswiped. The hotel is a little remote from the downtown action and restaurants. If you need to access downtown, have the hotel call you a cab - they arrive within 5 min of calling. Either negotiate the price before you get in or make sure the meter is on.
Food: The hotel restaurant, Moriella, has decent food, catering to English speaking guests. Service is outstanding. Once we eat here a few times, we had our fill. For the adventurous, the local street off of Via Capodimonte (main road) has a few pizzerias / trattorias & small shops to get food. It’s a 5 – 10 min walk but well worth it. We ate at Pizzeria Trattoria Luisa 3x.

Room Tip: Executive rooms on the 4th (top) fl, seaside. You'll pay a little extra. All rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

I suppose I picked a hotel in Capodimonte because I wanted to see the Museo di Capodimonte (even though visiting the Museo Archeologico and re-visiting Pompeii and Herculaneum were the primary reasons for my visit to Naples). It is convenient for the museum, not very much so for anything else. It's a long, hot walk down to the city centre and an even longer and hotter walk back up again.

I really do like this place, however. The staff are very friendly and helpful; within minutes of my arrival, I was given an annotated map of where to go in Naples and how to get there. There is a shuttle-bus ("navetta") from the hotel to the Archaeological Museum, but it's only one way. The C63 bus goes as far uphill as the Capodimonte museum, which is an easy walk from the hotel, but, apart from one time when I walked up the hill, I was lazy and took taxis. If they're official taxis (white), they're trustworthy. They're not particularly cheap, but they do have to spend an awfully long time sitting around in the atrocious Neapolitan traffic.

Because the Hotel Villa Capodimonte is a long way from the centre, you're not tempted to go out at night. There really isn't anywhere in the vicinity that is worth visiting. Luckily, the food in the restaurant is very good. Unlike another reviewer here, I certainly didn't find the restaurant staff rude. They just tend to leave you alone, until you attract their attention.

I had a huge room, which was a bit difficult to keep cool. I never really worked out the air-conditioning, which seemed to come on more or less at random (that could just be me, since I'm not used to air-conditioning). Whenever I was in the hotel, I left the window and French window wide open (and, no, the air-conditioning wasn't controlled by whether or not the windows were open). Even though it was a ground-floor room, it had a sort of moat and lots of spiky bits to deter burglars.

The room had a safe, which I used for holding anything which I wasn't going to need around the city. If you use an audioguide in Italy (as in Spain), you'll be asked for an ID card as a deposit. Since we British don't have ID cards, that means, usually, either your passport, or your driving licence (the Museo Archeologico accepts a deposit of 20 euros, as well); my recommendation is to leave the passport in the safe and to use the driving licence, since you don't need that to get back into the UK. You do, however, need to be very careful when closing the safe. Most safes of this sort require that you enter a number first and then confirm that. This one doesn't. It takes whatever number you enter and expects that same number to open it again. If the input number is wrong, you really need to recall whatever that wrong number was, if you want to open the safe again.

The bathroom wasn't terribly well put together; whoever put the shower cubicle up wasn't an expert on geometry. On the other hand, the bathroom was spotlessly clean, as was the bedroom in general. The humidity was such that I got through shirts at about double the rate I had planned for. The laundry service returned them in a beautiful condition.

I think that this hotel is best for tour-parties, who can share the cost of getting to and from the centre, or to and from the Piazza Garibaldi. As a solo traveller, I spent quite a bit on taxis, but, even so, I enjoyed my stay.

You're right under the flight path from Naples Airport here, but I don't recall that that kept me awake. The first night, there was a colossal thunderstorm; after that, there were fireworks every night, but I slept soundly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Owen_Morgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beamsville, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Naples can be an overload on the senses. It's large, noisy and fast pace. We spent one night at Culture Hotel Villa Capodimonte in July. We were on our way home from two weeks in Italy. The Naples airport has limited hotels in the area. The Hotel Villa Capodimonte had clean, lovely decorated, and large rooms (larger than most European hotels) . The staff was very helpful with arranging our early morning taxi (5:00 am) and calling the local pizza place for take-out. The staff placed the order for us and had it delivered. We ate a lovely pizza outside on the balcony overlooking Naples and the mountains in the distance. A beautiful end to our vacation. We also had an overflowing glass of wine at the bar. The wine came with goodies to enjoy with the wine.

Overall, if you are going to stay in Naples this is a lovely gem, give it a try.

A noteworthy reminder....most Italians will not drive in Naples. The streets are very narrow (pull in your side mirrors) and traffic is crazy! If you crave an adrenaline rush drive to the hotel; otherwise, take a cab.

Room Tip: City view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MilenaSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

May a not expensive **** hotel be the best in Naples?
I guess Villacapodimente hotel is the best in town because of the following reasons:
- big, confortable, quiet and elegant rooms
- kind and efficient staff
- marvelous garden
- good position
- excellent restaurant
What else?

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Massimo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CULTURE HOTEL C... S, Responsabile reception at Culture Hotel Villa Capodimonte, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Guest,

many thanks for writing your opinion about the Hotel. We are glad your stay at Culture Hotel Villa Capodimonte was good and our facilities met your expectatives: we always do our best to make guests feel at home.

What else? Seeing you again in our Hotel!!!

Best regards
Gucci D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#30 of 190 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Pendino
Culture Hotel Centro Storico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Naples
#46 of 190 in Naples
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
Hotel Tiempo
#38 of 190 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
BEST WESTERN Hotel Plaza
#52 of 190 in Naples
3.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Culture Hotel Villa Capodimonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culture Hotel Villa Capodimonte

Property: Culture Hotel Villa Capodimonte
Address: Via Moiariello 66, 80131, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Naples
#33 Business Hotel in Naples
#43 Luxury Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Culture Hotel Villa Capodimonte 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Culture Hotel Villa Capodimonte è un hotel 4 stelle di Napoli che sorge all’interno di un meraviglioso giardino botanico sulla collina che ospita il grande Parco di Capodimonte e il suo Palazzo Reale. La struttura ospita il rinomato ristorante Torre del Palisciano, e dispone di un centro congressi con diverse sale attrezzate per meeting e conferenze. The Villa Capodimonte Culture Hotel is a 4-star hotel in Naples which stands in a splendid botanical garden on the hill which accommodates the large Capodimonte Park and its Royal Palace.Every morning a free transfer service to the historical centre is available for our clients.The hotel has WiFi internet connection throughout, which is free in all the Executive rooms.The hotel has a large unmanned internal parking space, which is free and exclusively for client use. Breakfast is served in the magnificent Oleander Veranda, looking out on the beautiful hotel park where each morning the hotel will extend its good morning greetings with a substantial buffet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Culture Hotel Villa Capodimonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capodimonte Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing