We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be rated higher than it is”
Review of Hotel Rex

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Rex
Ranked #15 of 185 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 November 2009

We had booked to stay at the Hotel Bellini and they contacted us at short notice to say that they had a burst pipe so we moved our booking to Hotel Correra 241 which is Rex's sister hotel but there was an issue with another party extending their stay so we were bounced over to this hotel. I put a lot of stock in TA reviews so when I saw this was ranked in the 80s I was not best pleased but on arrival we found nice clean hotel, with friendly helpful staff located in one of the nicer areas of Naples. Walking up to the main areas of Piazza Dante and the historical area will take about 20 minutes and its straight up the main busy roads so no need to feel worried about walking around. Also located near the port so easy access to the tourist attractions in this area as well as the Ferry port for day trips to Sorrento and Capri. The hotel is located near Via Santa Lucia where you can find find a few shops and bars and restaurants.

The room it self is basic but comfortable and breakfast is the usual continental type you will find in Naples, Croissants and jam basically with coffee but this is served via room service in the hotel Rex, you fill out your order the night before and state what time you want it delivered. All in all a pleasant stay in Hotel Rex. We moved up to Piazza Dante area for the second part of our stay and although we enjoyed it there too the area where hotel Rex is situated is probably considered a nicer area.

Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank spicyhippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (998)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 998 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2009

I am a Los Angeles native,but lived in Naples fo 11 years. I returned to visit old friends and see again the beautiful city. My reservation at another hotel was not pleasant so a quick e mail to the Rex took care of everyting. We moved and spent the last few days
being well cared for.

Stayed: October 2009
Thank sheranc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2009

A lovely quiet hotel to which we would happily return, but the city of Naples was dirty, grubby and unattractive

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2009

Stayed here with my mom last year. It's in a very nice area of Naples, which was great, since the city has a LOT of dodgy parts. The rooms are basic and clean, which was perfect for us. Heck, when in Italy, how much time (other than sleep) to you actually spend in your room? The hotel staff are nice, but not very knowledgeable for any kind of concierge service. They have a computer downstairs for internet use. If you just want reasonable accommodations in a nice area, this place is good.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank auradawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2009

Hotel Rex is a 3 star hotel in a 4 and 5 star hotel area. Rooms are comfortable and the staff were helpful. Nice having breakfast brought to you room at no additional charge. You are so close to the ferrys, great restaurants, the seaside. Is also a very safe location. Don't let the stories you hear about naples scare you away. You take the same precautions that you would in any major city. And, I highly recommend the Hotel Rex, if you want a good 3 star hotel. There is FREE internet access.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jujuju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2009

fruitlessly pretentious; no really 100 euros for an hotel pretending to be 3 stars is too much; however the interiors were nice with a typical naples touch

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorenzooznerol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2009

We stayed here for only one night, we were meant to be staying 3 nights but we moved to a different hotel due to lots of little reasons.
We arrived tired from our flight to find out that the 2 rooms we had booked were far away from each other even though we had phoned up and confirmed that they would be next to each other. The rooms are very basic, everything from Ikea, which is not too bad for a simple hotel. One of the major factors that made me decide to move hotels was the state of the bathroom, The showers in both the rooms were filthy, they were full of hairs and one with grit and i have a 4 year old,i was horrified at the state of them. it looked like the cleaners had not even passed water to rinse them let alone cleaning products!!! Breakfast was the final straw i did not mind that there was no breakfast room but really when you have children you want them to eat the most important meal of the day and not have to stave! Breakfast consists of miniature croissants, really the smallest i have ever seen and those mini dry toasts and that it. on leaving the hotel we left behind our Camera base on the bed and when we phoned the first time they said they would call back, they didn't so next day i called again and said they had not found it but would check again better!? the next day they said they could not find it, I'm sure it was binned!
In general the staff on reception were all very pleasant and the overall look of the hotel in the main area is nice, characteristic and simple but we would not stay here again. We moved to The royal continental which is a four star hotel and paid only a tiny bit more and it was well well worth it!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelvienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#8 of 185 in Naples
1,489 reviews
Royal Continental Hotel
#41 of 185 in Naples
2,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Porto
Fly Boutique Hotel
Fly Boutique Hotel
#5 of 185 in Naples
460 reviews
San Ferdinando
La Ciliegina Lifestyle Hotel
San Ferdinando
Hotel Il Convento
Hotel Il Convento
#3 of 185 in Naples
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex

Address: Via Palepoli, 12, 80132, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > San Ferdinando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Naples
#20 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#22 Business Hotel in Naples
Price Range: £55 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rex 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps from the waterfront district of San Ferdinando, just minutes from picturesque sites like Castel dell'Ovo, Borgo Marinari and Piazza Plebiscito, the Hotel Rex of Naples welcomes you in an Art Nouveau building with a cozy Mediterranean atmosphere, enhanced by comfortable rooms, elegant simplicity and careful attention to detail. Cradle of ancient cultures, romantic source of inspiration, full of places to visit, people to meet-the most authentic Naples is all this and much more. There's nothing left, but to let yourselves be whisked away by her irresistible charm and cheered-up by our hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Rex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing