We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make the most of your time here.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Oriente
Ranked #9 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 September 2012

I only have good things to say about this hotel and its wonderfull staff. They could not have been more friendly or more helpfull. The reception staff answered every little question we had and actually called up local shops for us to see if they had football tickets on sale, they found us a taxi in rush hour on a busy wet morning and practically planned our daytrips for us when we asked them what they reccomended we should see. Even the waiters in the breakfast room were full of usefull hints and knew everything about their city. The room was bigger than we expected, the bathroom was clean and more than suitable, the air conditioning worked fine and was just right. We noticed there was disabled access at the front entrance and also there are 2 lifts in the lobby so no need to worry about stairs. Reception seemed to be manned 24/7. The location could not have been better as it was really close to the historic centre and student area, the spanish quarter, the port, a metro link, the sea front as well as endless restaurants bars and ice cream shops. We didn't witness or experince any crime except the sale of fake designer handbags. Yes there is some building work outside for a new metro stop but it did not affect us in any way, the city is no dirtier than any other old italian city and is completely charming. We were sad to leave and would definitely stay here again and again. we'll be back and we'll be bringing friends too! The one thing i would say is that if you want a beer, go out to a cafe and get one for 2 euros because the hotel bar is not cheap.

Room Tip: Rooms off the courtyard without a view are likely to be more peaceful than those facing the street a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllieF182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,080)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

287 - 293 of 1,080 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2012

Upon arrival, the multilingual staff were very helpful, friendly and informative. A 20 minute taxi ride for 20 to 25 euros to get there, but once you're there you won't need another taxi.

The location seemed perfect. You're hidden away in a quiet but safe Piazza, minutes from the main strip. A 10 minute walk down the strip takes you to the bay, which hosts glorious views of Mt Vesuvius and the coast. A short walk from here you can find the ferry ports to Islands Capri and Ischa.

Going the other direction, you're a 15 minute walk from the Old Town which is the epicentre of the City's great food, plus many sites to see and shops to visit, not to mention the Ice Cream.

You're also a 20 minute walk from the train station for trains to Sorrento, Pompei, Mehta Beach and other coastal lines and beaches.

Due to the location on the edge of the main strip, the hotel is easy to find on the map and when walking, with Museum's a plenty all short walks away with hustling markets also close by. You really are as central as you would need and like to be.

As for the City itself, you won't be short of falling in love with it. If you've read up already you'll know it's a City of two halves. But it's so much more than that. It's enchanted, quintessential Italian cobbled narrow streets will leave you yarning for what's next around the corner.

When, these tiny streets will open up into huge Piazzas that come alive at nightfall with people of all ages enjoying the food, drink and ice cream on offer. You will also find yourself on big, broad Parisian style streets with high end shops and clean, concreted roads.

You can also enjoy the breathtaking scenery of the looming Mt Vesuvius and the beginning of what will become the Amalfi coast.

Our room was specious, clean, comfortable and a nice, cool, welcoming temperature due to the aircon unit which we were very thankful for after touring the City and its warm climate.

The hotel staff could not have done their job any better, and enjoyed a chat should either of you not be in a hurry.

One of the mist fascinating things of the City is that it's so family orientated, with small children still out in the streets way past nightfall. Due to this, I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

I stayed for six nights as part of a work trip w some leisure.
The say at the hotel was adequate. The location is good and the neighbourhood is fine. Close to the Spanish quarter and not far from central areas in the city.

The major problem was that i had to change rooms twice (a record?) before getting a reasonable one. The first room had a decent size for a solo person, but the blinds did not go down all the way and there was a continuous dripping on the carpet from the air-conditioning unit. Having asked to change rooms, i was met with some reluctance, but at the end, i was moved. Alas, the room i was offered was considerably smaller and lacked the features i had promised in the reservation confirmation. the third room was better. Not brilliant, but adequate.
Breakfast, esp. for South Italy, was disappointing.

Overall,given the price paid in that season it was a good value, so i have no regrets.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Gianni, front desk staff person, rescued my family in the midst of a disaster. When we attempted to enter apartment we had rented in Naples, it turned out to be in the middle of a renovation project. Five of us were left on the street with no knowledge of where to go. A taxi took us to the Oriente where Gianni welcomed us, gave us the rooms we needed at a fabulous price, and helped plan our time in his city. The location was perfect for site seeing, shopping, pizza, and my favorite coffee bar in the city. The property was more than adequate with comfortable beds, clean rooms, nice bar, and great breakfast. Best of all, I felt safe. We will return.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clpiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We wanted something close to the center of Napoli with air conditioning, Wi-Fi and a breakfast.. The rooms are actually a little larger than many European hotels. The location is safe, near a police station, and convenient to via Toledo where a new Metro station will open shortly. Unfortunately it's under construction and oiur 2nd floor room was right in the noise zone. Breakfast was OK . The house keeping staff does a nice job and the rooms are clean. Our disapoinment was with the airconditioning. The controls in the room don't work! Apparently the front desk has a central control via computor. About 10PM our 1st night the front desk "fixed" the problem (it must have been ~82 degrees in the room). However we awaken at 2AM sweating - even without a sheet. The next day we told the same desk person the room was too hot and went out for a full day in Pompeii. Althougjh we were told it would be fixed, the window was open- which means the air conditioning will not work- and it was still too hot. The bellman came up turned on the fan and said it's just fine! However, we instisted on a move- which was to the last open room. Fortujnately the air conditioning worked fine the new room, however it was smaller and we had twin beds instead of a king. The next morning I did have occasion do go back oin the old room, where the fan was on high, but the temperature was easily in the mid 80's. A broken airconditioner I can understand, disbelief or disregard for a customer I can not!

Room Tip: We asked when we checked in, "does the aircondtioning work" - and were assured it did, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I stayed at this hotel the night of Tuesday 22/05. I am happy that booking through a website I did not pay the rate that was on the hotel website. The hotel is meant to be a 4 stars. Upon arrival even if two or three people were at the reception you are left waiting to check in by a person that in my opinion wasn't that friendly. I don't expect someone to be friendly but neither bordering the grumpy attitude like this guy... Although I booked a double room with a double bed for single use I got a double room with two single beds. I didn't bother to try to change it as I was there for business for one night only. The air con was a bit noisy. The bathroom was outdated. Good thing is that it has free WI-FI, parking is advertised as part of the hotel facilities but you pay separate ( € 18 for 24 hours). Breakfast was ok and staff at the breakfast bar was friendly. Next time in Naples however I won't be coming back as there is plenty of choice.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edolondon1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe B, Manager at Grand Hotel Oriente, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

First of all we would like to thank you for this review.
We apologize if you did not receive a warm welcome at the reception.

We hope to make you change your mind next time you come to Naples.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

i like this hotel. I didn't expect much and they surprised me. Great breakfast cakes too and perfect central location.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe B, Manager at Grand Hotel Oriente, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

Thank you very much for you good review , we hope to welcome you next time you will come to Naples.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Romeo Hotel
#15 of 186 in Naples
1,134 reviews
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 186 in Naples
1,519 reviews
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 186 in Naples
2,168 reviews
Royal Continental Hotel
#43 of 186 in Naples
2,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Oriente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Oriente

Address: Via Armando Diaz 44, 80134, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Naples
#5 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#5 Family Hotel in Naples
#11 Business Hotel in Naples
#14 Romantic Hotel in Naples
Price Range: £104 - £505 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Oriente 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Oriente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing