We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“eat the pizza, skip the hotel”
Review of Hotel Rex

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Rex
Ranked #17 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“eat the pizza, skip the hotel”
Reviewed 10 August 2010

The only good thing we came across in our 3 days in Naples was the food. The hotel looked beautiful on the surface. Very modern and crisp looking. The rooms were very small though. I traveled with my 3 brothers (age 19-24). We spent 2 nights here and I wanted to leave before the first night began. We arrived mid afternoon and took a nap before dinner. I woke up looking at a 3 inch cockroach on the wall. I had to get the bellman from the front desk to come take care of it(he vacuumed it up) and then apologized, saying it was because of the ocean. From my understanding though, cockroaches do not swim. It was there because Naples is the dirtiest city I have ever been in (and I have traveled a lot!) Europeans are afraid to use air conditioning so when we arrived in our room, the windows were open (no screens). The front desk controls the AC and turns it off everytime we left the room. I was in the room later that evening and saw another cockroach run across the floor under my bed. I went to the lobby crying. The same bellman gave my brother bug spray which he fumigated our room with. I'm surprised we didn't die from inhaling chemicals but I didn't see anymore cockroaches until the morning we were leaving. We talked to other travelers and unfortunately they said this was the best hotel in the area. If it weren't for the bugs I would have been able to enjoy this hotel much more. They say you either love or hate Naples. I tried my hardest to love it but the garbage and dirtiness of everything made it difficult. I loved everything about Italy except this. Naples did however, have the best food we had while traveling (Rome, Venice, Naples) in Italy.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tina916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    447
    113
    28
    5
See reviews for
192
378
47
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ploiesti, Romania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2010

The hotel is verry well located, the room was big and very comfortable, the staff is more than helpful and polite. It also has good value for money. If there is something to improve i think is the breakfast services. In conclusion we had a verry pleasent stay in this hotel and we recommanded it to all tourists that plan to visit Naples!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flr02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2010

Spent 3 nights at Hotel Rex and had a wonderful time in Naples. Unfortunately, we were not given a room with a view (which I had asked well in advance), so we had to cope with a noisy, street-side ground-floor room, which made it quite difficult to get some sleep. This left aside, the guys at the reception were always friendly and ready to help. Breakfast OK. The two netbooks in the reception also came in handy. Shower a bit outdated. All in all, worth a visit, clean and conveniently located.
Grande Napoli! Avanti ragazzi!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danutz1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
58 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2010

We only stayed for a night and unfortunately during a lobby and breakfast room major renovation, but the efforts of the staff to balance the inconviniences really deserved commendation. The rooms are small and clean, however recently renovated with clean and bright bathroom. The property is within few minutes walk to Palazzo Reale and Piazza Publiscita. I really suggest that any car rental plans are abandoned as Naples is a serious trouble in both parking and driving aspects. Hotel Rex has a contract with a nearby garage, which for a fee of EUR 18 per night provides 24 hours parking service. Wi-Fi free internet is available only in the lobby area, not in the rooms.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Destichado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA, USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2009

Hotel Rex in Naples, Italy is a real find. The location matched my desires exactly; it was perfect for exploring the city, close to lovely restaurants and coffee bars and best of all was just steps from the boulevard along the sea.

The hotel was very clean and the staff efficient, pleasant and helpful. The area around the hotel as well as the hotel itself was safe and very friendly to visitors in the city. Hotel Rex is well worth the price to establish a base to explore the Naples area.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UliPa_Usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2009

We had booked to stay at the Hotel Bellini and they contacted us at short notice to say that they had a burst pipe so we moved our booking to Hotel Correra 241 which is Rex's sister hotel but there was an issue with another party extending their stay so we were bounced over to this hotel. I put a lot of stock in TA reviews so when I saw this was ranked in the 80s I was not best pleased but on arrival we found nice clean hotel, with friendly helpful staff located in one of the nicer areas of Naples. Walking up to the main areas of Piazza Dante and the historical area will take about 20 minutes and its straight up the main busy roads so no need to feel worried about walking around. Also located near the port so easy access to the tourist attractions in this area as well as the Ferry port for day trips to Sorrento and Capri. The hotel is located near Via Santa Lucia where you can find find a few shops and bars and restaurants.

The room it self is basic but comfortable and breakfast is the usual continental type you will find in Naples, Croissants and jam basically with coffee but this is served via room service in the hotel Rex, you fill out your order the night before and state what time you want it delivered. All in all a pleasant stay in Hotel Rex. We moved up to Piazza Dante area for the second part of our stay and although we enjoyed it there too the area where hotel Rex is situated is probably considered a nicer area.

Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank spicyhippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2009

I am a Los Angeles native,but lived in Naples fo 11 years. I returned to visit old friends and see again the beautiful city. My reservation at another hotel was not pleasant so a quick e mail to the Rex took care of everyting. We moved and spent the last few days
being well cared for.

Stayed October 2009
Helpful?
Thank sheranc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Royal Continental Hotel
#44 of 186 in Naples
2,444 reviews
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 186 in Naples
1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Santa Lucia
#30 of 186 in Naples
678 reviews
San Ferdinando
Hotel Il Convento
Hotel Il Convento
#4 of 186 in Naples
948 reviews
Porto
Fly Boutique Hotel
Fly Boutique Hotel
#3 of 186 in Naples
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex

Property: Hotel Rex
Address: Via Palepoli 12/80132, 80132, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > San Ferdinando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Naples
#20 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#22 Business Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rex 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps from the waterfront district of San Ferdinando, just minutes from picturesque sites like Castel dell'Ovo, Borgo Marinari and Piazza Plebiscito, the Hotel Rex of Naples welcomes you in an Art Nouveau building with a cozy Mediterranean atmosphere, enhanced by comfortable rooms, elegant simplicity and careful attention to detail. Cradle of ancient cultures, romantic source of inspiration, full of places to visit, people to meet-the most authentic Naples is all this and much more. There's nothing left, but to let yourselves be whisked away by her irresistible charm and cheered-up by our hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Rex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing