We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value in naples”
Review of Luna Rossa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Luna Rossa Hotel
Ranked #86 of 185 Hotels in Naples
Reviewed 14 November 2007

This hotel is very good for the price you pay, 45 € (single room) breakfast included.

The hotel is located very near to the train station (5 minutes walking).

As i have been in different hotels in this area, i can make a comparison. I say that this is the most convenient hotel, but for the people who like a good and rich breakfast this is hotel is not the case.

Well the positive points are for the atmosphere, typical napolitan music at the all, good sized rooms, nice bathroom, very silent in the night (.. in an internal street), receptionist is very kind and they make everything to make you feel the welcome.

The negative points concern the medium- furniture of the rooms (the seat was broken, the moquette was smelling a bit bad)...and the breakfast. The latter consisted in a cup of coffe/cappuccino/coffe milk from the bar, 1 kind of cereals, 1 kind of cakes, two different juices, marmelade and.. that's it.

Well, it is true that for having breakfast you pay 4 euro extra, so it would be more profitable to have breakfast outside in a nice bar in the surrounding...the best breakfast for me was baba' and coffè ...it is very good, and anyway napolitans are very good in making cakes and coffe.

I enjoyed the surroundings, full of shops with really low priced stuff, the area looks dirty and poor, but nothing happens to me and i walked alone after midnight ...

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Raffaele F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2007

The hotel was clean and adequate, however the breakfast was ok on the first day however couldn't face it by the 3rd morning, it cornflakes, danish pastries and bread. The hotel had a free internet point which was great.
Not a very nice area next to the station, but this was helpful in travelling about

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank loopylou1559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2007

This hotel provides simple, clean rooms at a very reasonable price. It is just a couple blocks from the train station and a 20 euro cab ride form the airport.

It is about 2 blocks from the Circum Vesuviana train station and a 15-20 minute walk to pretty much everything you might want to see in Naples - the Museum of Archaeology, the Spacanapoli shopping area, several pizza joints and even a couple of Slow Food reviewed restaurants.

The staff speaks enough English that you won't have any trouble with basic requests like wake-up calls, getting a cab, and so forth. They are far from fluent however.

When you're tired of walking, there's a decent place to eat called La Brace at the end of the street. While the menu is set up for tourists in multiple languages, the majority of the customers when we were there were locals.

But... It is in a part of Naples that some people will find rather frightening. And in fact, I would not recommend this hotel to a single woman visiting alone. Couples or larger groups will have no problems.

That said, Naples is nowhere near as sketchy as it used to be and even the notorious Sanita market area can be a warmly inviting place, especially if you're a foodie. Buy some new wine (0.80 Euro/liter) and talk to the old men around the fish sellers - you just might learn what to do with a whole swordfish head!

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArchaeologyBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2006

Since we would be training from Rome into Naples (our last stop in Italy), we asked our travel agent to book a hotel within walking distance of the train station.

So there we were, trying to find the hotel and lugging our suitcases through some pretty rough, smelly streets. To be honest, we were both wondering what the heck our agent had been thinking to not talk us out of this plan. I was feeling upset and a little afraid.

Some locals pointed us in the right direction and we found the street. The man at the front desk was kind and friendly, but spoke almost no English.

The hotel is very interesting. Apparently the manager is the daughter of a famous Italian musician, and each room is named after a song. The rooms were decorated with pictures and framed music and album covers. Ours was spacious and very clean. There was a large window that looked out into a courtyard, where we could see children playing and laundry drying on clotheslines.

We had decided to spend one of our days in Capri, and walked from the hotel to the ferry. It's a rather long walk along a busy street in a not-too-attractive part of town, but we don't mind walking and it felt safe in the day time. I wouldn't have done it at night, though. The best part for us was walking through the hotel's neighborhood-- the little winding streets that were lined with apartments, restaurants, and shops. It felt loud and vibrant. It was also crowded and dirty. But it felt like the real Naples.

The hotel wasn't close to any of the Napoli restaurants recommended by our guidebooks, but we found a small place at the end of the street that we liked (make a left as you leave the hotel). We sat outside and enjoyed observing the neighborhood's lively scene. The waiter was a little brusque, but we enjoyed him and thought that he seemed to epitomize that area of Naples. When I tried to order cappuccino after dinner one night, he said firmly, "NO. You have espresso. You like it." This type of argument happened several times during our meals there and amused us to no end. We always returned directly to the hotel after dinner. Again, it didn't seem like to safest area to be exploring after dark.

We had some trouble contacting the car company that was supposed to take us to the airport at the end of our stay. We spent a while translating a plea for help into Italian, which we took to the desk clerk. Once he understood what we needed, he was happy to help and made all the arrangements for us.

I don't think we'd want to stay in that part of the city again, but we don't regret the experience. It was definitely one of our most interesting adventures in Italy.

  • Stayed: September 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alex03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Baltimore, MD
24
Reviewed 4 August 2004

Decent 3 star on italian system [American be ware -- 3 Star their system means about a 2 star here. Bathrooms contain showers but not likely baths.] Close to Train Station. Rooms come with airconditioning but mine leaked, most likely the condenser, and from the look of the ceiling tiles it had for some time.
Came in with no reservation after failing to get to the last ferry and was given a decent rate. The hotel was clean and the in house bar served a decent espresso to a weary and wet (did I mention it was raining?) traveler.

The lift was large enough to accommodate a roll-on luggage suitable for 4 day travel.

Breakfast could have been a bit better. The American tongue likes milk cold with cereal but it is their country.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Bien sûr les chambres côté rue sont plus bruyantes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 85papabravo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Anderson D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Hotel CineHoliday
#67 of 185 in Naples
375 reviews
B&B Hotel Napoli
#45 of 185 in Naples
258 reviews
Hotel Ideal
#140 of 185 in Naples
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Sayonara Hotel
#73 of 185 in Naples
148 reviews
Hotel Nuovo Rebecchino
#117 of 185 in Naples
346 reviews
Mercato
Orsa Maggiore Hotel
Orsa Maggiore Hotel
#98 of 185 in Naples
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Rossa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Rossa Hotel

Address: Via Giuseppe Pica 20/22, 80142, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Mercato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 185 Hotels in Naples
Price Range: £53 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Luna Rossa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Luna Rossa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Naples
Naples Minotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing