We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ideal spot for travelling out of Naples”
Review of Grand Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Europa
Ranked #49 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Nice
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“ideal spot for travelling out of Naples”
Reviewed 9 November 2008

We spent two nights in a family room [one double 2 singles] in this hotel .

There was good air conditioning, clean bathroom with good shower and plenty of clean towels

It was clean, friendly and ideally placed for travel by trenitalia train, circumvesuviana train, metro and bus. We also booked a taxi to the airport with the hotel on our last day - a voucher system so no hidden extras - 16 euros which seemed fine

The breakfast was average - though there were freshly made Italian style croissants , a sort of luncheon meat and cheese, yoghurts , bread and cereal.. There were hard boiled eggs one morning
Coffee at breakfast was awful and from an urn/ machine -though espressos from the bar were excellent.

The prices in the hotel bar were very reasonable - 2 anise and 2 espressos was 6 euros . we did not take anything from the mini bar so i don't know what these prices were like
We had booked through a cheap deal site -so we were paying 79 euros per night for the room which was excellent value.

The area around the train station is not the best - lots of hawkers and poor people and very noisy - we didn't get hassled and we didn't feel in any danger.
there were plenty of places in the vicinity for snacks but not many restaurants -we didn't eat at the hotel at night.

We would stay in the hotel again for the location for exploring the Campi Flegrei or as a last night hotel

  • Liked — Clean , good location
  • Disliked — be aware the area around the station is not a good one
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank selkieNice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    499
    293
    70
    28
See reviews for
265
426
84
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2008

My girlfriend and I (22 & 25) stayed at Hotel Europa for 3 nights in July on our trip throughout Italy and loved it. If you're traveling to see Italy most likely you're not going to be staying in your room very often and so the size really isn't a problem. The breakfast was adequate, hard boiled eggs, cereal, bread, pastries. I'm not sure how much more you're expecting out of a free breakfast. The rooms were clean and we slept perfectly. Never woke up to noise or to the congregated streets outside. The bus stop to get to the airport is also next to the termini plaza, or in front of the post office. This was perfect location being literally less than a block from the train station and only about 3 blocks from the Circumvesuviana that will take you to stops for climbing Mt. Vesuvius and exploring the ruins of Pompeii. The hotel is also about a 15-20 minute walk from the harbor where you can take a hydrofoil or ferry to different locations along amalfi, capri, etc. We used the hydrofoils twice, once to Sorrento(15-16 euros), and the second to Capri (about 34 euros), which was probably our favorite place in all of Italy. Otherwise, we were outside beyond dark walking around and didn't have a problem. People won't bother you, and we didn't have a single bum ask us for money. You might see a homeless person here or there but it's nothing as terrible as i've read in some of these posts. We were hassled 100 times more in Rome. If you're from the States and have been to places such as Chicago, New York, etc. you shouldn't be in any culture shock. You will see trash here and there on the side of the street, and so it's not one of the cleanest cities, which should be known due to the Naple's Bay reputation for being polluted. But the city is full of energy and fun. There's a store on the opposite side of the plaza that sells beer, water, liqour for relatively cheap prices. We bought Peroni and some limoncello there one night to unwind at the hotel. Otherwise there's plenty of resturants around if you want a sit down meal. Just don't be afraid to get out and do stuff or be paranoid someone is going to do something to you.

  • Liked — Central Location
  • Disliked — Bigger breakfast?
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank USTraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2008

Hotel was fine - staff friendly and helpful. The room was average but quite clean - air con worked and towels were changed every day.
Room was a bit noisy due to people shouting in the street and ours was next door to the cleaning store room so got woken up early every day by the cleaners banging doors and generally being quite loud. Breakfast was ok but slightly limited on choice.
Outside hotel is a very different matter - awful area with beggars, rubbish, prostitutes and really quite scary people hanging about although as I soon realised this is a reflection of Naples as a whole.
Hotel has good location however for getting around by train.

  • Liked — centrally located
  • Disliked — awful area
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelnicGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2008

The hotel is situated near the main railway station which is a very sleazy and unsafe area. To get anywhere you had to go past loads of street sellers and people just generally hanging around. Didn't really look round the area as it was too rough. Found a nice pizzeria at the top of the street and a nice supermarket.

The hotel did not live up to the promise on its website. The room we were in was long and narrow, with plain decor and virtually no room to move. It was very disappointing and certainly not worth the price displayed on the wall. The view was of the block of flats opposite.
The bathroom was the best thing about the room - nice and spacious, with a good shower and nice mosaic tiles. The room and hotel were extremely clean.

The breakfast was plentiful and generally OK. Nice yoghurt and croissants. The bread was very stale and the coffee tasted burnt. The service was very patchy. If you kept away from the bread and ate the other food it was a good breakfast.

The restaurant only had a set 3 course meal when we stayed. The food was good but the place lacked atmosphere. We only bothered to eat there once.

The great thing was the closeness to the bus and railway stations. We had some great trips by train.

Wouldn't want to visit either Naples or the hotel again.

  • Liked — Very clean
  • Disliked — The size of the room
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank clbcz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2008

Booked in desperation that this was the only Hotel in Naples we found with half decent reviews for a good price.

The hotel is clean, the aircon in the room works nicely, it was cleaned every day we were there. It is very safe and secure once inside.

When we arrived however we had to wait ages for the room, despite the fact it was well past the check in time, because it was yet to be cleaned. "they will get to it sometime". The staff were very rude, despite it being very hot didn't offer a glass of water. The next day a different member of staff was on reception and much nicer.

Breakfast was ok, the usual italian sweet stuff, so don't go expecting bacon eggs etc!! There was not a huge amount of choice when a coach party was not in. The orange juice tasted terrible and the bread was stale on a couple of days we were there.

Overall however we will try and stay here again on a return trip to naples. It is not a city for everyone but once you get over the bagdad esque garibaldi sq, and avid the "old town" in the main, it is just one of the best places in the world. The food is to die for, many of the people we met friendly and helpful.

  • Liked — safe, cool and clean, close to the station and bus station but the road not dody like the square!!
  • Disliked — surley staff at the start created a very bad vibe
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gmfromnearlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duffield, England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2008

Stayed here 17/9/07 for one night. Room 210. Paid 85 Euro prpn B&B. Booked through Venere.

Located just a few minutes walk from the main railway station, ideal for us as this was just a quick stop during travelling, and not as run down as one might expect from a station area.

A standard hotel with good facilities, but nothing memorable, suitable for our purpose. Arrived at 9.00 pm and we were able to eat in the hotel restaurant, which avoided needing to go out late. Good buffet breakfast, included, started at 7.00 which is convenient for an early start to visit Pompeii / Herculaneum / Vesuvius.

You need a few days to see Naples, and another day for Vesuvius and Herculaneum, and another full day for Pompeii. Early starts are useful for these out of city locations, all are easily accessible on the Circumvesuviana railway, but note that for the past two years Pompeii has often opened a few hours late due to ‘staff meetings’. We used Donna Regina as more interesting accommodation when staying longer a week later.

  • Liked — Convenient for railway station
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Martin_from_Duffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2007

There are some very mixed reviews on this website about the service, rooms, location, etc.
Basically, it is OK. Nothing more nothing less. The location is great if you are arriving/departing by train but the area is very seedy (but then again most areas of Naples are pretty seedy). There are many prostitutes around the station but none directly outside of the hotel itself. I did see a man lying unconscious on the road with a needle hanging out of his arm only one block from this place.
Rooms are OK, not the cleanest but certainly not dirty. Although I did ask for a non-smoking room but the room we got stunk of cigarette smoke. We asked to be moved but they said the hotel was full (judging by the number of people at breakfast the next day it certainly wasn't full). The staff were rude and unhelpful in all respects.
There must be better options in Naples.

PHIL

  • Liked — Near to the station
  • Disliked — Everything else especially the rude staff and smelly room
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank bigboroboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Hotel Europeo & Flowers
#46 of 186 in Naples
886 reviews
Fuorigrotta
Best Western JFK Hotel
Best Western JFK Hotel
#21 of 186 in Naples
559 reviews
Mercato
ibis Styles Napoli Garibaldi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fuorigrotta
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#5 of 186 in Naples
1,046 reviews
Hotel Tiempo
#41 of 186 in Naples
610 reviews
Best Western Hotel Plaza
#53 of 186 in Naples
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Europa

Property: Grand Hotel Europa
Address: Corso meridionale 14, 80143, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Europa 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Europa is in an elegant nineteenth century building, just a few hundred metres from Garibaldi train station and Naples historical city center; ideal location from which to explore the city and reach all the major museums and monuments on foot in only a few minutes. Offers all the services of a superior three star hotel with 84 rooms and suites, a restaurant, a bar, a theater and several meeting rooms. The sandard or superior rooms are spacious and are equipped with thoughtful amenities to make your stay comfortable, including air conditioning and heating, satellite television, hairdryer, telephone, safe, Wi-Fi, non-smoking rooms. Are spacious and have those services necessary to make your stay comfortable, such as air conditioning and heating, satellite TV, hairdryer, telephone, safe, Wi-Fi, non-smoking rooms. Its central location is ideal for exploring the many attractions of one of the most beautiful Italian cities of art! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing