We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst hotel in the world!”
Review of Hotel Ideal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Ideal
Ranked #142 of 186 Hotels in Naples
london
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The worst hotel in the world!”
Reviewed 7 June 2011

We stayed here for 8 hours only as we needed a room in Naples while we waited for an early morning flight. I now wished we had just gone and sat through the night at the airport. The reception was extremely shabby, no lift and the carpeted stairs were threadbare and filthy. There were bizarre orange, redand purple chiffon curtains all the way through the rabbit-warren type corridors which gave the hotel a totally sleazy and seedy feel. As I was staying here with 2 young children I was extremely uncomfortable and felt unsafe. I did not sleep all night. I covered the bed with towels as it was not clean enough for my children to lie down on, and I sat and flicked through Italian TV all night. I do not recommend this hotel at all, in fact I don't recommend visiting Naples at all if you can help it as the whole place is a building site/dumping ground.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clairecopeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    149
    238
    104
    134
See reviews for
112
266
42
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

the hotel is ok, the position is very good, near the train station..so if you need the train, or bus, then it's perefct. The area is very dirty, so if you don't need the transport near you, then it's better to choose a hotel near the seaside..

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxana023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2011

We stayed in Naples as a gateway to Sorrento so wanted something cheap and easy and we got it! The Hotel Ideal is on the Piazza Garibaldi (a very unpleasant area but near the train station). It is extremely affordable, has a great little bar, free wifi and is next door to a small charming restaurant. (Down the street is an even better one!) We stayed at Una Notel Napoli which is on the other side of the square on the first night and the Hotel Ideal on the last. There is no comparison. This is a very convenient, quaint and affordable hotel if you are using Naples as an arrival/departure gateway and not looking for something plush or romantic. However, the noise was a bit much if you get a room overlooking the street so ask for something on the other side of the hotel and you'll be happy!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exeter95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champaign, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2011

At first everything seems ok about this hotel, great location to the train terminal, ok facilities, recently remodeled rooms, but once you begin to try and sleep, its a totally different story. Having a hotel bar on the same floor and right below the next level of rooms causes issues at night in a budget hotel. Younger travels (students who used the hotel most while I was there) tended to be very loud in the bar and in their rooms at night. Furthermore, the walls and doors are paper thin and the noise just travels everywhere. I had an early morning international flight the next day, so that night's rest was the only one I was going to get for the next 36 hours. I asked the front desk staff twice to ask the offending parities to quite down, and twice he gave them my room number. So not only did they not respect the hotel staff and quite down, but they made noises right outside of my room to further "snub their nose" at the authority of hotel staff. Eventually I ended up threatening to check out and not pay, only then did hotel staff reinforce its efforts to quite down the offending party. By this time is was 2am so i dont know if it was the final efforts of the hotel staff or the offending party just got tired and feel asleep, but i final slept from 2am to around 6am. It short, not a pleasant flight back home, nor a pleasant stay at the Hotel Ideal.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank proctor81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Naples hotels

Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

We stayed here for two nights. Staff were so nice! Breakfast was not worth it so don't get it if isn't included. The noise from outside was loud, so not ideal if you want to sleep in. Shower was cold on day one, fine on day two. Roomy rooms and great proximity to train station for trips to Pompeii, etc.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrillGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2011

Arrived and found the entrance steps smashed in two, the reception area was scruffy and the staircase carpet filthy. All the surroundings needed a good clean and the room although relatively tidy was not large enough for two people to move around. The whole Hotel had a tired look and was certainly not a place to spend an enjoyable few days. We moved out immediately and I would advise anyone thinking of booking this Hotel to think again and find somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goneaway15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2011

Hotel Ideal was the first place we traveled within our tight budget that offered a clean, comfortable, and convenient room. Being right next to the train station, it was great to wonder right over without having to walk too far. The staff was friendly, the beds were clean, and the balcony view offered a nice view of Naples street life. Breakfast was minimal in the morning, but did the trick.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OLVpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
B&B Hotel Napoli
#42 of 186 in Naples
231 reviews
Grand Hotel Europa
#52 of 186 in Naples
1,217 reviews
Hotel CineHoliday
#65 of 186 in Naples
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercato
ibis Styles Napoli Garibaldi
Hotel Zara
#85 of 186 in Naples
370 reviews
Hotel Nuovo Rebecchino
#119 of 186 in Naples
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ideal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ideal

Property: Hotel Ideal
Address: Piazza Giuseppe Garibaldi 99, 80142, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ideal 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel with multilingual staff and modern amenities is situated 2 km from Capodichino NAP airport and 1 km from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Ideal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ideal Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing