We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice room,”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Europeo & Flowers
Ranked #46 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Reviewed 19 June 2013 via mobile

I stayed here two nights in the basic room.
The location was great but the parking wasa little way down the hill and €22 per 24 hours so expensive for a long stay!
The room was clean spacious and had air con. The Internet worked fine in our room but in other areas wasn't great.
As ours was a basic room it didn't have a shower- we had to ask if there was a spare room to shower in. Twice there wasn't at the time we would have liked to shower, as you use another hotel room rather than a stand alone shower room.
The staff were friendly and helpful and if I booked here again I'd book a room with a bathroom!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flosinjail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (931)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 931 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2013

They advertised that they had wireless internet, which was important to me because I needed it to do some work while I was there. While they had a wireless network that I was able to connect to, 85% of websites failed to load, including, importantly, gmail. To compound this problem, the guy at the front desk refused to help me at all or do any troubleshooting. He acted irritated I was even bothering him about it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

In the heart of historic Naples, this hotel offers you the rest you want after a busy day discovering this city full of life. Don't be mistaken by you first impression when you'll buzz to get access to the place. That "where the heck am I" moment will vanish once in the reception area.

What we liked about this hotel, is that they tried to make the most of the space they got. As our tropical themed room was longer than larger, it was divided in two sections: the bedroom proper, with its huge "Tropicana" painting, and a living room (with a fridge) where we could sit and relax. We had also a a small balcony not facing the street, so it was very quiet. The bed was comfy, the shower was small but with a lot of pressure. Of course, it's not a 5 stars hotel, but it's welll situated, clean and quiet. And the staff is helpful too.

Room Tip: We were satisfied with The Tropicana room. It was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greggg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

It is difficult to write a reasoned review focusing on the hotel itself after we had such a terrible time in Naples. Although the shop owners and hotel staff in Naples were very nice, the place is an absolute slum. Everything that may once (c.500AD) have been great to see is now filthy, run down, and covered in graffiti.The streets are packed with people who don't seem to be doing anything at all other than standing around looking intimidating and my girlfriend had the strap of her handbag cut and the bag stolen by a passing scooter rider in a mask (in broad daylight). So my main recommendation would simply be not to go to Naples at all (Sorrento is much nicer and still within a train ride of Pompeii, Herculaneum, Solfatura, Vesuvius etc). But if you must, or really want to, then Hotel Europeo is not too bad.

The hotel is right next to one of the university buildings. We arrived on a Friday and it was very loud with lots of drunken youths shouting and playing loud music. To be fair, it was a lot quieter on the Saturday night. You can't reach the hotel from any side without travelling through some grotty streets. However, the hotel does have security gates with multiple locked doors and a 24 hour manned reception, and up four flights of stairs, so once inside we felt quite safe.

The hotel staff generally spoke good English and were pleasant. Following the theft of my girlfriend's bag, they were understanding that we wanted to leave a day early and arranged us a prompt taxi to the harbour. They charged us for the extra night we didn't stay, but it wasn't their fault we wanted to leave so I didn't think that was unfair.

The facilities in the room were quite good. The shower and safe were both good, the bed wasn't uncomfortable and the TV did have BBC World Service and CNN. The decor was frankly bizarre, but it was generally clean and spacious enough.

Room Tip: Don't stay in Naples at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidJohnMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

While it does not look like much from the outside, it was a perfectly sweet little hotel on the inside! Small, clean room contained everything a friend & I needed for our 3 night stay in Napoli. Located in center of the city it was walking distance to the train station, the marina (to get ferry to Capri), the shopping streets, and the historic sights of the city.

TIP: the hotel is not a big store front on a main street, rather it is located down a small side street/alley off Mezzacanonne (which itself is a side street) on the 3-4th floors of a small apartment building (pretty standard for Italy). Look for a small sign on Mezzacanonne, then go to the gate- you will buzz the hotel concierge through the intercom & say "Hotel Europeo!" to let them know you are a hotel guest, they will buzz open the gate & you go through & down the small side street to the apartment building entrance, the hotel 'front desk' is located on the 4th floor (there are signs). So long as you are expecting this non-direct route, you will be fine :) Also- it took a couple of times to figure this out- you buzz at the main gate (say "Ciao! Hotel Europeo", they'll remotely open that gate & the front door, but then you buzz AGAIN to get into the main door to the hotel rooms on the 3rd floor (there is a main door that opens to a hallway with all the hotel rooms located inside, just press the doorbell there & someone from upstairs will buzz you in again). Seems tricky- but its really not, just keep this in mind :)

Hotel staff was friendly as can be- the concierge when we checked in (late on a Sunday night) did not much English, but was super accommodating & took the printout of our reservations & through my (VERY) limited Italian, and his English & a lot of hand signaling, we got our room sorted out & settled with no problem. Giovanni, the owner, is there the majority of the time, speaks perfect English and is super nice.

Napoli is an...interesting city- very different from night to day...during the day it is bustling shops & street vendors, at night it is mainly deserted, but you'll come across a random square filled with drinking students. It was a bit of a culture shock, but a good experience- good place to visit. Ask Giovanni for recommendation on where to go each night (where the 'nightlife is') and what to see. Its worth it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aford82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Hotel was recommended to me by Italian friend in Glasgow. Excellent value with air con.,TV including BBC World News, wi fi ,hairdryer, shampoo etc in every room, as well as some lovely art work. Good location for most sights and transport links.. Not difficult to walk from railway station with hand luggage but don't take google route the first time you try to find hotel! Some streets unmarked. Best route is through Piazza Garibaldi and straight along Umberto 1 for about 15 to 20 minutes to main university building.Alternatively you can take the R2 bus along Umberto.Turn right into via Mezzecannone down side of university. Slight uphill walk for 10 minutes passed Carrefour supermarket on left . Entrance to Europeo on left opposite main entrance to uni. Watch out for signs directing you into the building. Security very good! Student area, so prices cheap. Try not to be put off by occasional build up of rubbish in streets. Naples has a major problem with this and it will eventually be cleared. Hotel manager Giovanni very helpful and informative. Neopolitans very generous and welcoming to us and absolutely no problems with crime.

Room Tip: Rooms at back looking on to inner courtyard probably the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

It is not permitted to smoke in Italian hotels. When I asked for a different room because the room I was given smelled of smoke, I was told " no problem just open the window". This was a problem because it does not get rid of smoke smell and it was 50 degrees out. Other than that "no problem".

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
3  Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiovanniVerdolino, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Europeo & Flowers, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2013

Dear guest,
we are sorry for the problem regarding the smell of cigarettes in the room.
we have rooms available for smokers and not smoking people,
we kindly asked to our guest to inform us about their preference at the reservation moment.
At the check in if we are fully booked and all guest are arrived it is a little bit difficult to change the room.
In Italy is denied to smoke only in the public area, not in the private rooms.
We hope to see you again here to have the chance to change your opinion.
Sincerely
Giovanni
Hotel Europeo Napoli.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Grand Hotel Europa
#51 of 186 in Naples
1,275 reviews
Fuorigrotta
Best Western JFK Hotel
Best Western JFK Hotel
#16 of 186 in Naples
683 reviews
Fuorigrotta
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#3 of 186 in Naples
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercato
ibis Styles Napoli Garibaldi
Hotel Lento
#60 of 186 in Naples
114 reviews
Porto
Fly Boutique Hotel
Fly Boutique Hotel
#6 of 186 in Naples
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europeo & Flowers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europeo & Flowers

Address: Via Mezzocannone 109/c, 80134, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Naples
Price Range: £26 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Europeo & Flowers 1*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Europeo i& Flowers is located in the heart of Naples historical center, only a few steps away from Piazza San Domenico Maggiore and that’s why this hotel is the right place to choose in order to enjoy art and history of Naples. It stands at the third and fourth floor of a noble palace with lift in the central street called Via Mezzocannone, close to the University Federico II and not far from Central Station and from the Underground stop Piazza Borsa. Our comfortable and nice rooms will satisfy all your requests as they are the ideal solution either for a group of friends desiring to travel low cost or for a businessman looking for a quiet place to rest after a hard working day. We also never forget families with children that can be easily accommodated in our quadruple rooms. Breakfast is not included in room rates but nearby to the hotel there are lot of bars offering you wonderful croissants and Neapolitan coffee. Wi-fi free in rooms and common areas, internet point and discounted parking for customers close to the hotel also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Europeo & Flowers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Europeo Flowers
Europeo Flowers Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing