We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family of 4”
Review of Hotel Rex

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Rex
Ranked #12 of 185 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Great location. Clean rooms. We travelled with out 2 kids and had difficulty finding rooms in italy that can accomodate 4 people. Hotel rex had a good size room with bunk beds for the kids and a king size for us. The room also has a bar fridge which is handy. The room had a safe and nice shower with real towels not the waffle linens you find in other places in italy. Breakfast had yogurt, pasteries, cereal, cakes and juce and coffee or tea. Don't be afraid to ask for a cappucino or espresso if you don't want the jug coffee... it is included in the breakfast. All that was missing was cold cuts and cheese or eggs but we don't usually eat these items for breakfast so it was fine.

The hotel is on off the main raod so the noise is relatively minor in a city with tons of traffic.

There are pleanty of great restaurants near by and a gorcery store on via Santa Lucia to pick up anything else you need. We walked everywhere from this locatiion. The staff are friendly and helpful. We reserved on-line and were travelling off-season so we had a great rate for the room. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank velvcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,044)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 1,044 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2011

The hotel decoration is amazing with some lovely classic furniture. The room is spacious as the hotel is within a very old building. However the bed is too soft. Staff doesn't understand English much but are still very helpful and friendly. Breakfast is minimal and do not expect anything hot. Location is very close to the ovo castle and the sea front but do not believe the description that it is 10 minutes form the port - it takes at least 20 minutes by walking. 30 Minutes of walk is needed to the sights in the old town and there is no bus link between the hotel and the old town. Take bus 152 if you arrive by train.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EvertonianSunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

This hotel is about the location.
The room was big and clean, the bed was actually two single beds joined together but we didn't consider that a problem, it was comfortable though. The TV was bit irritant, as sometimes it would take forever to change channels. The breakfast is very basic and so is the common area. But the best about this hotel is the location, all other hotels in a similar range of price were around the central station, which is a very dirt, and seemingly, unsafe part of town. The hotel Rex is located in the Santa Lucia area, which is close to all the sites, the harbour and a variety of restaurants. Excellent for the price.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rogerioprolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

If you are ever in Naples, Bella Napoli, this Hotel is the one to choose - the location to the historical section of the city is outstanding...the staff was outstanding. We will stay here again on our next trip to Napoli.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bungie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Perfect Location,, nice personnel, comfortable rooms and clean , good breakfast.

Room Tip: My room had a courtyard view that was very picturesque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flaviavarriale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

The hotel is very well located, the rooms are extremely clean and the people extremely nice. The breakfast is simple.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thierry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We stayed here for one night in order to fly out of Naples rather than return to Rome from the Amalfi coast. Location was good - close to harbour and historic sites. Service was non-existent. Front desk staff didn't acknowledge our comings and goings. View of harbour and Mount Vesuvius, however noisy location. We turned the air conditioning on but had to turn it off in the middle of the night as it resulted in a large pool of water on the floor which soaked our luggage. Lounge area and breakfast was decent. The price was very economical so we tolerated shortcomings given only a one night stay. Funky hotel and about what you would expect for 3 stars.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tmcdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
San Ferdinando
Hotel Il Convento
Hotel Il Convento
#4 of 185 in Naples
1,004 reviews
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 185 in Naples
2,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Ferdinando
La Ciliegina Lifestyle Hotel
Fuorigrotta
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#3 of 185 in Naples
1,163 reviews
Porto
Fly Boutique Hotel
Fly Boutique Hotel
#5 of 185 in Naples
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex

Address: Via Palepoli 12, 80132, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > San Ferdinando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#22 Business Hotel in Naples
Price Range: £68 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rex 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps from the waterfront district of San Ferdinando, just minutes from picturesque sites like Castel dell'Ovo, Borgo Marinari and Piazza Plebiscito, the Hotel Rex of Naples welcomes you in an Art Nouveau building with a cozy Mediterranean atmosphere, enhanced by comfortable rooms, elegant simplicity and careful attention to detail. Cradle of ancient cultures, romantic source of inspiration, full of places to visit, people to meet-the most authentic Naples is all this and much more. There's nothing left, but to let yourselves be whisked away by her irresistible charm and cheered-up by our hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Rex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing