We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Naples visit”
Review of Grand Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Europa
Ranked #52 of 185 Hotels in Naples
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Very good hotel. Friendly and helful staff at the desk. Plenty to eat for breakfast and good restaurant for evening meals with an excellent and friendly waiter. Room comfortable and clean. The only problem was that there were no shelves in the room for clothing just two large cupboards. I have already recommended the hotel to 2 friends who will be booking

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claudioeuropa, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Europa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2011

Dear Ian L,

good morning from Naples and thanks a lot for your nice review.
We hope to see you again in future and provide your room of comfortable clotheshanger to tidy up your wardrobe

Meanwhile we will be very happy to welcome your friends :)

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

304 - 310 of 1,245 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2011

We stayed here for 7 days after finding it on Trip Adviser.
We were not disappointed its location is perfect for traveling out to all the sights in mad mad Napoli.........albeit on the days we wanted to go to Vesuvius the trains (Circumvesuviana) were on strike !!!
However when the trains are running they are great for Pompeii,Sorrento and surrounding areas and within 2 minutes walk of the Hotel.
Just a tip an easy way to get to the station complex is turn right out of the hotel and just across the road there are some big metal gates (just before small kiosk) with an opening either side ~ use this way and you will by-pass all the people that hang around the station.
It is in a grotty area with lots of rubbish piled high in the streets and lots of dubious people hanging around ,especially around the station area (lots of African street sellers) but after a day or two you get used to this and just ignore them.
We found that walking through the station complex is the best option as this by passes all the crowds and is policed very well.
The Hotel is really lovely, room was nice and clean, staff were really nice and helpful with lots of helpful advice on were to go and what to see.Breakfast was good too (continental) so don't expect eggs and bacon and a fried slice !!!
The restaurant in the hotel was very good as well and we used this a couple of times and found the food good value and a varied selection ...............even though the waiter had the hump as Napoli lost the football match we were watching on the BIG screen.
Summing up, if you book this hotel you will not be disappointed it is in a brilliant location for traveling out,it is clean the staff are really lovely and all in all good value for money.
Thanks to all the team at The Grand Hotel Europa for making our stay in Napoli a pleasant one.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJB_Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claudioeuropa, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Europa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2011

Dear MJBEssex,

good morning from Grand Hotel Europa.

It's been a pleasure to ready your nice review after spending seven days with us.There is no better reward for our work.

As you said our location is very convenient to travelling out by public transport. Additionally our staff is always at guests' disposal to organize tours in the surrounding region, for example in Sorrento and Pompei.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome back you in Naples :)

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed at this hotel for a week, encouraged by the Trip Advisor reviews. Big mistake, as we can only conclude that most of the euologistic appraisals are from people who have never stayed in a hotel before.

The room in which we spent our first night was very reminiscent of student accommodation. We got moved to a better one without a fuss. The rooms were very clean with a good bathroom. The chambermaid was one of the cheeriest we have ever met, but after that we were left scratching our heads over what the praise was all about.

The man in charge at reception was competent and courteous, but the female staff were a very mixed bag, varying greatly in mood and grasp of english, and we had several "no eye
contact" moments.

The worst, however, was reserved for breakfast, which appropriately, was served in the basement, and much of the fault, we decided, was that all the staff were men. I think they must have been playing some sort of in-house game of who could get away with providing the least customer service. Here breakfast at its best is basic. Yes, there is cereal, as long as you like like cornflakes or cocopops, but the ham and cheese that seem to have impressed other guests are of the cheapest, all the hot drinks are from a machine, as are the
"fruit juices", saccharin laced concoctions that were quite undrinkable. The "fresh fruit" was tinned fruit salad.

Unfathomable, though, was the reluctance to top up the bread which every day appeared in doorstep sized slabs. We came down on Sunday at 9.10 (breakfast is served until 10) to find there was virtually nothing - no bread, three croissants, no ham, no cheese, no cups, no side plates - and no staff. When we asked what was going on, three of them then appeared and started putting right what they should have done long since. Presumably Italy has stringent staff protection laws.

It's not the hotel's fault that it's in an "edgy" area - lots of hotels are situated here. We encountered no problems, and the upside is that communications are good. I wouldn't want to be a woman walking alone in the locality at night, and there's precious little to be found nearby in the way of decent food.

We'd think again about Naples itself. Forget that "see Naples and die" thing - the fact is it's probably one of the noisiest, litter strewn, traffic spoiled, uncivilised cities in Europe. If you're drawn by Vesuvius, Pompeii and Herculaneum, do yourself a favour and stay in Sorrento!

Room Tip: Ask for a room which doesn't face the main road as it is very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosstourbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

The hotel staffs are very polite,helpful and approachable. My wife enjoy our stay at the hotel so much we are planning our next vacation to italy with four of our friends.I will recommend the hotel anytime to anyone that want a place like home.
Breakfast is super and BIG.

Thanks to all europa staff for making our holiday nice.
Regards
Charles Omotayo& kemi Omotayo

Room Tip: Phone before departing for your holiday and tell them the type of room you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claudioeuropa, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Europa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2011

Dear Mr and Mrs Omotayo,

thanks a lot for your nice feedback. We are really proud to read that our staff made nice your holiday and that you felt like at home :)

Keep in contact with us, we would like to welcome you back in Naples

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Hotel beside train station. Good base. Unsafe at night, alot of poverty in area, begging prostitues etc. Had dinner at hotel and was really nice and breakfast was good. Staff answered questions but not overly friendly, the girl spent her time on facebook while speaking to guests as you could see this reflecting from glass. hotel nice and clean and bed comfy.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baileysandcream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claudioeuropa, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Europa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2011

Dear Guest,

good morning from Naples.

Our sincerest thank to write a review for Grand Hotel Europa, your feedback is very important to monitorate and improve our service.

We are pleased that you define our hotel "nice and clean" but we are sorry about the wrong perception you had from our reception staff. As you know internet and ,consequently social networks are nowadays an integral part of hotels' work. In fact one of the reception staff duty is to care for of our page on facebook.
We also kindly invite you to click the "LIKE" button in Grand Hotel Europa Napoli facebook page to be in touch with us :)

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Very conveniently situated next to railway station,excellant base for exploring the region.Found this hotel was an excellant choice and very good value for money.Room was spacious and clean and breakfast was more than adequate.Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claudioeuropa, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Europa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2011

Dear Chaslondon,

good morning from Naples.

Thanks a lot to spend your time in writing a review for Grand Hotel Europa.

Our hotel is without doubts the best point to start a visit of the city or the surrounding region due to its adiacency with every mean of public transportation.

We are proud you are going to recommend us and we look forward to welcome you back in Naples

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

really lovely hotel the rooms were excellent the staff were really helpful and there food was one of the best we had all week ,one of the best thing about this hotel is that your close to the train station and the buses to,we always come to this hotel when we are in Naples which is every year.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claudioeuropa, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Europa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2011

Dear Fletton family,

good morning from your Naples house :)

Thanks a lot to write a review for Grand Hotel Europa.
It's a reason to be proud hosting you on regular basis, considering that you travel from England.

We hope to see you again next month. As you know, Naples, in December, have a particular charme especially in San Gregorio Armeno street, the centre of the nativity scene traditions.

Our best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Hotel Europeo & Flowers
#47 of 185 in Naples
915 reviews
Mercato
ibis Styles Napoli Garibaldi
Best Western Hotel Plaza
#62 of 185 in Naples
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fuorigrotta
Best Western JFK Hotel
Best Western JFK Hotel
#19 of 185 in Naples
644 reviews
Hotel Tiempo
#46 of 185 in Naples
649 reviews
Fuorigrotta
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#4 of 185 in Naples
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Europa

Address: Corso Meridionale, 14, 80143, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Naples
#32 Business Hotel in Naples
Price Range: £38 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Europa 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Europa is an elegant nineteenth century building, just a few hundred metres from Garibaldi central station and Naples historical city center and it is the ideal location to visit Naples and its most important attractions easily and even in a few days. The hotel has 84 rooms, a restaurant, a bar and one meeting room. All rooms are spacious and equipped with all amenities such as air conditioning and heating, satellite television, hairdryer, telephone, safe, Wi-Fi and non-smoking rooms. Buffet breakfast available at the price of € 9,00 per adult and € 6,00 per child. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing