We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst location in Naples”
Review of Grand Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Europa
Ranked #52 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worst location in Naples”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This was my wife and my first trip to Naples and we really did not know what to expect. On our way from the train station to our hotel (max 2 minutes walk), we past homelessness, mounds of rubbish and prostitution. Unfortunately, it turns out that the hotel is in one of the worst areas. As mentioned in a number of other reviews, staying in Naples can be great if you are in a good location but like everyone else we would advise you NOT to stay near the station. We did not feel comfortable with the people who were immediately outside our hotel, and did not feel safe enough to walk around the streets. My wife and i checked into this hotel and checked out almost instantly. The room itself was very basic but had all the necessities. It is just unfortunate that it is in such a bad area. Once we checked out, we found another hotel closer to the coast and we feel much safer. In summary, average hotel and awful location. Avoid hotels near the station if you can.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JamesPerrott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simona C, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Europa, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Mr. Perrott,

We feel deeply sorry that you wrote such bad words about Grand Hotel Europa but you never stayed at our hotel.

We admit that the area near the train station could look, at a first sight, a scary location.
However we have to point out that our hotel is located in a secondary street where there is no reason to feel unsafe.

Awaiting for welcoming you in Naples to show you our hotel, we remain with our best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    505
    300
    74
    31
See reviews for
270
436
86
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the room, fittings and service we received at Gramd Hotel Europa. Located on a busy street, we walked in with low expe rations. But the care they have taken to decorate the hotel with the right art work, the cleanliness and the quality of fittings in the room..all of them totally took us by surprise. This is a wonderful place to stay and is conveniently located next to the train station and bus terminus.

Room Tip: Doesn't have much outdoor space, children's activities or fitness center. Breakfast could be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank HariNarayanaswamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simona C, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Europa, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear guest,

First of all thank you for your beautiful review on Tripadvisor!

It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed so much your stay at Grand Hotel Europa.
Our rooms are decorated in accord to different themes to make each of them original and unique in its style. We are delighted that you appreciated it.

We hope to welcoming you as soon as possible to our hotel again.

Warmest regards from Naples!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

To be able to catch the early train the next morning, we chose to stay in this hotel (less than 2 mins walk to the central station)! With the promotional fare, we didn't expect to have such a clean and spacious room. The staffs were very friendly and very attentive to handling our requests for beds and breakfast. The breakfast was very Napolitano style, abundant and delicious! Very satisfied and would like to try their dinner service next time!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank italytmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simona C, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Europa, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your post on Tripadvisor.

We are really happy that you appreciated so much our rooms, the various and rich breakfast and also our staff, always ready to help our guests.

Next time we suggest you to book one of our new rooms, in the so called “O Vico Europa” where you will enjoy typical Neapolitan atmosphere!

We hope that you will choose Grand Hotel Europa again , so that you’ll have the chance to taste our special menu.

Warmest regards from Naples!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Puente, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

My family and I stayed here for two nights and it was a good hotel. The location was convenient, very close to the train station. The room was big, roomy and clean. The double paned windows work really well at keeping out the traffic's noise out of the room at night. The person who helped us with our bags was very nice and helpful! The staff at the front desk was adequate, but not so knowledgable or informative. The breakfast was satisfactory, nothing special. The restaurant in the hotel was good, and suitable if you don't want to wander the streets near the train station. Overall, this is a decent and convenient hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Curlysoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simona C, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Europa, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear guest,

First of all thank you for sending your review through Tripadvisor.

It is a pleasure to know that your stay at Grand Hotel Europa was satisfying. We are also delighted that you appreciated our staff’s kindness as well as our restaurant.

As you remarked in your post, the hotel has an ideal location to explore Naples and its surroundings either by walk or by metro and by bus.

Awaiting for welcoming you as soon as possible to our hotel, we remain with

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2013

My mom and I stayed one night at the hotel and it was so pleasant, service and people were great! The concierge was so helpful and went out of his way to serve us best! The rooms were super clean and wonderful paintings on the walls. Super easy to find and close to central Naples train station. It was a bit overwhelming leaving the station but all you do is get out of the station and turm right. You keep walking and its your first right, there will be a sign saying "grand europa hotel". Breakfast was wonderful as well, the freshest crossaints we've ever tasted : )

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 621ashleym621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simona C, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Europa, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for the beautiful review on Tripadvisor!

It is a pleasure to know that you spent some wonderful days at Grand Hotel Europa. We are really happy that you and your mother appreciated our staff’s kindness and the breakfast always rich and various.

All our rooms have paintings on the wall dedicated to different themes, in order to make each room unique in its style.

We hope to welcoming you again at our hotel very soon!

Warmest regards from Naples
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

The staff were very nice and helpful. The room was air conditioned, with bathroom, tv, mini bar and safe. The breakfast was varied and full and dinner was good. It was not expensive and it was very close to the Station for trains, metro and buses. Overall excellent!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simona C, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Europa, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Dear guest,

thank you so much for sending your post through Tripadvisor.

It is a pleasure to know that you spent some nice days at Grand Hotel Europa. We are really glad to notice that you appreciated our professional staff, our rich breakfast and our restaurant: the chef cooks offers typical Neapolitan dishes and the international ones as well.

The hotel is also in a perfect location for exploring Naples or catching Circumvesuviana train to reach Pompeii, Herculaneum or Sorrento.

We hope to see you soon at our hotel again,

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Last September my wife and I had a terrible experience with Europa Grand Hotel is Naples. We had booked it online through booking.com, based on the positive TripAdvisor reviews. We were treated appallingly. It began when the guest in front of us asked to be changed to another room and the receptionist obliged. But then when we tried to check in, she said they were fully booked and the only room for us had plumbing problems, so they would have to send us to another hotel, Hotel Eden. She insisted the other hotel was of the same quality, and at first we gave her the benefit of the doubt. It was not. Not only was it rated far lower on TripAdvisor, it was of a very poor standard – dirty (faeces still in the toilet from the last guest), noisy, cigarette-smoke smelling and worn. (But I’ve reviewed that hotel separately, this review is just about our treatment by Europa Grand Hotel).
We went back to Europa and said the replacement accommodation was not acceptable for the money we had paid. What followed was hours of arguments between the receptionist, her manager (on the phone) and ourselves. They would not budge, and all they would say was that the booking was non-refundable through booking.com. We insisted that we had booked THIS hotel, and if they could not provide us with accommodation at this hotel, the non-refundable policy was void. We said that they couldn’t even claim the other hotel was of an equal let-alone acceptable standard. The receptionist seemed to discuss this with her manager on the phone twice (in Italian, so I can’t be sure what they were saying), but he sounded stubborn and short-tempered without compassion. I argued our case from every position imaginable, but with an establishment so pig-headed, it ended with us still standing at the desk helpless and infuriated with no result. It was getting late and my wife and I had no choice but to stay at the other hotel or be out on the street (in Naples, not an option). All we could do was demand they pay for our parking, which they wouldn’t do, but they let us keep our hire car in the loading zone out the front overnight. Even that was stressful, as we spent the whole night worrying the car would be damaged by aggressive passers-by (the area seems dangerous and intimidating to a tourist).
It’s worth mentioning Europa’s bellhop is a kindly old man who is treated terribly by the staff, spoken to like a lowly servant and barked orders. He happily helped us with our bags like a trooper all the way to the other hotel but I felt bad for the way he is treated. I hope he has moved to another hotel.
Thanks to the outrageous behaviour of this hotel, we had the worst overnight stay in the other hotel of all our accommodation in Europe. We were not refunded or even given a discount. The only justice we can have is posting this review and recommending you don’t give your business to this uncaring, unreasonable and rude hotel who treat tourists in such a manner. My wife and I have stayed in hotels all over the world, in Australia, the USA, Asia and all over Europe, perhaps visitors to Naples tend to lower their standards accordingly, but this was the worst we’ve ever been treated. It upsets us to see this place is still getting positive reviews, it doesn’t deserve it in our experience. You can’t even be sure this is the hotel you’re going to stay at.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank SydneyFolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Hotel Europeo & Flowers
#46 of 186 in Naples
898 reviews
Mercato
ibis Styles Napoli Garibaldi
Fuorigrotta
Best Western JFK Hotel
Best Western JFK Hotel
#21 of 186 in Naples
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fuorigrotta
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#5 of 186 in Naples
1,067 reviews
Hotel Tiempo
#42 of 186 in Naples
617 reviews
Best Western Hotel Plaza
#54 of 186 in Naples
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Europa

Property: Grand Hotel Europa
Address: Corso meridionale 14, 80143, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Europa 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Europa is in an elegant nineteenth century building, just a few hundred metres from Garibaldi train station and Naples historical city center; ideal location from which to explore the city and reach all the major museums and monuments on foot in only a few minutes. Offers all the services of a superior three star hotel with 84 rooms and suites, a restaurant, a bar, a theater and several meeting rooms. The sandard or superior rooms are spacious and are equipped with thoughtful amenities to make your stay comfortable, including air conditioning and heating, satellite television, hairdryer, telephone, safe, Wi-Fi, non-smoking rooms. Are spacious and have those services necessary to make your stay comfortable, such as air conditioning and heating, satellite TV, hairdryer, telephone, safe, Wi-Fi, non-smoking rooms. Its central location is ideal for exploring the many attractions of one of the most beautiful Italian cities of art! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing