We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and price !”
Review of Hotel Ideal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ideal
Ranked #140 of 185 Hotels in Naples
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one only night. It's situated at Garibaldi square, next to the central train station of Napoli. I had read many negative reviews for the location, so I was a little bit anxious.
Nevertheless, I did feel no threat ! I chose the hotel for its location and price. The room(a triple one) was clean and spacious. The staff was polite and the breakfast was simple but sufficient!
The wi-fi was free only in the reading room and in the reception area.
In general, I am very satisfied, thinking of the combination of the facilities and price, so If I go again to Napoli this hotel will be my first option.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Athanasi0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (671)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Ideal
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

122 - 128 of 671 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014

Certainly not a luxury hotel, so don't expect an awful lot more than you pay for in terms of room fittings etc, but a fantastic friendly place with lovely, jolly, helpful staff.

Breakfasts were very basic but fun, so long as your expectations aren't too high! A good coffee and plenty of toast sets you up nicely to explore the city. Reception was open 24 hours and we were always greeted very pleasantly, no matter what time of night we arrived home. The bar was very sweet too!

The location was perfect, within walking distance to everything we needed within Naples.

We will most certainly be returning to hotel ideal, and feel that every penny was worth it! Thankyou very much to the dedicated staff who made our stay so lovely.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hevigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Room is comfortable, shower cabin is good, comfortable bed., wifi room. one small minus the breakfast finished before when the time for breakfast past. You need wake up early if you want to have breakfast bc they do not add in during breakfast. First time we came for breakfast 30 min before it finished. there were apples and butter. Good price of course. Naples is good just for pizza, Sorrento and shopping (price there less then anywhere in Italy) but in general we did not like Naples.. people a bit more friendly then in Rome but they almost do not speak english.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olga496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

This is an old style bed and breakfast that is currently undergoing a renovation which is badly needed. It has the typical European central spiral staircase and no lift. It may be ok for you but I doubt most people will like it and most will not endure it unless it is really cheap. The key factor is location. You can see the hotel from the corner of the train station and it is as they say; a two minute walk.

The good things were:
- location;
- the room was a reasonable size and clean;
- double glazing kept the noise down from outside (very important in Napoli); and
- friendly staff.


Other things to note are:
- our room had a musty smell we could not get rid of;
- the breakfast is very basic and for us on level two a 3 story traipse up and down each morning;
- the internet is only available in the foyer and the 'reading room'. This was incredibly inconvenient as we had to go down one flight of stairs to get the internet.
- the shower used a curtain that didn't quite fit and meant the floor was constantly wet.
- our room was moldy and not in a way that could be cleaned but rather in a way that it need substantial plaster repairs (which admittedly had been carried out partially at some stage.)
- heating. As is common in some smaller European hotels the heater was turned off at night and in the day. This was not appreciated in the middle of winter!
- we had a single blanket that was razor thin and provided us little warmth.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lex_loci_david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Old hotel - will get a refurb. Great location - 2 min walk from the train station. Excellent service. Bed was clean and the shower hot. Stayed in Dec 2013. Helpful staff. I would like to wish Nicola good luck with the work he intends to do to the hotel.

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramona I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Location - excellent, 2 minute walk from the train station.
Service - excellent, fast service when we requested adjustment to our room heating. 24 hour reception.
Accommodation - quad room for family, clean, comfortable, quiet. In-room safe, small ensuite. No English language TV stations. No tea/coffee/kettle in rooms.
Eating - Breakfast included in the price, small selection but ample. Small bar/eatery in house, small section, reasonable prices.
Wi-fi - free in lobby and reading room, not available in rooms
Summary - Old hotel, but perfectly adequate for short or long stay

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wallaby6996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Pros
Can't think of any, maybe the location

Cons
Dirty, ceiling had whole and a white material taped over it
Clueless staff
Internet in common areas only

In more words: the filth was awful. At least it was cleaner than the city itself as we visited whilst the whole garbage thing was going on in the city. I kid you not the ceiling had holes in it which was "fixed" by putting some material over it in a more or less matching colour. The walls were also in an iffy condition. The bathroom flooded every time you took a shower.

We have asked the receptionist where the bus to the Vesuvius stops, he had no idea. We asked where the bus to the airport stops, he had no idea.

But hey, at least the aircon was working.

I have indicated July 2013 as the travel date but this happened in 2011. Only found Tripadvisor now unfortunately :(

Room Tip: The best room would be one that is not in this hotel
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krisztii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Mercato
ibis Styles Napoli Garibaldi
B&B Hotel Napoli
#47 of 185 in Naples
247 reviews
Hotel CineHoliday
#65 of 185 in Naples
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Nuovo Rebecchino
#117 of 185 in Naples
342 reviews
Mercato
Orsa Maggiore Hotel
Orsa Maggiore Hotel
#94 of 185 in Naples
162 reviews
Grand Hotel Europa
#54 of 185 in Naples
1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ideal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ideal

Address: Piazza Giuseppe Garibaldi 99, 80142, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 185 Hotels in Naples
Price Range: £41 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ideal 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel with multilingual staff and modern amenities is situated 2 km from Capodichino NAP airport and 1 km from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ideal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ideal Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing