We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay in Naples...but certainly not 4-star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Oriente
Ranked #9 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice stay in Naples...but certainly not 4-star”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Stayed in this hotel with my mum in July 2013 for 4 nights. We had a nice stay but I can't say this hotel was 4-star at all.
Staff at reception were friendly - greeting us every time we passed by :-)
The room was clean but had rather old and tired interior. We got a side room overlooking the piles of rubbish on the street. I was disappointed at the beginning but it turned out that it was quiet as it was overlooking a side street. We were on the 4th floor so we didn't see much from what was going on the street. I actually enjoyed the evenings sitting on the balcony :-)
Room had an efficient working air con which was handy when you come back in the evening after a hot sunny day.
I was disappointed with the breakfast - very poor choice for a 4-star hotel. Just 2 types of salami and cheese, practically no choice of bread, small amount of scrambled eggs with small frankfurters and sweets. The croissants were delicious, though!

Positives - clean spacious room, balcony, air con (working), free WiFi - we didn't use it a lot, small fridge in room, very good convenient location, in room safe (no additional charge), room was well insulated from outside noise

Negatives - very worn interior, some broken furniture, changed hand/face towels every other day, limited choice of breakfast, had to pay for the water in the fridge

Overall had a nice stay. No major issues. Relatively safe area in Naples. Would probably go back because of the convenient location.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kat_ivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    438
    103
    25
    11
See reviews for
155
375
43
245
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lucca, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

This hotel is well situated, very close to the underground station Toledo, and close to the city centre. They have completed the re-decoration of the top floors. The room was large and exceptionally well decorated. and certainly deserves praise. The staff are very friendly and helpful.
This offers good value and comfort to visitors to Naples

Room Tip: ask for a room on the top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We stayed for one night, as we were taking a very early flight back to Heathrow. This hotel is fairly close to the marina (we came from Capri), the airport (I think the ride took about 15mins) and a really neat shopping/pedestrian area. A metro station is just around the corner as well.

The room was spacious and clean. The view was..... something to be desired, as our room looked over a pile of stash. I might have found it shocking, as we had just spent a week in Capri/Positano.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank silly2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

To start with, I will first name Giuseppe - a VERY warm n helpful guy at the front desk who the moment we entered assured us of any help we require. He also guided us n what to see and not.

The hotel is very well located and one has good access to the shopping and eating areas.

Breakfast is also good. Yes, we were given a lovely room once again by Giuseppe with a balcony. Lovely room.

I would definetly recommend this to family vacationers !

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZubinD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcester
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Hotel location is pretty central, 30 minute walk to train station, 20 minutes to port. Metro station 2 minutes away. You can pretty much walk every where from here. In perfectly safe and reasonabe area (compared witht he rest of Naples) Its not the most attractive of cities, most of it is pretty rough, we felt safe enough here and walking around.
Hotel rooms are average size and clean. It is a little tired, but if you want a reasonably priced hotel and just want to sleep it is fine.
Room has mini bar with water in (chargable) hairdryer, balcony, toiletries, tv with BBC world news.
Breaksfast is included and is basic but there is plenty of choice. Pastries, bread, cheese, ham, fresh fruit, tinned fruit, yogurts, scrambled egg, sausage, boiled egg, butters jams. fruit juices and water.
20 euros will get you a fixed price taxi to the airport or you can get the bus about 3 euros pp to the port and walk.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copenhagen
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Oldschool decor but great location and huge rooms and bath rooms. We had a suite for 4 people (2 kids) at a very fair rate - I probably would have been disappointed if we had paid a normal "4 star hotel rate" though ... The view from the balcony was magnificient. Breakfast was ok, but nothing special. The hotel has a guarded parking - please use it! Our rental car with a lot of luggage in it was stolen as we parked it in the street for the first night and though we had heard that the crime rate in Naples was going down everybody was like "well of course, what did you expect"

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingwoman35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We stayed for 8 nights and were very pleased with the hotel and our room, which was clean and very spacious. I had requested a quiet room with a bath and we were given a triple room at no extra cost. The hotels location is excellent, just tucked away off the main shopping street in a pedestrianised area, so away from traffic noise. The location felt safe and we were able to walk to all the Neopolitan attractions. We found the staff helpful (their English was actually quite good) and the hotel met all our needs.
Breakfast was adequate with a reasonable selection on offer, but we did noit understand why the cooked breakfast on offer each morning was not kept hot - never had stone cold scrambled eggs, bacon & sausage before! It would have been so easy to keep the container warm, but there was no effort to do so. That said - we didn't starve!!

Room Tip: Rooms on front are quiet and have a better view than the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 186 in Naples
1,439 reviews
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Royal Continental Hotel
#45 of 186 in Naples
2,535 reviews
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 186 in Naples
2,089 reviews
San Ferdinando
La Ciliegina Lifestyle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Oriente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Oriente

Property: Grand Hotel Oriente
Address: Via Armando Diaz 44, 80134, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Naples
#5 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#5 Family Hotel in Naples
#11 Business Hotel in Naples
#14 Romantic Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Oriente 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Oriente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing