We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and value”
Review of Hotel Duomo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Duomo
Ranked #139 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“Excellent location and value”
Reviewed 2 May 2010

This hotel also goes by the name Hotel Duomo and Albergo Duomo. Whatever it's name, the hotel is very well located for tourism and for night-life. It's on a street that is quiet, clean and well-lit (apparently very rare things in Naples). We certainly did not feel even remotely unsafe walking around at night. The hotel is at the back of an interior courtyard and so there was little noise from the street. The room was very large and immaculately clean. It and the rest of the hotel seem to have been recently renovated in a way that might be charming were it not that the furniture is a bit spartan. There's no luxury then but the location and the value are enough to highly recommend Pensione Duomo based on our experience.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NO8DO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    33
    26
    7
    12
See reviews for
13
46
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2010

If you are planning to visit Naples, this is a cheap and convenient hotel to stay in. The guys on reception all speak really good english and are willing to call taxis and help with sight seeing. Taxi is about 25 euros from the airport. It is about a 10 min walk from the central station through piazza garibaldi (which is disgusting). Would recommend if your on a budget.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank singoLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamata
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2009

I would strongly recommended this hotel to anyone who wants to explore the city of Naples for five reasons:

1) The location: it's situated in the most strategic point, 10 minutes walk from the train station on via Duomo, a nice and safe street with many coffee and pastry shops where you can taste the real espresso, cappuccino and the tasty Neapolitan sweets (try sfogliatella, babba and pastiera). It;s situated inside the old town and all the great attractions are in a walkable distance. Nearby you can find the churches and the streets of the centro storico, the Archaeological Museum with the treasures of Pompey and Ercolanum and the tastiest pizza you can ever dream...

2) The prices: I went there at Christmas 2008 for five days alone, I slept in a room for two and I payed 45 euro per night.

3) The place: It's located on the second floor of a 18th century palazzo. The interior is fine and simple decorated and contains nice clean rooms with bathroom, suitable for young people, with free internet point in the living room. Of course don't expect any luxuries, the hotel doesn't offer parking services (very difficult in Naples) or breakfast (just go to the bar opposite the street and you would have sweets and coffee of high quality for 2,50 euro).

4) The hotel guys: from the first moment I was impressed by the welcoming of the staff. Especially Luiggi is extreme friendly with humor, a true young Neapolitan. He is also very willing to give information, to answer any question and to make any discussion with you for anything you want to know about the city (also in English).

5) -the most important- The city itself: Naples is magical, wonderful, full of life, history, tradition, sounds, tastes, images and art treasures. Τhere is a large quantity of museums, old churches, castles, catacombs, palaces and panoramas, so that I couldn' t see them all in five days. But most of all I loved the life in the streets of the old neighborhoods and of the town center. The picturesque scenes you may have seen in the old Italian films here is REALITY! You should live suspicions and fear behind, take only the usual care, get in the rhythm of the local people and the city would reward you generously.

I am sure I will be back!!!

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donatKalamata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mythicalsoul
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2009

After climbing the steps, we checked in and were impressed with the room. Very modern and set up nicely. We only stayed here one night, so not too much input.

The shower was dirty as was the cover on the bed(hairs and all, but no stains). Other than that have no complaints.

The staff held our luggage as we went to Pompeii, but it was placed in the common area where many ppl could have access. Regardless, nothing went missing and there was quite a bit of luggage there.

Definitely would stay here again, as we only paid 50 Euro for the night.
No breakfast included though.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mythicalsoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2009

Hotel was in a good location and staff was very nice, Rooms were basic but clean and had everything you need. You do have to bring luggage up about 40 steps to get into hotel...

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTO11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2009

This was adequate for our overnight stay enroute from Pompeii to a flight from Naples to Catania. The room was very large. it was clean and functional.

  • Liked — price and location
  • Disliked — noise and lack of ambience
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank NCHawkeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2008

We chose this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews because it was close to the the train station and we wanted a friendly, helpful staff. The negatives (non-draining showers, sketchy neighborhood) were not too bad. We really were pleased; in fact we stayed there again on our return trip through Naples. The staff was very friendly and very helpful as advertised. The shower drains were OK. The neighborhood was fine, no problem. Not small town America, but fine. Great, inexpensive restaurant (Carmine) around the corner a ways. The place is hard to see from the street, but it's worth looking for. Good hotel, great value.

  • Liked — Price, cleanliness, comfortable bed, staff (especially the staff)
  • Disliked — TV (poor reception, no English language channels)
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank perrymiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Pendino
Pignatelli Hotel
Pignatelli Hotel
#140 of 186 in Naples
123 reviews
Pendino
Hotel Nettuno
Hotel Nettuno
#100 of 186 in Naples
97 reviews
Hotel Lento
#67 of 186 in Naples
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Le Orchidee
#90 of 186 in Naples
182 reviews
Hotel Europeo & Flowers
#46 of 186 in Naples
905 reviews
Bagnoli
Miravalle Hotel
Miravalle Hotel
#114 of 186 in Naples
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duomo

Property: Hotel Duomo
Address: Via Duomo 228, 80138, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Pendino
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Duomo 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensione Duomo Naples
Pensione Duomo Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing