We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best choice for families”
Review of Caravaggio Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Caravaggio Hotel
Ranked #97 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not the best choice for families”
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We stayed 3 nights in August. We loved the location of the hotel but not our room. We had booked a family room well in advance, a room with double and two singles. However it was not a nice room and we were really disappointed. One of the single beds was not a proper bed, it was a chair which folded out and the room itself was horribly dingy.To their credit the hotel did move us into a double room which was much nicer, once two singles were squeezed in it was very cramped for 4 people. We were not given a discount for the smaller room. Whilst I'm sure its fine for couples, my advice would be for families to avoid booking a room here.

Room Tip: Don't book a family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaravaggioNapoli, Direttore at Caravaggio Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Dear customer,
we are very sorry that it did not meet your expectations of stay in a room large and spacious. In reality, this did not depend on us, because we had reserved us a room to suit for your needs but she preferred to change it to one that affacciasse the square, though smaller.
Yours sincerely
Franco Russo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    65
    41
    31
    27
See reviews for
53
69
21
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

To be fair the Caravaggio is not a terrible hotel. The building is old and the photos do a good job of making rooms look bettter than they are and in hiding the squaller of the square in which it is located. The staff also did a reasonable job of meeting our needs.

However...... My wife and children were very unsettled by life in Naples and while we stayed for our two nights as planned we have decided not to return for the night before our flight home. I fully accept that this last night was on an Advance Payment Tarrif but my several attempts to gain a refund where met with no success at all. As "readers" you can decide if this is fair. Given the circumstances I feel that a little more understanding may have been appropriate.

I am pleased that we travelled to see Naples but do not feel that the level of safety is suitable for families or less experienced travellers. Decide as you will.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markadlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaravaggioNapoli, Direttore at Caravaggio Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Dear guest,
we knew that your review would have been bad because you said it in your e-mail. We repeat an other time that some offers, like the Advanced Payment Tariff, are not refundable and you know to have booked this type of option, like written in your review. However we want to thank you because your awful review is not about our hotel but just about Naples, a city which everyone knows for its pros and cons, but universally recognized between the best in the world.

Franco Russo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Naples hotels

Glasgow Scotland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We spent a weekend at the beginning of this month at the Caravaggio Hotel and found our room cool ( temperatures were averaging 34C), peaceful with friendly efficient staff and a wonderful Carravagio next door
The staff were charming - particularly Valentino - who suggested the excellent and long established, Mattozzi restaurant in Piazza Carita for the Sunday night - it was the European Football Cup Final and we found many places were closed.
The area has bags of atmosphere, historic alleys,local artisanal shops and cobbles where
Caravaggio probably walked
Carravagio Hotel is in an interesting and atmospheric part of the historic centre of Naples
Also it is ideally placed to visit the wonderful Caravaggio at the Pio Monte della Misericordio opposite or the Duomo nearby

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view and a little balcony to observe the street life in the historic heart of N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruthmedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaravaggioNapoli, Direttore at Caravaggio Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Thank you very much for that you said about us, we'll be happy to have you our guest next time.
Franco Russo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level Contributor
70 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

As most of the previous guests already said, the hotel is in greatly located in the very heart of the old city of Naples. A few blocks from Forcella and the Cathedral, you could not be more central. The buidling in which it is located is an old one and this is probably the reason for some of its problems.

The staff is really very good. The rooms a bit less. Clean and well kept they would need some extras (I would suggest a larger TV set) to make it a four star hotel.

The most important thing that needs to be renewed is the air conditioning... I would "warmly" suggest changing it soon.

Room Tip: If you visit inthe summer ask for a room with the single A/C (not connected with the central system.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaudioMario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaravaggioNapoli, Direttore at Caravaggio Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Dear guest, we are very sorry to not be able to meet its needs. Not having a spare bedroom with a balcony overlooking the square we have shown, before making any changes, a room that could meet their needs and she agreed the change, saying he was so happy. Completely new there are complaints regarding the beds and clean rooms which did not mention during his stay.
Franco Russo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
121 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

The Caravaggio is a simple, rather ordinary hotel, perfectly clean and decent but nothing special -- except for the location, which I love and for which it gets an extra star. It is on the Via Tribunali, set back enough to be insulated from street noise. This is the main street through the old part of Naples, where the street life is colorful, bustling, and at times more than slightly chaotic. This is the true heart of old Naples.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobConklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We had such a wonderful time in Naples, and it was partly due to the warm, friendly and helpful staff at the Caravaggio! Great location-under the Duomo! Extremely reasonable pricing, amazing, beautiful, comfortable room, incomparable service-really, we couldn't have found a better place to stay. We will definitely stay at the Caravaggio if we ever have the good luck to return to Naples.
Thank you all so much! You all have figured out how to do it, and do it well. Va bene!

Room Tip: Ask for a terrace-we had a lovely one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissSally2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2011

The 'beautiful people' in question are those who will look after you if you stay here. The three guys working on reception went out of their way to be helpful and were able to give us good advice when needed. The person serving breakfast was courteous and amiable, and our room was always cleaned and tidied really well. I was very happy with the service I received at the hotel. The Hotel is also very well placed and within walking distance of many historical sites. The narrow roads leading on to the Piazza were incredibly busy with cars, vespas, and pedestrians jostling for space!! Alarming and wonderful all at the same time. A real adventure. I am left with the feeling that I want to experience it again and again, and if I do go back I would choose to stay at the Caravaggio once more.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryse D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaravaggioNapoli, Responsabile reception at Caravaggio Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2011
Thank you so much for your kind words, we appreciated it! You have been such a good Guest. We really do hope to see you again very soon. Warmest regards
Caravaggio Hotel's Personnell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Neapolis Hotel
#63 of 186 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Pendino
Hotel des Artistes Naples
Hotel des Artistes Naples
#41 of 186 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Mercato
UNA Hotel Napoli
UNA Hotel Napoli
#19 of 186 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercato
Hotel San Pietro
Hotel San Pietro
#12 of 186 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Hotel Suite Esedra
#136 of 186 in Naples
3.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caravaggio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravaggio Hotel

Property: Caravaggio Hotel
Address: Piazza Cardinale Sisto Riario Sforza 157 | Spaccanapoli, 80139, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Pendino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Luxury Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Caravaggio Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently inaugurated, it occupies part of a XVI century noble palace and has been restored - respecting its former style - using the most contemporary standards.The well-designed rooms offer the most modern comforts in a warm and friendly atmosphere.The Hotel, besides, is provided of a spacious hall for breakfast buffet with typical Neapolitan products, a bar, a reading room and a conference room for small meetings.The large and spacious rooms are all furnished in modern style, sober and functional, in order to grant the Guest a relaxing and overwhelming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Caravaggio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravaggio Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing