We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Week in naples”
Review of Hotel Rex

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Rex
Ranked #15 of 185 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This hotel is in a lovely area of Naples, equidistant from the Port, via Toledo, Piazza Plebiscito and the Palazzo Reale ( Royal palace). It is also close to the Opera house ( Teatro San Carlo).
The rooms are small and modern, with a small en suite bathroom; no dark wood wardrobes or chest of drawers, but simple modern furniture.
The rooms are very clean and towels are changed daily, the air conditioning is noisy, but we discovered a night setting in the remote control which made it a lot quieter.
Staff and friendly and helpful, but you do need to ask them, they do not intrude or volunteer information. Breakfast was simple but adequate. We would definitely return to this hotel again.
There are restaurants to suit all pockets nearby and bars along the seafront also. An average price for a beer and spritz with nibbles is €9 and a meal €40 plus with wine for two people.
Seats at the opera cost €35 upwards.
The circumvesuviana takes you to Pompeii, Herculaneum and mt Vesuvius and costs approx €3 each way and the bus costs €1.30 from opposite the opera house to Piazza Graibaldi where the circumvesuviana leaves from Statione Napoli.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kim186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LifestyleHotelNapoli, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Rex, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear kim186338,

thanks for sharing your last stay with us through the community of TA.
We are glad to have satisfied all your needs during your week in Naples.
The staff thanks you and hopes to welcome you back as soon as possible.
Kind Regards

Massimo Santangelo

P.s thanks to your suggestion we were able to solve the problem with air conditioning !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (996)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 996 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

I spent 6 nights a this hotel in late April/early May 2014. I enjoyed the neighborhood, especially being near the water. The staff were always pleasant and helpful. The room was decent and the bathroom was typically European with a small shower but it was more than adequate. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room ask for one facing the courtyard and not the street. There is no elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PBJAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LifestyleHotelNapoli, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Rex, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear PBJAustin,

thanks for sharing your experience at our property with the community of TA.
I would like to thank you for the nice feedback about the hotel and its staff and about the detailed description our position.
I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards
Massimo Santangelo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Great value and great hotel. It is located in the charming neighborhood of Santa Lucia. It id the perfect place for visiting the city, going to Pompeii,..
The customer attention was great. We were not happy with our first room, and the receptionist solved this issue in a moment. Rooms are clean and they have everything you need. Breakfasts are included and they have a lot of options. We would recommend this hotel to our friends. It has a good relationship quality/price.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank review002014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

I have just booked our second stay in this little gem. The staff is great and going the extra mile to help. The location is second to none in this price range. The rooms are spacious and clean
The shower has got amazing water pressure and if you can, get a room with a balcony. Seeing the sea and the Vesuvio first thing in the morning is wonderful. The hotel is near all the tourist sights and near to all transport of any kind one word need to experience Naples and surrounding area
It is also in a safe district.

I cannot wait to come back this year. The reception Alberto is very helpful patient even after bombarding him with questions via email long before the holidays
Very happy! !

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Jules E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

What a fantastic weekend...we live in Sorrento, Italy and decided to have a family weekend in Naples...from the minute that I made contact with Hotel Rex nothing seemed to be a problem and everything continued on the same path of perfection...

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room..even though it became noisy early in the morning it didn't worry us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angelavn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Spent a night at Hotel Rex on 8th March. Had a very fantastic stay. I had to stay at the sea view room.

Very nice staff, great complimentary breakfast, very good location.

Room is small though but ok.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Chinedu A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Hotel Rex is a great deal for the quality and location in Naples! I prefer to stay in this neighborhood, the hotel is a 2 minute walk from the water, and the area is clean and quiet. We enjoyed this area so much, the restaurants next door have great food and great views of the harbor and Vesuvius. When we were there we walked everywhere except the train station, but the bus stops 5 minutes from the door of the hotel. Every morning the staff would greet us and help us plan our day, very friendly! Rooms were very clean, standard size, ours had air conditioning. Breakfast was included for us, it was pretty average, pastries and coffee, but it was delicious! I plan on staying here again, and was sad to go!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mariermarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LifestyleHotelNapoli, Receptionist at Hotel Rex, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Dear mariemar ,
thank You for the vey kind review left on TA about Your recent stay at the Hotel Rex.
It's a pleasure for us to receive feedbacks like Yours cause they stand as good proof of our clean job done with all our guests.
We do our best to let You feel comfortable and safe in our beautiful Naples town.
Please feel free to contact us for your next stay in Naples
Regards

Susi C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#8 of 185 in Naples
1,488 reviews
Royal Continental Hotel
#41 of 185 in Naples
2,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Porto
Fly Boutique Hotel
Fly Boutique Hotel
#5 of 185 in Naples
460 reviews
San Ferdinando
La Ciliegina Lifestyle Hotel
San Ferdinando
Hotel Il Convento
Hotel Il Convento
#3 of 185 in Naples
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex

Address: Via Palepoli, 12, 80132, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > San Ferdinando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Naples
#20 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#22 Business Hotel in Naples
Price Range: £54 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rex 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps from the waterfront district of San Ferdinando, just minutes from picturesque sites like Castel dell'Ovo, Borgo Marinari and Piazza Plebiscito, the Hotel Rex of Naples welcomes you in an Art Nouveau building with a cozy Mediterranean atmosphere, enhanced by comfortable rooms, elegant simplicity and careful attention to detail. Cradle of ancient cultures, romantic source of inspiration, full of places to visit, people to meet-the most authentic Naples is all this and much more. There's nothing left, but to let yourselves be whisked away by her irresistible charm and cheered-up by our hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing