We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Speak as you find!!! (long review but read it all)” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Nuovo Rebecchino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Nuovo Rebecchino
Ranked #107 of 189 Hotels in Naples
Kent England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Speak as you find!!! (long review but read it all)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

I asked Dialaflight for 3* budget accommodation with b'fast & near to public transport as not enough for taxis with our budget. We travelled Venice, Florence, Rome & Naples in that order. We had been ill before leaving for Italy and had overlooked reading reviews for the Naples section. The day before we were due to leave we read reviews of Hotel Cavour as that is where our original booking was for. We were a bit scared after having read the reviews about this hotel and location. However at least we were prepared to be shocked and thought we only had 3 nights there.
However when we got to Hotel Cavour they told us they had to book us into their sister hotel Nuovo Rebecchino just around the corner. (some problem with water in the Cavour on the floor that we were booked into) I think it may have been a case of overbooking as we had seen so many students coming out of there one day...........maybe it worked in our advantage that they put us in their sister hotel,
We were pleasantly surprised to find our room very clean with all we needed for our 3 nights. A window although not a pleasant view but still a window. The cleaning lady was lovely. Our room was lovely. The elderly gentleman on the front desk nice and helpful when we asked for advice.
I loved the fact that this was our only hotel that had wi fi in our room as I think it is an essential thing to have on holiday in this age of technology as it is needed.

This hotel has been a very grand hotel in its day and nothing wrong with it that we could find as we ask for 3* budget. Out of all our hotels that we stayed in, in Venice, Florence and Rome. This was the ONLY hotel that we stayed in that DID NOT have a bad smell. Therefore we could not really find any fault at all as we got what we paid for.
The area in Piazza Garibaldi was undergoing reconstruction work and you pass by all the immigrants selling their bits and pieces but no times did we feel threatened or was pestered by them. We even went out on the first night around 9.30pm and was surprised to see how quiet it was. (maybe it was just that night or the time) but we then went back to hotel room.
We were there to get up early and sightsee in the day and we are a couple in our 60's so were not there for the night life. A younger couple we met told us they had been around that area later at night around midnight and said it looked bad but then that can be the case with other big cities with prostitution etc)
We did walk from the harbour region (about half hour walk) around 10.30pm and got back at 11pm) after a day in Capri and on the last ferry back.
We saw no trouble. This is why I title my heading as 'SPEAK AS YOU FIND" ........I can only tell you of what our 3 days were like.

On our last day travelling on public transport my husbands wallet was stolen.......we had left our luggage at the hotel and used the day to see a bit more of Naples. Wallet was stolen on a very very crowded bus......wallet was in the front pocket. Advice for travellers is to keep hand on wallet in your pocket when on crowded public transport. Awful for us as we had 2 hours to go to get to the airport for our flight home and it caused panic to get to police for to do a report etc and block cards and phone insurance company.

One of the staff in the hotel who was at b'fast (we had only seen him once) came with us to the police in Garibaldi station to help us.......he was finished work for the day but still took us to the police station. Very kind of him. Thanks again!!
I would have no qualms about going to Naples again as it is a great place to stay and then go to Sorrento, Capri and other islands and Pompei and Herculaneum. among other things. I did not get time with 3 days to see more of Naples and the subterranean tour that I wanted.
I hope this has been of help.
Naples is Naples with rubbish in the streets etc and lots of other things we saw but isn't that part of the interesting things to see when travelling .
My review is for Hotel Rebecchino Naples and we had no problems with it at all and would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Geoff r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    107
    86
    41
    36
See reviews for
63
113
31
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012 via mobile

Pros: close to train station. Safe in room actually works.

Cons: the local pick pockets live in the hotel.
The area is not safe at night for females, even females going out in groups.

The staff smokes just outside the lobby with the door wide open allowing the smoke to flow in.

Dirty ashtrays throughout the hotel and in the room though they have clear no smoking signs.

The toilet makes gurgling noises all day/night(this problem is in every room as I noticed after I upgraded)

Mold in every corner of the bathroom.

Blanket had stains. Sheets/towels had holes.

Receptionist at night is quite rude when I asked to upgrade my room.

Wifi is garbage and the password is so easy I assume the entire block knows it.

STAY AT THE BEAT WESTERN IF U MUST STAY IN THE AREA IT'S JUST A BLOCK UP THE STREET!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mini-boss88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Naples hotels

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

First of all, Naples is a disgusting city with almost no redeeming features. It honestly felt more like being in a third world country. We checked into this hotel, got up to the room, and found it old, unclean, and smelly, with the wallpaper peeling off the walls. The staff was nice, but we could not justify staying in this hotel or the city. So we immediately checked out. We unfortunately were stuck with the 18EUR bill for parking our car, but it didn't matter. We just wanted to be out of there. The location is dingy and seemingly dangerous. Huge piles of trash lining the streets and some seemingly threatening characters eyeing up and our luggage as we entered the building. Do yourself a favor: drive the extra hour southwest to Sorrento. You'll have a much nicer time and still be close enough to Pompei and the other sites.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Philly_traveller88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

Arriving in Naples can be a real shock and like most people we were just passing through.

The hotel is basic but generally clean and we found the staff to be very helpful. Most importantly we felt safe there - if you've visited the city, you'll know what I mean.....

Overall a decent budget choice near the station.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kendo1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

We booked this hotel so we could visit Pompeii the next day. It is located four to five blocks from the Train station, which is why we stayed there. Hotel is old and it shows it. It’s located in the more seedy part of town. Hotel and area not inviting whatsoever. Room appeared relatively, but we didn’t bother to check for bugs as it was a no-brainer that we would not be staying there. Don’t understand why it was rated a 3¼ star by Tripadvisor? Instead we located at a nicer hotel near the water and better location.
Do Not Recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Edward L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svendborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
86 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

This hotel was a lovely oasis in the heart of frenetic Napoli.
Naples itself was a bit of a shock so it was nice to retire to our own peaceful place.
We loved the older man manning the front desk he just oozed old world charm and was very helpful pointing out places on a map etc...
The front of the hotel is currently being refurbished so unfortunately we couldn't see outside during our stay but the room was very clean, spacious and comfortable.
Breakfast was a little lacking but we've found that all over Italy, unless you like pastry, donuts or croissants you'll be disappointed.
The only negative point (or plus depending on your view) is that this hotel is right around the corner to the train station which is notoriously full of very colorful people. Keep your bags close too you at all times!
I found I loved Naples but I couldn't stay there for a long time as the air pollution effected my eyes and lungs whenever I stepped outside and the amount of rubbish the Napolitan's throw in the street is disgraceful. However the people are very colourful and it was well worth the visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thai_Rain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anywhere in the world
Level Contributor
313 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

As many people, we were just passing though Naples. The hotel is just a short (300-400m, 10 mins max) walk from the station.

The staff were helpful and courteous, and the room was clean and really quite large. So no complaints whatsoever about the room and the hotel. I don't really understand the complaints of other members, except to say that Europe is not the same as the US.

So Naples is not the nicest city in Italy but it is a gateway to some world class sights. Which means passing through Naples. Its the price you pay. I wouldn't have any hesitation in staying here again, our room was perfectly adequate for our short stay. In fact, I would say, the room was quite pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank An0nym0use
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Grand Hotel Europa
#47 of 189 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
Mercato
Orsa Maggiore Hotel
Orsa Maggiore Hotel
#81 of 189 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
B&B Hotel Napoli
#52 of 189 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Ideal
#144 of 189 in Naples
3.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Hotel Garden Napoli
#141 of 189 in Naples
3.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Hotel Joyfull
#76 of 189 in Naples
3.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nuovo Rebecchino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nuovo Rebecchino

Property: Hotel Nuovo Rebecchino
Address: Corso Giuseppe Garibaldi 356 | 80142, 80142, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 189 Hotels in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nuovo Rebecchino 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, ACCOR, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Nuovo Rebecchino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nuovo Rebecchino Hotel
Nuovo Rebecchino Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing