We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not in any way ideal”
Review of Hotel Ideal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ideal
Ranked #135 of 185 Hotels in Naples
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

The only good things about this hotel is that it's right by the train station and they provide a free breakfast with pretty good coffee. Besides that, nothing about this hotel is in any way ideal. The air conditioning in the room did not work. I told them that at the front desk, and their explanation was that it didn't work not only in our room but in any room of the hotel. The bed sheets were filthy- yellow and red stains, with many hairs. Thankfully my husband and I had our sleep sacks with us so we didn't have to touch the sheets. The TV didn't work, and the water in the shower fluctuated between hot and cold. The eggs at breakfast were cold. Internet only works in the common rooms; however, a small bonus was that our room was close enough to one of the common rooms that we could actually connect to the Internet in our room.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank nfcrotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (708)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

138 - 144 of 708 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2013

A great place to stay with perfect location (close to public transport and regional train network as well as the city centre), very nice staff, simple but comfortable and clean rooms and continental breakfast which is hard to find in Napoli, and generally in Italy.
Overall it offers a very good price/value ratio for those planning to spend a longer weekend in the city on a low/mid-level budget.

Only one minus: currently, there is a construction on Piazza Garibaldi, so it can be a bit noisy during the morning and evening, but not always...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva-H678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

There were hairs on the bedsheets. V unclean hotel. No safe to store valuables. Shower took over 5 mins to produce hot water. The sink tap only has cold water. The day receptionist is very rude. There is major construction work going on opposite the hotel - v noisy, don't expect to sleep. The hotel is very close to the train station the area is a dump and we felt unsafe. The room has a very small window. The rooms do not have AC or a fan therefore it gets very hot. overall not worth staying at this dirty hotel.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank rp198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Due to the very low price I did not expect much from this hotel but needed it only for an overnight stay after the flight. I was very pleasantly surprised. Together with my sister and two little kids we hat a spacious 4-bed-room and when we came back for another two nights we even had a little terrazza to the inside patio. The stuff (Maritta?! and others) where extremely friendly and helpfull with all needs (Taxi, Excursion, etc.). The rooms were clean and nice and everything went without problems. The breakfast buffet had all you needed (which is not usual in Italy!) and in the eveninig there was a little bar inside the Hotel. It is siutated perfectly for a city-trip to Naples, just a few metres from the central station, the bus station to the airport and also other bus-stations e. g. to go to the Amalfi-coast. Also there are a lot of nice restaurants and shops nearby and most city-attractions can be reched by foot. I plan to go back there!

Room Tip: The roomes on the backside are more quiet, to the street (the huge Piazza Garibaldi) it is of course...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suraMittersill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The staff was helpful and friendly.
The room was nice and clean.
The hotel is near the Central Train Station (about 300m).
Breakfast was served in the basement of the hotel and was not tasty.
The price was really low and the standard of a hotel was good for Naples conditions.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wioleta T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed one night while traveling through Italy. The room was a quadruple, a double bed plus two singles, which was good as we were with our kids. The sheets were clean and the room was too. I would have preferred that the curtains closed, as our room was right by the lit up hotel sign, which was very bright. There were lots of gauzy fancy drapes but they could have saved the money and spent it on a good blackout blind! The location is excellent if you are just passing through Naples, right by the station, but if you are visiting for a few days it would be better to find one a little further from the station and the square, as the traffic can get very noisy. The bathroom was basic but the basin blocked up a few times. The worst thing about this hotel was the breakfast, served in a poky and claustrophobic basement room. Everything was the cheapest possible, the coffee was terrible, the chopped tomatoes tasted of ham, which was nasty as we're vegetarian, we had to ask for some items which were not there and we had plastic knives. Reception was helpful and recommended places to eat but this hotel is very close to some scary streets where you don't feel very safe, so be careful which direction you take when coming out of the hotel.

Room Tip: The front can be very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sausage19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This hotel has one big plus: Location. Situated on the central square (filled with restaurants), next to the central station it's the perfect place to get to know this amazing city.

It's not the most luxurious hotel (water pressure is a bit low, so is the drainage, and some other minor issues that belong to a 3-star hotel), but it's definately worth the money (about 30 Euro's a night). Our airconditioner worked just fine.The breakfast is basic, yet adequate. The beds are OK.

The service is great, the receptionists speak English adequately, are willing to show you the highlights of Napoli and give you directions. They are really friendly (especially Margherita)

Again, keep in mind what you're paying, adjust your expectations. Don't come if you want a 5-star luxury hotel, but do consider this when you want to explore Naples and need a good starting point.

Greetings From Holland!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurens B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Grand Hotel Europa
#52 of 185 in Naples
1,305 reviews
B&B Hotel Napoli
#41 of 185 in Naples
301 reviews
Hotel Nuovo Rebecchino
#103 of 185 in Naples
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fuorigrotta
Best Western JFK Hotel
Best Western JFK Hotel
#14 of 185 in Naples
724 reviews
Mercato
ibis Styles Napoli Garibaldi
Hotel CineHoliday
#64 of 185 in Naples
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ideal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ideal

Address: Piazza Giuseppe Garibaldi 99, 80142, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 185 Hotels in Naples
Price Range: £41 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ideal 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel with multilingual staff and modern amenities is situated 2 km from Capodichino NAP airport and 1 km from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Ideal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ideal Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing