We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awfull-Bedbugs..” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ginevra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Ginevra
Ranked #136 of 189 Hotels in Naples
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awfull-Bedbugs..”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2010

everything was perfect all day in Napoli with my friends till we reached that hotel..It was a nightmare.When we switched off the lights and tried to sleep,bedbugs attacked us :((

Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank selvinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    25
    48
    26
    23
See reviews for
22
56
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
manchester UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2010

We stayed here in October 2009 for 2 nights (then we stayed in Rome for 3 nights) returned back you the Ginevra for 2 more nights.

The Hotel is located right near the train station and the piazza garibaldi, which is the Piazza where it all happens in Naples, shady people, market stalls that look more like carboot sales (minus the car) and characters trying to sell you i-phones.

Naples is quite a poor place there are a lot of tramps on the streets, but we were never bothered by them, they just sit on the benches along the main road sides drinking. In the morning there is a large build up of assorted alcholic empty drink cans/bottles littering the streets, but to be honest its part of the 'vibe' of the city, if you are a little snobby or stuck up, give Naples a miss because I don't think there would be any hotel here that would suit your tastes.

Main points about the Hotel
Clean - I never saw any dirt
No Curfew!! !!!
You have to leave your key with the reception before you go out, to get back in you have to buzz and just state your room number.
vending machine in the reception, this is handy for bottled water and snacks
we had room 11 this was not so much a African design room just bright painted walls it had an amazing balcony thought, which i enjoyed sitting on watching the crazy traffic and crazy people of Naples!
speaking of traffic, the traffic noise is loud at night, and all the way through the night but I personally found it relaxing.
The hotel itself is located in a large building you have to walk up 3 flights of stairs before reaching the reception, which is a bit of a killer after sightseeing all day!
I think i remember reading on Hostelworld when booking that this hotel had free internet, but it doesn't what it does have is an internet cafe 3 blocks away lol

I would recommend and i would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellierenshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matera
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2009

I spent just one night in a triple room, which was much better than I expected (furniture were in African style). It was cosy, clean and cheap: exactly was I was looking for!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nunziosk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2008

People at desk were rude! We had to pay upon check-in and they don't accept credit card, which was not advertised on their website and that was a bit disconcerting when you first arrive and have to dish out money for a service you haven't received yet.

The room was okay, but the bathroom was so-so, didn't seem too clean.

They advertise breakfast on the venere.com website, not true. There is no breakfast but a distributing machine.

The location is not really ideal, a bit shaddy, the only pro is that the train station is around the corner. There are no apparent descent restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Castafiore002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Naples hotels

Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2007

Service in Ginevra is awful. Rude guys from reception don't even say you "bye" when you check-out! Besides, there is a big problem to find this hotel. You have to carry luggages for few floors-there's no lift.

  • Disliked — Service!!!
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tastrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2005

This is a 3rd floor, seedy, unpleasant place, very unlike the guidebook descriptions. You have to haul your luggage up 3 large flights of stairs. Smiling man in the brochure is an unsmiling, unhelpful, and rude grouch. So sorry I got stuck in this place.

  • Stayed February 2004
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank purplepol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2004

My friend and I spent two nights at 75 Euros per night in a smartly refurbished, if simple, room with a good ensuite bathroom. The room looked out on a quiet courtyard without traffic noise - not to be underrated in Italy.

The hotel is not difficult to find on foot in two minutes from the central station if you have done advance homework. (Turn right at station, second street on right, hotel close and visibly illuminated.)

There is no lift to the second floor hotel, they don't accept credit cards and there is no breakfast. Local coffe bars abound and the neighbouring Deutsche Bank issues cash on debit and credit cards.

Most of the staff are friendly, but the older man on duty when we arrived was surly and needs to improve his attitude. However, when after checking out one of us suffered a massive pickpocketing of cash and cards on the R2 bus to the ferry terminal we returned to the hotel and a very helpful man let us use the phone and Internet free of charge.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Downswalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casanova
Hotel Casanova
#96 of 189 in Naples
3.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Zara
Hotel Zara
#79 of 189 in Naples
3.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Europeo & Flowers
Hotel Europeo & Flowers
#45 of 189 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ideal
Hotel Ideal
#144 of 189 in Naples
3.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
5.2 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Runa
#110 of 189 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garden Napoli
Hotel Garden Napoli
#141 of 189 in Naples
3.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ginevra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ginevra

Property: Hotel Ginevra
Address: Via Genova 116, 80143, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 189 Hotels in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Ginevra 1*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Ginevra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ginevra Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing