We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The room was ok, but nothing else was!”
Review of Guiren

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Guiren
Ranked #148 of 186 Hotels in Naples
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The room was ok, but nothing else was!”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We spent 3 night in the hotel, the room itself (no. 138) was ok, but not very clean and there were marks on the walls, furniture and there was a lingering smell since seemingly you can smoke anywhere in the hotel. The fridge did not work (and they gave us some rubbish excuse for it). The bed is nice and big, the windows keep the noise and the light out quite well, but the wifi (as others mentioned it too) only works in the communal area (which is a sofa and a vending machine).

Breakfast was poor, very limited choice and not much else. Coffee ok, items were fresh but not very inspiring start to a day, not something worth getting up for early...

The streets aroung the hotel are very dodgy, lots of illegal african street sellers who sell you fake everything and because the central station is near you get all sorts of beggars and other people bothering you for something. Not safe at all.

Our biggest problem was that when we left we checked out and left the luggage behind the reception as our flight was in the evening thinking it would be safe there. Turned out if wasn't, because when we reached the airport later, our passports were missing from a bag. I know we should not have left the documents in there, but who would think it goes missing from a hotel reception. We will never know who took them, as lot of people go in and out of the hotel, even the receptionist can sell them easily... Because of this we had to stay another night in Naples in another hotel as we could not leave the country, go to Rome to get a temporary passport from the embassy and all this came at a massive cost.

My advice: if you decide to stay here, do not trust anyone!!
If you can, just avoid the whole central station area at all, there are much nicer places at equally cheap prices, like around Via Toledo.

Room Tip: There are plenty of good rooms in other hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank csillagkola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    38
    41
    18
    34
See reviews for
34
53
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pulborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 December 2013

The hotel is nice very basic, but for the money you can't complain, some of the rooms have been refurbished which is great, staff friendly and hotel was clean. If you need a taxi or a tour round the best bits of Naples call a guy called Mario, he is a lovely elderly gentleman with a Mercedes car, he will drive you anywhere, he's really reasonably priced and knows Naples very well, he even does airport runs. He's took us to Pompei for the morning. Italy (Naples) is a must!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Nice room, great staff and good service for the guest.Have stayed in the Hotel for 8 days.
The rooms are a bit small but charming
Breakfast is good but not rich. The hotel is located close to the Central Railway Station and in some criminal part of the city :)

Room Tip: The rooms are a bit small but charming.The hotel is located close to the Central Railway Station and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelroland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We were not expecting a great deal from this hotel, partly because of the price and partly because of some of the negative reviews on this site. However, we were very pleasantly surprised. The rooms are spacious and the beds comfortable. The staff were extremely helpful and pleasant. The hotel is small but they try really hard. The breakfast choice is limited but the food is fresh and of good quality. The coffee was the best I have ever had in any hotel!

The location was perfect for us; so close to the station for getting out to Pompei and Versuvius, with a small supermarket around the corner for buying picnic lunches and an unpretentious family-run restaurant just on the next street for when we did not want to walk into the old town for supper. Yes, there was street noise but what do you expect when you are right in the middle of a busy city? The area is also quite run down and there is rubbish on the street, but everyone was pleasant and the African population in particular were helpful and spoke good English.

If you are comfortable in big multi-cultural cities, this is a great place to stay. Excellent value and perfectly placed for exploring the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Oglandia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

I was in Guiren Hotel via by my Turkish Travel Agency PRONTO TOUR within the days of 29th March till to 1 st April 2013. Very bad location of Naples. Very dirty rooms. I stayed with the dirt of before me. No elavator. The breakfast may take only 1 star from me. I advice no one to stay in Guiren Hotel. Says that 3 star hotel dont believe and BEWARE OF......
HULYA DAGLI-ISTANBUL/TURKEY

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hulyadagli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Naples hotels

piemonte
Level Contributor
190 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Next to central station and piazza Garibaldi, the hotel is clean, rom are confortable, bathroom large. Poor breakfast, but cheap. staff kind and helpful. Recommended to visit Naples. I don't agree: not dangerous area.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marycri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We stayed at Guiren hotel from 29th of September till 3rd of October 2012.
We had booked Hotel de Ville for this period but because there had problems we electricity at the time, they accommodated us to Guiren, a hotel that is part of the same chain.
The hotel was located near the Stazione Centrale, an dubious area but in spite of this appearance nobody bothered us, not even late at night.
Staff here was very polite and friendly. Our room, 128, was OK: clean, with a decent bath and furniture. However, the bad squeaked terribly, to the point that we woke up during the night because of the sound. The lightening was very poor, not to bright. At first, we had problems in making the TV work on other channels than RAI 1 and anyway, there were only Italian channels (no Euronews for instance). We also needed support to make the air conditioning work as there was not an appropriate remote control and we had to turn it on/off manually by climbing the bed.
The breakfast was served as buffet and only the drink and one delicious croissant was brought by the waiter. We could choose from a rather poor variety of items: boiled eggs, one type of cheese and cold meat, yoghourt, 2 types of cereals, juice, honey, jam, butter, fresh fruits, pie and 2 or 3 types of bread.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cornelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nuovo Rebecchino
Hotel Nuovo Rebecchino
#114 of 186 in Naples
327 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Suite Esedra
Hotel Suite Esedra
#138 of 186 in Naples
165 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garden Napoli
Hotel Garden Napoli
#142 of 186 in Naples
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Europa
Grand Hotel Europa
#49 of 186 in Naples
1,175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ideal
Hotel Ideal
#146 of 186 in Naples
650 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ginevra
Hotel Ginevra
#141 of 186 in Naples
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guiren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guiren

Property: Guiren
Address: Via Bologna 114, 80142, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Guiren 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Guiren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guiren Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing