We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting hotel”
Review of Grand Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Europa
Ranked #49 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Moravia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Interesting hotel”
Reviewed 13 June 2011

This is a hotel with a lot of character. The decorating choices are "interesting", and it is something of a maze to find your way up and down the stairs as the staircase is in a different spot for each floor. Our room was really quite large, with a kitchenette (which may or may not have worked, the shade-like thing to keep it out of sight was broken and I couldn't get it to stay up). The elevator only goes up to the 2nd floor and our room was on the 3rd which is a bit of a pain if you have heavy luggage. However as usual the staff are happy to help.

The real charm of this place was the people. An elderly man met us at the bar (the owner I assume) and was happy to chat about Naples - which he obviously loved. Also Maria who works at the front desk was terrific - both as a guide to the city and for helping us out at the hotel. One day after a drive of the Amalfi coast we arrived back at the hotel around 5:30pm and were looking for food (quick! since we were starving). The hotel restaurant doesn't usually open until 7pm, but she called down and had them open it early for us.

The hotel has wifi, but it only works right next to the reception desk.

I can't say that I personally cared for Naples (too chaotic and dirty) but if you're there this isn't a bad place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ticoben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    499
    294
    70
    28
See reviews for
266
426
84
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Stayed four days and three nights. Room was clean and adaquately sized. We especially liked the Air Conditioning. Breakfast was good and service times were convenient. Very best transportation jumping off point within Napoli for day trips to Pompeii, Sorrento, and Capri. Walking distance to Metro and Public Buses - 75 yards. Watch for pick-pockets around train station and buses - but don't let them prevent you from enjoying this wonderful city. Excellent Value within Napli!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K-D_205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

We chose this hotel based on our budget, Rick Steve's recommendation, and the location near the train station, which was perfect for a 24 hour sojourn in Naples (highly recommended, by the way).

We were able to check into our room at noon, which was very helpful. We had a tiny balcony, which was nice to get some fresh air. The towels and linens were high quality and new; the staff was very helpful.

Note to celiacs: When I inquired about gluten free food in making our reservation, I was told that the hotel would get gf food for me, for a 15 EU 'supplement.' I told them I preferred to bring my own instead, and the chef very nicely cooked it for me.

We booked the room plus dinner, which was another excellent value as the food was fine, the two of us were given an entire bottle of wine, and, after a long afternoon of sightseeing, it was blissful to come back to the hotel, eat, and relax. Although the very loud large-screen TV in the dining room is a bit off-putting, it was a good way to watch the news and learn some Italian.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lkp466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2011

The GH Europa is well positioned to Napoli Centrale. This is not the greatest neighborhood, and the hotel is a safe haven from the outside. The rooms are clean and quiet. Great place for a couple of nights. Rooms are not huge, but spacious enough. Wi-fi was not supposed to be available in my room (202), but I was able to pick up a signal there. Would be nice to have an English channel or two on the TV... The included buffet breakfast was very good. Had dinner in the hotel one night and it was good value. Overall a very goo stay and I would stay here again. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank W0rld_Wander_Lust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2011

We loved this hotel. Great value, fantastic staff. Friendly, helpful, gave us a fantastic room. Conveniently located next to the train station, but no problem with noise. Great breakfast every morning. We would stay here again in a heart beat!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1962F85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Very nice rooms with plentiful common areas on the ground floor. Nice breakfast buffet with the waiters constantly refilling the supplies of meat, cheese, pastries, etc. Much nicer than I was expecting that close to the train station.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katylindblad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2011

So first things first, the hotel is a 30 second walk from the main metro/train/bus station in Naples - Piazza Garibaldi. It is (thankfully) situtated in a street off the main Piazza which means you have all the tranquility of the side street and the very simple ease of getting around Naples at your finger tips.

Piazza Garibaldi IS NOT the nicest part of part of Naples and so long as you are aware of this and can see the benefits of staying here then happy days!

Now to the best bit - The best hotel without a shadow of a doubt is the Hotel Europa!One of the main reasons being that it actually DOES look like the pictures you see one the internet....which is definatley not the trend when it comes to the other hotels which are on the main Piazza such as Hotel Cavour - it really could be done for false advertising...however let's not be negative now.

My friend and I (two 30 year old ladies) arrived on Easter Sunday to a very lovely Ida who greeted us in a friendly and efficient manner wand who directed us to the best way of getting to the Mergillina...which unfortunately for us had to be by a taxis as it was Easter. Now the taxi rank at just outside the station was going to blatantly rip us off sayng it would be 25€ but thankfully Ida did say that it wouldn't be that much...so we walked to the otherside of the Piaza (near the Kimbo sign) and found a cab for 15€ which is actually about right.

The rest of the trip was, as they say, is history...we had a great stay in this hotel and successfully visited, Ischia, Sorrento, Capri, Mount Versuvius, Ercalano (Herculanium), Pompei...all in 6 days!

The Breakfast was ample with some lovely crossaints, bolied eggs, cheese, bread, coffee (:-), cereal - typically continental.

The rooms where always cleaned everyday because we put the sign on the door "please make up my room" everyboady had a friendly smile and was always happy to help.

The waether was rainy in Naples on some days and unpredictable - so Ida was great in helping us plan our trips out of Naples and thankfully we got the weather right!

Naples is a great city, and I would definately stay at Europa again - because quite frankly there isn't a reason not to.

A few tips...

Changing money - do not bring foreign money to Naples and chnage it in the Stationez - you will get ripped off (i.e. £100 = 80€!!!!)

VISIT Ischia and the Gardina Poisiden Terme.....natural thermal spas on a cliffside...need I say more?....make sure you leave at least 2 hours to get there and back and get there early.

Capri...worth a visit - but don't believe the hype - it only has 2 small beaches which are both rocky - designer shops and people who want you to hop on their boat for hiked up prices....it does have some amazing scenary....

Sorrento....wow!take the train - it costs 8€ return - and if possible maybe stay there....sandy beaches (not like Mauritius - but good enough)...little streets for shopping, a great green bus journey (7.50€) and some free Lemonciello with some great music and lively bus guide!

Pompei - book the older man with the dark red rain mac - it costs you about 10€ each for his tour (11€ to get into Pompei)....he has written books being used in oxford uni ;-).....wether it's true or not - I don't care - he was much better than an audio tour - and answers any questions you may have.

Mount Versuvius - only do this on a very clear day and be prepared for a 30 minute climb...the van will only take you so far...seriously do not attemp the climb if you have breathing difficulties, heart problems or are unfit (and be honest with yourself here!)

Finally have the ice cream from the shop on the hill in the Mergillina area it has an Italian there called Roberto Smith - sing to them and they may give you a free ice cream! Make sure you eat seafood and fish dishes only it's too good to miss out! Try the fresh homemade pasta - Seafood Scialatielli from Conrado (I think that's the name of the reasturant) it takes some time - but is the best pasta i've ever had....it's so fresh! Marina or Margarita pizzas are defo the best!

Phew....i think i'm going to relax now.....but as you can tell I had a great time and hope you do too!

Room Tip: use public transport.go to ischia
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pritee-ITLab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Hotel Europeo & Flowers
#47 of 186 in Naples
887 reviews
Fuorigrotta
Best Western JFK Hotel
Best Western JFK Hotel
#21 of 186 in Naples
564 reviews
Mercato
ibis Styles Napoli Garibaldi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fuorigrotta
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#5 of 186 in Naples
1,048 reviews
Hotel Tiempo
#41 of 186 in Naples
610 reviews
Best Western Hotel Plaza
#53 of 186 in Naples
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Europa

Property: Grand Hotel Europa
Address: Corso meridionale 14, 80143, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Naples
#32 Business Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Europa 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Europa is in an elegant nineteenth century building, just a few hundred metres from Garibaldi train station and Naples historical city center; ideal location from which to explore the city and reach all the major museums and monuments on foot in only a few minutes. Offers all the services of a superior three star hotel with 84 rooms and suites, a restaurant, a bar, a theater and several meeting rooms. The sandard or superior rooms are spacious and are equipped with thoughtful amenities to make your stay comfortable, including air conditioning and heating, satellite television, hairdryer, telephone, safe, Wi-Fi, non-smoking rooms. Are spacious and have those services necessary to make your stay comfortable, such as air conditioning and heating, satellite TV, hairdryer, telephone, safe, Wi-Fi, non-smoking rooms. Its central location is ideal for exploring the many attractions of one of the most beautiful Italian cities of art! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing