We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“English Tour worth the wait”
Review of Underground Naples

Underground Naples
Book In Advance
More Info
US$18.97*
and up
Guided Naples Underground Tour with Optional Transport
More Info
US$47.42*
and up
Naples Walking Tour with Underground Ruins
Ranked #8 of 505 things to do in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: In the underground of Naples lies a labyrinth of tunnels, tanks and cavities that form a real city which is the negative of the city on surface. The underground city spreads below the entire old town, its myths and legends are still alive in the imagination of all the Neapolitans. We are open every day The visit is composed of 3 different parts:1) greek and roman aqueductby taking 136 low and cozy steps, we will go 40 metres (120 feet) underground to visit some of the tufo caves excavated by the greeks (v sec. b.c.), also used as cisterns as water supply for our city for more than 23 centuries. the caves we are going to see are all very big and lit, but just one narrow yet optional part, which turns out to be the most suggestive section of the tour since it is only be lit by the candle light, moreover the floor is completely even. the visit lasts 1h30. of the overlaid of the roman theatre2) roman theatrevisit of a part of roman theatre in naples, overlaid in the xv century , by the modern buildings wich are now in via anticaglia, vico cinquesanti e via san paolo. you are going to enter a traditional neapolitan house, commonly called "basso" (low), because it is at the street level, already part of the roman theatre. by setting back a bed and opening a trapdoor you will be able to see the places where the emperor nero had his own private backstage, every time he came to perform in naples. the visit lasts 20 minutes.3) summa cavea (upper part of the roman theatre)the tour has been recently made bigger and complete with a new discovery. thus, in an ancient neapolitan carpentry workshop a new section of the theatre came out and right here a permanent nativity cribs exhibition was installed with more than thirty ancient "scarabattoli" (wooden shrines used for the nativity scenes to be shown) which show nativity scens and popular daily life. opus reticulatum and latericium construction all around the theatre walls. in the latest section brought to life of the roman theatre another discovery was made, thus, in the floor small channels of the aqueduct were used for the water to rush through, though they had been obstructed for a very long tme by the sawdust from the carpentry workshop. channels used as sewers during the bourbon period., released with bluish tiles, these very channels are now protected with grates to be seen by visitors.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“English Tour worth the wait”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

After a lengthy wait the English tour took off with about 25 unsuspecting souls for 1.5 hours of steps, narrow underground tunnels and large cavernous spaces dug out by Greeks for the city buildings then used as an Aqueduct for centuries, Numerous wells were covered over and the underground used as bomb shelter during ww2,
Tour continued to get more interesting outside the underground visiting a house in the site of a former Roman Theatre with a large underground cellar.
Better advertising about the tour at the start would help.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank melbourneros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,989 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,763
    982
    179
    34
    31
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
605 reviews
151 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Not for the claustrophobic”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

take a guided tour in your language
It is absolutely fascinating going through narrow tunnels and finding areas used by the Romans and then in the war
So much to understand and learn - passed a few hours here effortlessly
We came accross this by accident as it is not well publicised

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Uday T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good tour but has flaws to be aware of before you go!”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We went to the Subterranean tour on a bit of a miserable day and went with an open mind as we knew some reviews are mixed about the place.

The first and most disturbing thing is the woman selling the tickets, slightly husky voiced with long brown hair, she handed my partner making sure they were upside down with the ticket price underneath - we think she stung us 25 Euro when the tickets should have been 10 Euro each as we only got 25 Euro change from 50. Anyway we went on the tour and realised it was is Italian with no English plus the Italian guide was going on for 10 to 15 mins a pop in each bit he stopped at - we quickly gave up and went back up to the ticket desk to be told that there was an English tour 30 mins later - so why the hell did no one ask us what language we were when we initially arrived!!

So back we went at 4pm and as we headed in to the tour we heard an English speaking German school teacher behind us arguing with the same ticket woman had she had tried to rip him off and he had noticed? Why would you do this in a place of historical interest in Napoli! It just damages both it's and Napoli's reputation!

The tour was good but the Italian girl who was very nice could have done to slow down a little when speaking as her accent was heavy. The tour was much quicker than the Italian one and it was noticed that the Italian tour started in a volcano simulation room which was missed completely for the English tour.

It was still a long enough tour for me and was better than I expected, there is definitely a size limit for the 40cm wide tunnel and I would prefer them to replace the candles with torches as I had fears of someone stumbling or unexpectedly catching up with the person in front in the dark with a candle in hand and setting fire to the person in front!

The Ampitheatre bit was a little disappointing as you went down the cellar expecting to see a theatre! Still interesting though.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Jools1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Must do if you are in Naples”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Took this trip while spending a day along Scappanapoli and it was really worthwhile. Lots of history and architecture and comes right up to WW2. Good value and a un twist in the tail. Excellent guide in English, good value and she refused to accept a tip! It is underground so you must expect parts of it to be a little claustrophobic but fine for most people.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
2,577 reviews
1,417 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,349 helpful votes
“Spooky hour-and-a-half tour of a vanished world.”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This tour is a must. Check it out, if you love the spookiness and scabrous excitement of this long vanished world. Its all here,ranging from the fantastically ornate to the austere Gothe of the Monestery of Santa Chiana and for contrast,the church of Gesu N'uovo with its rich inlaid marbles,paintings and sculptures. Hunt out the side chapel where the 70 busts of saints are perched serenely on top of their reliquaries as if in miniature opera boxes.
Even without guides this subterranean look-see at a bygone world is a thrill for the senses. Be patient, as their are a lot of humanity wanting to share your own private Idaho

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Eli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Underground Naples also viewed

Naples, Province of Naples
 

Been to Underground Naples? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing