We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK - what we expected really!”
Review of Hotel De la Ville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel De la Ville
Ranked #121 of 185 Hotels in Naples
Reviewed 5 November 2007

This hotel was pretty much as we expected. As many others have said, it is in a dirty and somewhat, shady part of Naples. In saying that, we walked home at 10-11 on both nights and never felt threatened. I would recommend this hotel if you are planning on travelling out of Naples for part of your tripand will be using the train/bus system We had a full day Amalfi tour arranged which left from the Central station and we also used the train station in order to go to Pompeii. If you are focusing on Naples itself, I would recommend staying in a hotel within the Piazza Municipio area.
The room itself was clean and we had enough towels. The breakfast was the usual continental style but with a nice coffee bar. However, bring your own toiletries or buy some locally, as you receive sachets of pretty horrific shampoo/shower gel! Additionally the minibar consists only of 2 bottles of water and there wasnt' a safe. I would say it was a two star rather than a three star hotel, as i would expect a lift, a room safe and a proper mini bar in a three star hotel.
But all in all, we weren't going to Naples to spend lots of time in a hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Dritan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2007

I've been travelling all around the world and I consider myself an easy-going and friendly person (well, in fact I am anthropologist), but I never found a worst treatment in a hotel: sheets were never changed, receptionists seem to enjoy making your existence dificult and make NO EFFORT at all to help you in anyway. The staff, and particularly the director of the hotel, are not helpful nor sympathetic at all either. In the information you can read that they offer internet point, a nice breakfast and solarium: it is not true. Smoke is prohibited but most of the staff smokes within the hotel. Its is expensive for what it is and the setting (Garibaldi square) is not really nice.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank traveller_155Spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2007

My boyfriend and I stayed in this hotel last July for two nights. The hotel is located very close to the railwaystation and five minutes walk from the historic centre. Although that area is kind of chaotic, the hotel is located in a nice quiet street. Our room was very clean and had more than the facilities one might expect for this price (roofterrace, airconditioning, luxurious bathroom (though not too big), fridge, minibar, hairdryer). The breakfastarea is very cosy and the breakfast itself was good (for Italian standards). The staff was very friendly and helpfull. I can really recommand this place. It is very good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ieniemienie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2007

The hotel was great, friendly staff at reception unfortunately the hotel could really do with a lift! Assistance was offered however and the room was very nice, clean, spacioius and all in all everything you need.
The hotel is in a good location for buses and trains and if you are driving park the car and take public transport as the driving down there is nuts! Crazy, but very funny to watch!
Breakfast was nice, basic but very nice and the hotel has air-con right through which was great.

Would recommend staying here if you are going to Naples, though would recommend researching Naples thoroughly before you go there as we got a rather large surprise. If you are wanting a nice relaxed time on the beach I would recommend driving down a bit further to Amalfi as it is beautiful and alot cleaner and different to Naples.

Stayed: July 2007
Thank ABPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2007

We stayed there for 4 nights in May of this year. The hotel was clean and the staff spoke English and were very helpful. There is a yummy continental breakfast included in the price. There is no elevator but if you have trouble with your bags, the staff will help you. The hotel is about a six minute walk from the train station and the city bus terminus is across the street. There is also a tourist information booth in the train station and a McDonalds.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank zorcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2006

An oasis in the mayhem of Naples! Unfortunately there is no elevator, and no assistance was offered with luggage. Staff are wonderful and very helpful - especially Guido! Room was a decent size and the breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Black64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2006

If you want to see the areas South of Naples, you are much better off staying in Sorrento and using that town as your hub. We stayed for 2 nights at the Hotel Delle Nazioni. The hotel itself is clean and has all basic ammenities. It is a few blocks from the train station which, at best, is very shady. I almost considered finding another hotel in another city. Thankfully, we were never accosted or pickpocketed.
If you don't scare easily (I have never run so fast from the train station to the hotel at 10 pm), then this is a nice, affordable place to stay. If you can spare the extra money for a hotel in Sorrento, Capri, or Positano, then I would suggest doing that. Naples=scary.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mccookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Hotel Clarean
#142 of 185 in Naples
118 reviews
Hotel Nuovo Rebecchino
#117 of 185 in Naples
345 reviews
Mercato
Hotel Potenza
Hotel Potenza
#123 of 185 in Naples
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel CineHoliday
#67 of 185 in Naples
373 reviews
Mercato
Luna Rossa Hotel
Luna Rossa Hotel
#90 of 185 in Naples
129 reviews
Hotel La Stazione
#78 of 185 in Naples
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De la Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De la Ville

Address: Vico Ferrovia 6 | New Ownership from April 2008, 80142, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 185 Hotels in Naples
Price Range: £47 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel De la Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Ville Naples
De La Ville Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing