We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel for seeing the sites”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Oriente
Ranked #10 of 190 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel for seeing the sites”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2007

Great hotel with easy walking access to all the main sights in Naples.

Had a superior room (not much more in price than standard room via Expedia) - very spacious with sitting area, large bathroom and great shower. Very comfortable and not really anything more we could have asked for. There was building work going on outside the hotel, which for some reason seemed to start at 10pm and go on until about 7am (!) - the electric shutters shut out the worst of this, but had we not been exhausted from all the sightseeing in the day, it may have been a problem. Having said that, they may well have let us move room had we asked, and at the end of the day, can't blame the hotel for building work outside!

Buffet breakfast was fantastic - lots of choice and very tasty. Didn't try any other meals in the hotel. Large bar - VERY quiet! Ok prices.

Hotel staff generally very helpful (except one seemingly lazy woman on reception) and able to arrange efficient transfer services and excursions to Pompeii and Versuvius with minimal fuss and at excellent prices. All staff seemed to speak good English.

The hotel is situated just off the midway point of Via Toledo - easy walking distance to the Port, Galleria Umberto, Castles, churches, shops etc. Good restaraunts close by.

Yes, in response to some of the previous reviews, Naples is a very dirty city, but it is also very beautiul with masses of character and culture.

Would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone wanting a central, comfortable location from which to see the sights of Naples.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank maybetravellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    388
    96
    24
    11
See reviews for
137
319
40
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2006

With the exception of one the front desk clerks, (slender, short black hair w/glasses) and another staff member who was one of the waiters at breakfast, I found the entire staff to be very friendly and helpful. In particular, the front desk clerk named Ciro (pronounced CHEE-ROW) who always gave directions to particular places I was looking for, recommendations of where to eat, he also located a place where I could rent a bike, and at one point allowed me to contact my bank in the states from the reception phone, they had blocked my card because activity was taking place overseas (I notified them of this prior to my departure), he speaks very good english.

The room was maintained very well everyday. The only minor downside was the shower, it was very small. I also had a balcony with my room. To reduce the noise (wasn't really much) they have additional electric shutters to close off sound from the balcony doors. They had a good variety for breakfast, fresh fruits, cereals, cold meats, cheeses, tons of pastries, juices, eggs, yogurt.

I really liked the location, there was a grocery store around the corner, on the opposite side of exiting the hotel there was a mailboxes etc. which had internet access (15 min. for 1 eruo). A 2 min. walk away would get you into about the halfway mark of Via Toldeo which has numerous stores to shop, pastry shops, chocolate stores (gay-odin), the beautiful galleria umberto. You basically had access to numerous monuments, museums, the port within about 15/20 minutes of walking.

Helpful?
3 Thank letzdnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2006

This was a last minute booking to attend Seatrade Med, a cruise industry trade show. Location was great, 6 blocks from the port and in a quiet street. The room was amazing for a 4 star hotel in Italy, large room, desk with chair, internet connection and computer regulated AC and power. Beautiful bathroom with new fixtures. Excellent noise control windows and friendly staff.
B/fast was included and even offered capucchino.

  • Liked — New bathroom and very clean
  • Disliked — Could not check my bill on the TV
  • Tips/Secrets — Great food at Ciro da Medina very close to hotel
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Cruise_industryworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davenport
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2006

the staff was friendly and the hotel looked like it had been recently redecorated and freshend up. we had a room with a balcony but no view. only two down falls really: there was hair all over the bathroom and the outlets in the room didn't work. i would recommend the hotel, but I DO NOT RECOMMEND NAPLES. it was one big ghetto covered in dung (both human and animal) and spray paint. great place to buy designer knock-offs and things that have fallen off of trucks (been stolen).

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank sammd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2006

I've never written a hotel review before but felt compelled to write in defence of the Grand Oriente!

My husband and I were there in Sept 2005 and we found it very comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful - we arrived at 7.30am and expected to have to leave our baggage and come back later. However, even though they were busy, they managed to find us a room straight away.

The hotel is in a central location (especially convenient for boats to the islands) and the breakfast was good (for Italy!).

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KathrynJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viterbo, Italy
Level Contributor
114 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2005

I've been one week at this hotel for business and I have to say that I was really disappointed by it.
It took a long time for checking-in and same story for checking-out.
The room was old, small and dark.
The staff wasunfriendly, the price too high for the service offered.
The only nice thing was the rich breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed October 2004, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maociu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2005

We stayed sept 05 sopposed to be 4 star more like 2 no english breakfast cold scrambled eggs food in restraunt awful the wine absolutly disgusting not fit to drink no smoking in lounge area shower very very small staff not freindly never smiled would not recommend it to anyone would never go back

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JILLSHAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 190 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
San Ferdinando
La Ciliegina Lifestyle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Mercato
Hotel San Pietro
Hotel San Pietro
#11 of 190 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 190 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Oriente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Oriente

Property: Grand Hotel Oriente
Address: Via Armando Diaz 44, 80134, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Naples
#5 Family Hotel in Naples
#6 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#11 Business Hotel in Naples
#14 Romantic Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Oriente 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Oriente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing