We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Secret in Naples” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of D'Angeli

D'Angeli
Ranked #284 of 2,765 Restaurants in Naples
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Pendino
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
“The Best Secret in Naples”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

This place must be the greatest secret in Naples! The birth place of pizza, there are many places to eat pizza in this town. I am not one to fall for tourist traps and this is not one. Pilar, Savio, Carlo, and Manuel served up the best food and fabulous customer service. Both our bellies and our hearts were full by the time we left. Thank you D'Angeli for sharing the best of Naples with us.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mindi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    186
    58
    34
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, Wisconsin
1 review
“Pizza Pie Heaven ~ I'd fly back just for the pie,vino & prosciutto!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Carlo, you made my whole trip to Naples, worth every minute!
We were told by everyone in the States, who had traveled to Italy, to get a pie in Napoli.
We did. WE LOVED IT and the recommendations by Carlo, far surpassed anything we could have imagined.
I was told to get the Mergherita, we did. Carlo suggested the Regina. We ordered both.
We were in HEAVEN! The sauce, the fresh ingredients, the crust, the hospitality. Everything I had hoped for and more!
Carlo brought us a anti pasta platter as well that was amazing....... :) Mangia! Mangia!!
Carlo, you and the rest of D'Angeli Pizzeria & Trattoria are now responsible for my daydreaming at any of our local, wonderful Italian restaurants, here in America.
My heart and mind will always be back at
D'Angeli enjoying each bite and smiling at every course!
GRAZIE! GRAZIE! GRAZIE!!
We threw a coin in Trevoli Fountain, so we WILL return!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KarenBichanich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Incredible sauce, base, cheese... pizza at D'Angeli”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Our primary reason for pusuing an otherwise disappointing introduction to Naples was to taste the famous da Michele pizza as featured in so many travel articles and of course Julia Roberts in eat pray love..we arrive after a nightmarish scooter drive from the Amalfi coast through the scary side of Naples only to find Da Michele close! Across the road is D'Angeli, open and very busy. A taxi pulls up and 2 American tourists devour an order of pizza on the taxi's bonnet, in the middle of the road. We follow suit, in hindsight it was a huge mistake to share. Our pizza took a while but once we tasted our diavola pizza ( mozzarella, tomato sauce and hot salami ..i asked for garlic also) i was already thinking of when we can return, truly amazing! The base is thin, the size is generous and the flavour of the sauce is beautiful..so different from the commonly used tomato paste , definitely worth getting lost in Naples for.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gidget_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pizza that's worth the 8 hour flight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

We were looking for pizza and were headed to a place that upon arrival, was way too crowded. A young man, Savio, suggested we try his restaurant. We ordered the signature pizza, the "D'Angeli" and a bottle of white wine. It was the best pizza I have ever had, and made all the stories of Neapolitan pizza true with the first bite. Thanks Savio! Bravo,

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Although this little trattoria may be overshadowed by the more famous pizza places surrounding it, don't let this hidden gem pass you by! We chose this restaurant because there was no line and no wait.This happened to be one of the best pizzas we have ever eaten! So good and quite a few choices. The service was excellent and our waiter, Carlo, was a gem himself! Highly recommend this restaurant. Yummy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed D'Angeli also viewed

 
Naples, Province of Naples
Island of Capri, Province of Naples
 

Been to D'Angeli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing