We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel but not the best area” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ideal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Ideal
Ranked #144 of 189 Hotels in Naples
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good hotel but not the best area”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

I liked almost everything. We stayed in room 68 and is a very nice room. We was lucky because, even the Garibaldi Square was under construction, the works were stopped because it was weekend. In addition, on the fences were installed many lights, so the night wasn't tramps near to our street.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IoanaVDoftanei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    141
    223
    99
    124
See reviews for
105
249
41
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

Located literally 2min walk from the entrance to the Garibaldi train Station, on the left hand side of Piazza Garibaldi as you exit, in a very convenient location for bus and metro services.

The Hotel has pleasant and helpful staff with excellent English. For those travelling with large suitcases or a small mountain of luggage however be warned, there is no lift and the stairs and corridors are quite narrow.

The rooms are functional, if a little bit tired but spotlessly clean. My room (56) had a double bed, bedside tables, tiny wardrobe, en-suite shower/toilet, A/C (quiet), small T.V. (Italian channels only) and a balcony. The room itself was very small with the double bed and I found it difficult to manoeuvre around even with just the one backpack, but I though this a fair trade for the balcony.

Many of the other rooms on this floor are significantly larger (especially the twin-rooms) but many do not have balconies.

There is serious construction work ongoing in the Piazza with the extensions to the Metro system, but due either to the double glazing on the windows, or the fact that I was to the rear of the hotel, I couldn't hear a thing within the room itself.

A free breakfast is provided but I only had coffee so can't comment to its quality but there seemed to be quite a range of things to choose from. There is also a bar available from 7pm onwards.

WIFI is available for free, simply ask reception for the password. The area in which it can actually be accessed however is severely limited, only in the bar or the common area (where breakfast is served on a morning) across the hall located on the first floor. Yet it is free, reliable and fast.

The area surrounding the station is a little gritty, and you will probably be approached by the local beggars for cigarettes or money but this is mainly directly in front of the station entrances. I thought this was offset by the fact that you are only a minute away from the bus/train/metro connections that can take you anywhere within Napoli and its surrounds.

I had a pleasant stay here and thought it reasonable value for money, but it was the staff who went out of their way to help me that impressed me the most.

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage ask the staff when booking for one of the larger rooms because many are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philberito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

We stayed at Hotel Ideal in Naples for 1 night, which was the starting point of our whirlwind trip through Italy and Europe. We planned to sleep there, and then see Pompeii the next day before catching a train to Rome. We had no plans to see Naples, and I chose it because of the location (1 block from, and easy access to, the train station), price, and negative reviews that were based more on 1) the hotel decor and 2) the dirty location (most of Naples is pretty dirty), and few actual negative hotel service issues. The room was very small, clean, the A/C worked well and had a very small bath en suite. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and all spoke English very well. Breakfast was simple but sufficient, and there were several restaurants nearby to choose from. The area around the hotel looked to have been under construction for some time, and likely to be that way for a while. If you plan to see Naples itself and want more than just an economical, convenient place to sleep, you should probably consider another hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasDoug1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Naples hotels

Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

The only advantage this place has is that it is very close to train station.
we reached a bit early around 11 am, so we requested if we could get a room earlier. they were reluctant to help. then they provided us a really cramped room on 2nd floor .even that was not ready, took nearly 40 -45 mins to get that ready. The room was really small but we thought its better to adjust as waiting for other room would take more time which we could use for seeing naples.
No body to help with luggage as they didn't had lift so me & my wife had to lift our luggage 2 floors over small stairs.

the rooms had A/C and they provided WIFI for free in a common room.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rishabhnitc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

The hotel is near to Stazione Centrale and to Circumvesuviana station and it is easy to find it. From the hotel you can walk to Historic center (it is about 15-20 minutes). The room was clean, nice decorated, the stuff was friendly. The breakfast was a little poor, but the coffee was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank l_i_v_i_a_0_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

We stayed here for 8 hours only as we needed a room in Naples while we waited for an early morning flight. I now wished we had just gone and sat through the night at the airport. The reception was extremely shabby, no lift and the carpeted stairs were threadbare and filthy. There were bizarre orange, redand purple chiffon curtains all the way through the rabbit-warren type corridors which gave the hotel a totally sleazy and seedy feel. As I was staying here with 2 young children I was extremely uncomfortable and felt unsafe. I did not sleep all night. I covered the bed with towels as it was not clean enough for my children to lie down on, and I sat and flicked through Italian TV all night. I do not recommend this hotel at all, in fact I don't recommend visiting Naples at all if you can help it as the whole place is a building site/dumping ground.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clairecopeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2011

the hotel is ok, the position is very good, near the train station..so if you need the train, or bus, then it's perefct. The area is very dirty, so if you don't need the transport near you, then it's better to choose a hotel near the seaside..

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxana023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Grand Hotel Europa
#47 of 189 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
B&B Hotel Napoli
#50 of 189 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Hotel Zara
#81 of 189 in Naples
3.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Europeo & Flowers
#45 of 189 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Hotel Nuovo Rebecchino
#107 of 189 in Naples
3.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Mercato
ibis Styles Napoli Garibaldi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ideal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ideal

Property: Hotel Ideal
Address: Piazza Giuseppe Garibaldi 99, 80142, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 189 Hotels in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ideal 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel with multilingual staff and modern amenities is situated 2 km from Capodichino NAP airport and 1 km from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Ideal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ideal Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing