We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Saving for vacation? Spend a little more, and stay elsewhere.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Hotel Europa
Ranked #47 of 189 Hotels in Naples
Chicago
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Saving for vacation? Spend a little more, and stay elsewhere.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012 via mobile

Great location for brief transfer point. Do not count on any vacation experience here. Front Desk area, bar area, fine. Room......the pits. Noisy air conditioning, malfunctioning windows,shower didn't drain, and one other thing that was not cool. Don't remember. Again, there was three beds for my wife and I. ?????? Just not the vacation hotel. Try a hotel with a GREAT review. You want to have a wonderful vacation uninterrupted by a lousy hotel. If you however dont care where you stay, then by all means stay here. This hotel and its sister hotel Executive, set the benchmark for substandard. Hotel was notified of quality flaws by the way.
Stayed, early October 1 night.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmmmmmfoooood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simona C, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Europa, responded to this review, 14 December 2012
Dear Guest,

we are really sorry that your stay at our hotel was not satisfying for you...if you found your room not so nice you could ask for a change to our reception desk and they would have surely helped you.
Our staff is always very friendly and helpful as we all work to make the stay of our customers pleasant.
Grand Hotel Europa and Hotel Executive are both three stars hotels located in the right centre of the city, ideal places from where to see Naples and to enjoy its atmosphere.

We really hope to see you soon again at the Grand Hotel Europa maybe in one of our new rooms (very nice decorated and located in a renovated part of the hotel) or to take part at our dinner show in our restaurant...

Meanwhile, we remain with our best regards from Naples,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    476
    272
    66
    27
See reviews for
256
406
76
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Forest Hills, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

Let me start off by saying that the actual hotel itself was actually OK, but the service was ABYSMAL! First off, the "environs" surrounding the hotel leave something, no, A LOT to be desired. The blocks around the hotel are literally strewn with HEAPS of trash - everywhere. I'm from New York, so I'm used to the grit, by let me tell you, Napoli has to be the FILTHIEST place I've ever visited. Also, literally right across the street from the front door of the hotel was a sidewalk where prostitutes were plying their trade. Inside the hotel, it didn't get much better. The front desk said they would need to hold on to our passports for a "couple of hours." No hotel I've stayed in in Italy has requested that much time. Then, the room required a special "electricity" key which had to be left in it's "socket" if you wanted to watch TV or keep the A/C on, which is fine with me, but the key ring it was on had a large metal thing on it which was quite heavy and kept pulling the key out...I had to take the "electricity key" off the room's key ring. The room had some weird seascape mural on the wall that wasn't too attractive. The room was booked for two (my wife and I) however, only one set of towels was there. The restaurant in the hotel was actually pretty good, but the decor was atrocious. The service was bad as well. As an Italian speaker, I understand the language completely, and I was appalled to hear the wait staff talk about the party I was with at dinner...they were shocked when I ordered in Italian, and they promptly left us alone. Like I said above, the food was actually pretty good, but the service... They were so BAD. The wait staff would repeatedly say that only three pastas could be ordered at a table, even though the menu offered more than 6. This was a big problem as we were travelling in a large group. When I questioned the wait staff (in Italian) about this, they said the cook didn't want to make too many different things. At that point I had had enough and braved the nasty environs of Napoli and found another establishment. Others who were travelling with us also had trouble in the restaurant, and when they questioned the staff, the staff claimed they did not speak English - even though they did. At checkout, the gentleman who was checking us out said that the taxes HAD to be paid in CASH - even though you can pay this with a credit card if you want. I corrected the man, and all of a sudden, he remembered that you can pay with cash or credit.
The overall value of the place wasn't bad, especially considering it's proximity to the train station, but I can say with absolute certainty that I will NEVER come back to this place. I would gladly spend a few more Euros per night for better service...and to get away from some of the "ladies of the night."

Room Tip: A tip to choose a good room: Pick a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ali S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simona C, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Europa, responded to this review, 14 December 2012
Dear Ali,

thank you for your review through Tripadvisor.

We will take into account all your suggestions as we work everyday to improve our service and to make the stay of our customers always more pleasant but we just would like to point out some things: we are really surprised that you found Naples so dirty as it is since one year that our municipality solved the problem.

With reference to our staff, they are all very friendly and helpful to our guests.
In particular, our wait staff takes care of all problems that could happen to our customers and most of all they are always very responsible with the work they have to do for the whole day: tha's why they were talking of the party at dinner, as they want always to be sure that everything is ok...

For whom it may concern your room, if you didn't like it you could ask for a change at our reception desk and they would have solved your problem in order to assure you a room which you could find better...

We really do hope to welcoming you back soon to the Grand Hotel Europa in Naples and meanwhile we remain with our best regards from one of the most beautiful cities of the world!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

The room is good the staff is helpful but someone stole my cell inside the room.
My Brazilian cell was inside my suitcase in the room they opened and took.
That was not nice.
The rest of the hotel is ok, but if I knew that I would not stayed there.
And when I complained with the manager he sad that I should lock my suitcase and sense I had no prove he could not do anything.
Not exactly what I expected.

Bacal

Room Tip: Lock all your stuff really well, and take anything that has value with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leandrobacal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simona C, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Europa, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Dear Guest,

we just would like to point out that nobody of our staff could take anything from your luggage: all our employers are very honest and reliable.
The proof of it is that we never received such complaints.
Maybe, before accusing unfairly the staff of the Grand Hotel Europa you should be sure that you really left your phone in the room.
Furthermore you can check all our reviews and nobody was never stolen at our hotel, all comments are always positive and nice especially with reference to the hard work of our staff.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
258 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2012 via mobile

Easy to find as it is next to Napoli Centrale main train station, free wifi in the lobby, small room, small toilet, very small tv all programs in Italian except CNN which was a life saver, in front of the station was a major construction and construction in a few places as well, we walked around to and from the shopping area, if you turn left as you exit the hotel go about 50 metres, a new supermarket just opened with good varieties, but closes at 8pm, there are a few supermarkets around but this one is good. Breakfast was simple, with a coffee machine with different types of coffees, cold cuts, sausages boiled eggs,juices, enough to last till lunch, our tour pick up was close by at Star Terminus hotel-Piazza Garibaldi so was a good choice hotel for us, paid €132 for 3nights via Agoda, payment to be settled upon departure at front desk

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tsaidavidtristan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simona C, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Europa, responded to this review, 24 November 2012
Dear Guest,

first of all thank you for writing your review on Tripadvisor: our costumers suggestions are the best way we have to improve our service day by day.

Our hotel is without any doubt the best point to start a visit of the city or the surrounding region due to its adiacency to central station, underground stops and bus stops.

We are also delighted that you aprreciated our breakfast, always rich and various.

We really hope to welcome you soon back to the Grand Hotel Europa in Naples and meanwhile we remain with our kindest regards!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

The hotel is very close to the train station making it excellent for getting around. The area may not be the smartest but that is the same for most areas around main train stations. As a large group we felt safe enough moving around the area and the large number of police who seemed to stay and eat at the hotel made it feel even safer! Naples is not the tidiest of cities so just don't expect too much and you won't be disappointed.

The staff were all friendly and helpful making several calls for us to sort out transfers and lost phones as well as recommending a great restaurant. There were 9 of us wanting 5 rooms and they were a mixture. All were very clean with comfy beds and and the double glazing almost completely shut out any road noise. Two of us were given one of the newly renovated rooms - more in the style of a boutique hotel than the standard rooms we had - a real experience if you get one of those. The general decor in the hotel can only be described as eclectic - a real mix of class, kitsch and the plain bizarre.

We were also impressed with the breakfast - fresh croissants, yogurts, cheese, meats, cereals, coffee, tea, bread, boiled eggs.

This may not be the poshest hotel in Naples but as far as location and value for money you can't go far wrong.

Room Tip: See if you can as for one of the newly renovated rooms - very unique
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alih71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simona C, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Europa, responded to this review, 24 November 2012
Dear Guest,

first of all many thanks for your nice review and your kind words dedicated to our staff.

Surely our hotel is the ideal place to visit easily Naples and its beautiful sorroundings due to its superb location: just five minutes walking far from central station, underground and bus stops.

Furthermore, we are delighted that you appreciated our breakfast always very rich and various: next time don't foget to ask for our menù à la carte: our dishes-typical of neapolitan traditions-will be a wonderful surprise for you!

We really hope to welcome you back to the Grand Hotel Europa!

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
114 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

My husband and I flew into Rome, took the train to Naples and spent the first night of our Italian vacation at the Grand Hotel Europa. We debated about going straight on to Sorrento, but since we wanted to visit the archaeological museum, we decided to spend one night in Naples. Because we were traveling by train, it made sense to stay near the Termini. As other reviewers have noted, the hotel looks run down from the outside the neighborhood is scary, but the price is reasonable. The staff is pleasant; however, our room was dark and dreary...and besides a double bed, it contained a set of bunk beds! The breakfast wasn't bad, though nothing special, either. This hotel is fine for one night, but if you’re planning to stay longer, chose a hotel in a nicer area.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynette796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simona C, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Europa, responded to this review, 26 October 2012
Dear Guests,

thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

Our hotel has a superb location due to the train and underground station, located just a few steps far from it: that's why it is frequently chosen by people who would like to visit Naples as well as its sourrounds and from people coming here for business.

About the room, we have some of them with bunk beds ideal for families coming with children: however, if you would have preferred another one you could have asked for it to our reception.

They would have proposed you something different....

Awaiting for welcoming you to the Grand Hotel Europa again, we remain with our warmest regards from Naples!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresina, PI
Level Contributor
166 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012 via mobile

This is our 2nd day one to go here. The most important thing about the hotel is its location just beside the train station which is very handy. The hotel is old, rooms are mid clean to me. TV is from late 80's with a VCR!!! And very small. We booked a triple room which servd our purpose. Although the station is close, the hotel is in a very scary location: do not dare to step outside late at night! Restaurants around are not so fancy but in the hotel you can have a standard Italian menu for a fair price! Breakfast is also fair, much better than American continental breakfast. Shopping around is neither a good idea as the area is definetly decadent. Via Chiaia should be a better choice. Hotel staff are nice, nothing more than doing their job! You can book tours at the front desk to many spots around! If you wanna stay for a short time with a reasonable price that is it!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GersonP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simona C, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Europa, responded to this review, 26 October 2012
Dear Gerson,

first of all thank you for sending us your review through Tripadvisor.

Our hotel, located very central as it is just 5 minutes walking far from train station, underground station and main bus stops, is ideal to visit Naples and its sorrounds even during a short stay.
With reference to our rooms, next time don't forget to ask for a new junior suite in our completely renovated area called "O' VICO EUROPA" where you will deeply enjoy Naples atmosphere.
Also our restaurant, where in some days of the month take place our famous dinner shows, is simply perfect to taste typical neapolitan cuisine as well as the international one.

We are looking forward to welcoming you to the Grand Hotel Europa on your next trip to Naples and meanwhile we remain with our kindest regards!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Hotel Europeo & Flowers
#45 of 189 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Mercato
ibis Styles Napoli Garibaldi
Hotel Tiempo
#39 of 189 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fuorigrotta
Best Western JFK Hotel
Best Western JFK Hotel
#18 of 189 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Stelle Hotel
#28 of 189 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Fuorigrotta
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#5 of 189 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Europa

Property: Grand Hotel Europa
Address: Corso meridionale 14, 80143, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Europa 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Europa is in an elegant nineteenth century building, just a few hundred metres from Garibaldi train station and Naples historical city center; ideal location from which to explore the city and reach all the major museums and monuments on foot in only a few minutes. Offers all the services of a superior three star hotel with 84 rooms and suites, a restaurant, a bar, a theater and several meeting rooms. The sandard or superior rooms are spacious and are equipped with thoughtful amenities to make your stay comfortable, including air conditioning and heating, satellite television, hairdryer, telephone, safe, Wi-Fi, non-smoking rooms. Are spacious and have those services necessary to make your stay comfortable, such as air conditioning and heating, satellite TV, hairdryer, telephone, safe, Wi-Fi, non-smoking rooms. Its central location is ideal for exploring the many attractions of one of the most beautiful Italian cities of art! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing