We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis of calm amidst chaos”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Culture Hotel Villa Capodimonte
Ranked #67 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The hotel is good.
However, the first question you should ask yourself is why? Why do you want to go to Naples? If it is unavoidable for example for work or as a 'dare', then brace yourself.
This hotel is like an oasis of calm amongst the chaos of 8 year olds on scooters, battered cars and people moving randomly amidst a cacophony of hooters. We have never been anywhere like Naples where there is so much disrespect for each other, other's property and the area in which they reside.
And so, onto the hotel. If you have chosen this hotel, I think you have made a decent choice.
Bedroom was nice and clean and there was a balcony with good views towards the sea in the distance.
The only thing to mention is that there is no air conditioning and it was very warm and airless in early April, so good luck to you if you're staying when it is hot outside!!!
The staff are friendly and the breakfast is reasonably good. They even had some (basic) gluten-free options.
The evening meal was interesting... the tuna was actually octopus and the prawns were clams, chips were crisps, but it was generally OK - 4 courses for €25. However, watch out for the wine - they were reluctant to give us a wine list and so we asked for the house white assuming it would be good value. It was perfectly adequate but not for €18!
Car parking is good, in the secured grounds, although when we arrived there was an event ongoing which meant much shuffling of vehicles.
The immediate environs of the hotel is slum-like - much like all of Naples that we saw and not a place you would want to venture out into - even in daylight. The reviews of the hotel we looked at said there were two local restaurants easily accessible from the hotel; despite searching, we could not find them within 15 minute walk. We survived and escaped back to civilisation.

Room Tip: ask for sea view and balcony Ask if they will have air con
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 454 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

Note: Trip advisor only allows 3 stars average 4 stars very good, this hotel falls in between, so I would say it is good, not average or very good. Unfortunately I have to give 3 stars but it is better than that.

If you are not used to driving in heavy city traffic and more importantly Italian city (Naples) traffic, think again. Very narrow roads, hectic traffic leads you to this mini oasis, with views across Naples bay. The hotel is set in a nice elevated position with pleasant gardens that could have been better attended to on my visit. The hotel is comfortable and clean serving good food. Parking is secure and the hotel does give a feel of security in an otherwise chaotic world outside. One thing, don't leave your passport with reception like I did (big mistake) they forgot to hand it back on leaving, luckily I remembered when I got in the car. Imagine arriving at the airport with the passport still at the hotel! Tip - never ever leave your passport with reception, let them take a copy.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Hetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

In a security gate. Nice rooms, restaurant was boring but there is a pizza joint right down the road where the best pizza we've had in our lives was eaten two nights. Views are nice, we had a view of the mountain. Near public transportation.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank AK_Tarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Stayed her with a girlfriend in 2012 as a treat, celebrating out 40th birthdays.
We shared a twin room which was spotless and the food in the restaurant was delicious. Our only quibble was that you had to get a taxi anywhere as the roads leading up to the hotel were quite intimidating with lots of local young lads. Having said that the taxi fares were fairly cheap and we managed to fit in a visit to Capri and Pompeii from here.

Stayed: February 2013
1  Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The heating system didn't work at all. After a couple of claims I got another room.
The bathroom bin of the first room still had rubbish from the former visitor.
The restaurant only offered a closed menu, not selectable dishes. Or maybe I was unable to communicate with the waiters that didn't speak English.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zaq1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

First of all, let me say that the positive for this hotel was the location. It's in a very quiet part of the city and the grounds are beautiful, gated and secure. The hotel is very clean and the beds very comfortable. We were a bit disappointed though. The desk staff were not exactly friendly or helpful. Each time we needed to go to the reception desk to ask about something the staff person (always a different person) was too busy on their cell phone or would take a call. We had booked a room with a balcony but what we got was a room with a full length window which opened up to a railing. No sitting outside in the evening enjoying a cup of coffee or tea for us at this place as there was no kettle in the room either. No complimentary coffee/tea here. No iron or ironing board either. We did ask about this and were told that they do not provide this service. The mini fridge was stocked with juices and water but they were very expensive. For us it was just not a very relaxing stay so thank goodness it was just for one full day/two short nights. When we ate in the dining room there was only one waiter working so the service was very very slow and expensive. Breakfast was good but just your basic continental. Bottom line is that we were not impressed with this hotel at all.

Room Tip: If you want an actual balcony do not stay on the 1st floor/ground floor or you'll get the big wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kelsi091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Very clean hotel with necessary set for turists. Friendly and helpful staff. Walking distance to capadimonte museum. I would wish that hotels especially 4 star hotels offer real hairdryer and toothbrush. And may be there could be a shop where we could buy Italian food such as buffalo mozzarella etc.




  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Askanaz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#34 of 186 in Naples
267 reviews
Bagnoli
American Hotel
American Hotel
#83 of 186 in Naples
391 reviews
Hotel Tiempo
#50 of 186 in Naples
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bagnoli
Best Western Suites & Residence Hotel
Montespina Park Hotel
#31 of 186 in Naples
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Culture Hotel Villa Capodimonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culture Hotel Villa Capodimonte

Address: Via Moiariello 66, 80131, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Naples
#45 Luxury Hotel in Naples
Price Range: £60 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Culture Hotel Villa Capodimonte 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Culture Hotel Villa Capodimonte è un hotel 4 stelle di Napoli che sorge all’interno di un meraviglioso giardino botanico sulla collina che ospita il grande Parco di Capodimonte e il suo Palazzo Reale. La struttura ospita il rinomato ristorante Torre del Palisciano, e dispone di un centro congressi con diverse sale attrezzate per meeting e conferenze. The Villa Capodimonte Culture Hotel is a 4-star hotel in Naples which stands in a splendid botanical garden on the hill which accommodates the large Capodimonte Park and its Royal Palace.Every morning a free transfer service to the historical centre is available for our clients.The hotel has WiFi internet connection throughout, which is free in all the Executive rooms.The hotel has a large unmanned internal parking space, which is free and exclusively for client use. Breakfast is served in the magnificent Oleander Veranda, looking out on the beautiful hotel park where each morning the hotel will extend its good morning greetings with a substantial buffet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Culture Hotel Villa Capodimonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capodimonte Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing