We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value, convenient location, very friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Garibaldi Naples
Ranked #71 of 185 Hotels in Naples
Reviewed 17 February 2014

close to main railway station and airport bus stop. Hotel is very clean and reasonably quiet for the location. Staff looked after us when our wallet was stolen and helped us with reporting to the police, etc. Room was very spacious, bathroom was spotless although shower door was very tight!! Would go back if we were in Naples again.

Room Tip: room 101 is large and looks out on to the street - can be noisy room 107 is smaller and quieter at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank HelenH1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 425 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

We booked the Hotel Garibaldi pretty much based on location as we were on a very brief visit to Naples, arriving midday and leaving the following afternoon.
We arranged all the bookings via email and had very prompt and clear replies from Vincenzo Giacobbe.
The hotel is located about 5 minutes walk from the main railway station, Napoli Centrale. It's best to walk along the southern side of the main plaza (left hand side as you exit) as it's a quicker route. If you have a bag with wheels then you'll certainly notice the textured pavement. Certainly don't bother with a cab.
Getting to the hotel you walk past lots of street vendors and the place is pretty busy. Don't be put off by other people writing about how seedy the area is - frankly there is just a lot of street-based commerce which puts some people off. Sure there can be some banter but the vendors are just trying to make some cash. Outside the Garibaldi there is a big street market so don't be shocked when you see it. We actually got a great deal on an iPhone charger and the seller was extremely helpful on some other stuff we wanted. After about 6.00pm most of the sellers have packed up for the day but there is a fair bit of activity regardless. Notwithstanding this, by all accounts it would still be prudent to not hang around the area alone later at night.
Our room was clean, beds were comfy and the water was hot. TV in English is somewhat limited but there are loads of Italian channels which make for interesting viewing. Internet was available. Our room on the second floor had a balcony which gave great views at night over the main plaza and the following morning we had a bird's eye view of the traders setting up for the day. Despite having a balcony, the street noise was minimal as the windows were double-glazed. As there were 4 in our group, me, my wife and two sons (14 & 17), we asked for a big room. Four beds had been set up in the room and while on one hand it was a bit tight, on the other hand it was also good fun as it's nothing we normally do.
Once we arrived, Vincent gave us good advice on where to go and what to see in the old town. It's amazing what you can see in one afternoon. Our tip is to just walk everywhere - the things you'll see! We walked for miles, had lunch near the Duomo, caught the funicular up the hill, walked down via the castle, through the Galleria Umberto then caught the R2 bus back to the train station (the bus leaves from the southern wing of the Galleria on Via San Carlo - buy a ticket before boarding!).
Back to the Hotel Garibaldi, two tell-tale things would make us recommend the place:
1. We went out to dinner at a near-by restaurant recommended by Vincent called La Cantina Dei Mille. It served good food at a very reasonable price but unfortunately I left my credit card there unwittingly. Thankfully I'd had a chat with the waiters about where we were staying as next morning, Carmine who was on duty, told me what I had done and that the restaurant had called just before midnight to advise the card was in safe keeping and ready for collection. How's that for going the extra mile?
2. Next day we wanted to go to Pompeii. Carmine said he could arrange a car to take us. The price was very competitive when compared to other offers I'd seen but when I said I wasn't too sure how long we'd be he said perhaps we'd be better off on the train as it would give us more flexibility. No hard sell, just understanding what would work for us. They also looked after our bags while we went to Pompeii and returned about 4.00pm.
So, in summary, the hotel is fine, the location is very handy and the guys who work there are really dependable.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrew_Sutherland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We had an overnight stay in Naples - Hotel Garibaldi was perfect. Great location close to the train station, clean, reasonably quiet for a central location. There were three of us so they put an extra bed into the room - it was tight but we managed just fine.

A good choice.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank vjgleduc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

So, Napoli was far and away our least favourite city on our trip. However, the hotel was conveniently located near the train station, staff looked after us when needed. Room was spacious and clean. Would go back if we were in Napoli in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We chose this hotel because of its convenient proximity to the train station. We had heard the neighborhood wasn't great around the station, and that is correct. While we felt safe inside the hotel, which was clean with helpful staff, a very crowded sketchy "market" crammed the street leading up to the hotel, which made for difficult navigation with luggage.
We stayed there only one night, after a day in Pompeii, and one night was enough. The room itself was a bit cramped, but the bathroom had been newly renovated. No elevator, so if you have heavy luggage, you'll have to lug it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GregNYC212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The hotel is conveniently situated 5-10 minutes walk from the railway station, the underground, the airport bus stop, and the Circumvesuviana station. There is a grocery store very close to the hotel, and a number of really good restaurants next to Piazza Garibaldi. There's also several pizzerias 10 mins walk away, off Corso Umberto. I really enjoyed my stay at the hotel - the rooms were clean and spacious, included an ensuite shower, air conditioning worked, could sleep easily because there was no noise in the evening from outside - the road is shut to traffic. The morning market outside the hotel sold bags, watches, shoes, etc and gave a nice buzz to the area. The hotel provides all the basic essentials, is affordable, and the family who run it are very nice. I stayed one week and would definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank solotraveller327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Room was a bit old fashioned but quiet and clean. Hotel does not have a very good location. We were advised not to walk in adjacent streets in the night time. Breakfast was merely adequate with little choice and served up in a tiny room. Staff were all very polite and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crirvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Mercato
ibis Styles Napoli Garibaldi
B&B Hotel Napoli
#45 of 185 in Naples
258 reviews
Hotel CineHoliday
#67 of 185 in Naples
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Hotel Plaza
#61 of 185 in Naples
955 reviews
Mercato
Orsa Maggiore Hotel
Orsa Maggiore Hotel
#98 of 185 in Naples
165 reviews
Mercato
Hotel San Pietro
Hotel San Pietro
#11 of 185 in Naples
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garibaldi Naples? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garibaldi Naples

Address: Via Pasquale Stanislao Mancini, 11, 80142, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 185 Hotels in Naples
Price Range: £51 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garibaldi Naples 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three Star Hotel Garibaldi is strategically positioned in Naples City Centre: It is located at ashort distance from Naples Central Train Station – Piazza Garibaldi, starting point to discover thebeauties of Campania Region, and placed at a few steps from the ancient historical centre enrichedby churches, world famous museums and monuments; the proximity to Maritime Station, able to reach within five minutes thanks to the accessibility to the main means of transportation, allows easy access to the main islands of the Gulf. Central location is a basic feature that makes Hotel Garibaldian ideal place for leisure or business purposes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Garibaldi Naples reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing