We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alberto is excellent”

Context Travel Naples Day Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$54.66*
and up
Private Tour: Naples Above and Underground Archaeology Walking Tour
More Info
US$77.66*
and up
Private Tour: Caravaggio and the Baroque Walking Tour in Naples
More Info
US$81.00*
and up
Naples Above and Underground Archaeology Walking Tour
Ranked #70 of 185 Tours in Naples
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Vibrant, energetic, and often chaotic, Naples can be challenging for the visitor. It is for this reason that most of the scholars in our network here are native-born Neapolitans, experts who can not only discuss at length the city’s history and cultural patrimony but also know its spirit, rhythm, and how to navigate its hurdles.
london
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Alberto is excellent”
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Fantastic trip around Naples. Alberto really made my stay in Naples. Without this tour I would have left Naples disappointed but this tour transformed everything. Made me want to stay longer in Naples.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank lostelvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic food tour & pizza making workshop”
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We arrived in Naples the day before our tour &, to be honest, weren't overly impressed. Our guide Alberto totally transformed our view of the city, its people & surroundings.

Our afternoon kicked off with a walking tour around the historic centre of Naples, with Alberto explaining some of the city's fascinating history & culture. We visited a food market & then proceeded to eat our way around Naples for a couple of hours! We really enjoyed learning more about the local produce & cuisine (& more importantly, sampling it!). Top tip: skip lunch before you do this tour.

The actual pizza making part of the tour was lots of fun. We visited a local pizzeria & learnt the art of pizza making, before giving it a go ourselves. While our pizza didn't look as good as Paolo's (the professional pizzaiolo), it tasted delicious.

The tour was about 4 hours long & covers so much more than 'just' pizza. Highly recommended.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank strawberryfields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago Journalist
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Naples with a Know-It-All: Fantastic!”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

I wish I could take Context Travel tours in every city I've ever been to: sadly only juts discovered them but they've hit it out of the ballpark (nearly) every time, and Naples was no exception. Three of us (myself and two teen-aged boys) took La Vita Napoletana walk with Maria - an extremely knowledgeable and smart art-historian who was also (like most Context guides) able to be flexible and accommodate our interests. Naples is a fascinating and storied city that many overlook entirely, heading out to Pompeii and getting outta Dodge immediately - what a waste! The range of architecture (early Greek settlements to Baroque to Fascist style to contemporary) is unique, and Maria knew it all - plus some off-the-beaten-path churches that completely thrilled my companions. My only regret is that we didn't have an extra day to see more - next time! We'll be back....

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Writerontherecord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pompeii Tour”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We traveled from Rome to Naples for the day to visit Pompeii. It was well worth the cost! Our docent was Roberta. She is extremely knowledgeable, engaging and fun. My two children (age 8 and 10) were captivated by her presentation. She did not lecture us but rather repeatedly asked us to look around and use our imagination and wonder to "see the ancient city." Her style was highly effective and we all learned so much about how Pompeii developed, its daily life and the process of discovering and uncovering the City. It was a full day but well worth the trip. We also took some time at the Naples museum, but I would have rather spent more time in Pompeii. Naples is neither an attractive nor interesting city. The Context organizers in NYC were extremely helpful and put this trip together for us with less than a weeks notice. The logistics of getting my family down to Naples and Pompeii from Rome was made easy for us and certainly helped to make for an incredible day.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Context Tours”
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We took the Half Day Tour of Pompeii through Context Tours. A fantastic time with a extremely knowledgeable guide. She answered our questions and pointed out details we would have missed were we on our own. I would take this tour again.
Kathy
Virginia, USA

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank K G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Context Travel Naples Day Tours also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
 
Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 

Been to Context Travel Naples Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing