We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Caravaggio Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$359
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$332
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Romeo Hotel(Naples)
US$463
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$447
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$748
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$434
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$250
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$217
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$340
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Hotel Europa(Naples)(Great Value!)
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$221
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (260)
Filter reviews
260 results
Traveller rating
74
68
50
37
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
68
50
37
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom coolon a daily basisthe staff were extremely helpfulcentral hotelhistorical centre of napleswithin walking distanceold napleshamexcellent staywi fiexcellent hotellocation is greatduomoheartstreetnapolimuseum
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 260 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2012

I had an excellent stay at the Caravaggio hotel. The rooms were very nice and quiet. Its location is fantastic: in the old historical centre of the city in front of the "Pio Monte della Miserocordia" and very close to the "Duomo".
The staff is very warm and helpful. Paolo, Maria and all the other people working in the hotel bring the marvellous atmosphere of the city into the hotel. This was a real pleasure.
I am already looking forward to my next visit to Napoli !

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaravaggioNapoli, Direttore at Caravaggio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2012

Dear customer,
we read his review with pleasure. We are pleased to have met his expectations, it is very important to us that our customers spend most enjoyable holiday. A big thank you to the staff and especially by Paul and Mary.
Hoping to see you soon
Yours sincerely
Franco Russo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We stayed 3 nights in August. We loved the location of the hotel but not our room. We had booked a family room well in advance, a room with double and two singles. However it was not a nice room and we were really disappointed. One of the single beds was not a proper bed, it was a chair which folded out and the room itself was horribly dingy.To their credit the hotel did move us into a double room which was much nicer, once two singles were squeezed in it was very cramped for 4 people. We were not given a discount for the smaller room. Whilst I'm sure its fine for couples, my advice would be for families to avoid booking a room here.

Room Tip: Don't book a family room.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaravaggioNapoli, Direttore at Caravaggio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2012

Dear customer,
we are very sorry that it did not meet your expectations of stay in a room large and spacious. In reality, this did not depend on us, because we had reserved us a room to suit for your needs but she preferred to change it to one that affacciasse the square, though smaller.
Yours sincerely
Franco Russo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

To be fair the Caravaggio is not a terrible hotel. The building is old and the photos do a good job of making rooms look bettter than they are and in hiding the squaller of the square in which it is located. The staff also did a reasonable job of meeting our needs.

However...... My wife and children were very unsettled by life in Naples and while we stayed for our two nights as planned we have decided not to return for the night before our flight home. I fully accept that this last night was on an Advance Payment Tarrif but my several attempts to gain a refund where met with no success at all. As "readers" you can decide if this is fair. Given the circumstances I feel that a little more understanding may have been appropriate.

I am pleased that we travelled to see Naples but do not feel that the level of safety is suitable for families or less experienced travellers. Decide as you will.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markadlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaravaggioNapoli, Direttore at Caravaggio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

Dear guest,
we knew that your review would have been bad because you said it in your e-mail. We repeat an other time that some offers, like the Advanced Payment Tariff, are not refundable and you know to have booked this type of option, like written in your review. However we want to thank you because your awful review is not about our hotel but just about Naples, a city which everyone knows for its pros and cons, but universally recognized between the best in the world.

Franco Russo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We spent a weekend at the beginning of this month at the Caravaggio Hotel and found our room cool ( temperatures were averaging 34C), peaceful with friendly efficient staff and a wonderful Carravagio next door
The staff were charming - particularly Valentino - who suggested the excellent and long established, Mattozzi restaurant in Piazza Carita for the Sunday night - it was the European Football Cup Final and we found many places were closed.
The area has bags of atmosphere, historic alleys,local artisanal shops and cobbles where
Caravaggio probably walked
Carravagio Hotel is in an interesting and atmospheric part of the historic centre of Naples
Also it is ideally placed to visit the wonderful Caravaggio at the Pio Monte della Misericordio opposite or the Duomo nearby

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view and a little balcony to observe the street life in the historic heart of Naples
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruthmedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaravaggioNapoli, Direttore at Caravaggio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

Thank you very much for that you said about us, we'll be happy to have you our guest next time.
Franco Russo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

As most of the previous guests already said, the hotel is in greatly located in the very heart of the old city of Naples. A few blocks from Forcella and the Cathedral, you could not be more central. The buidling in which it is located is an old one and this is probably the reason for some of its problems.

The staff is really very good. The rooms a bit less. Clean and well kept they would need some extras (I would suggest a larger TV set) to make it a four star hotel.

The most important thing that needs to be renewed is the air conditioning... I would "warmly" suggest changing it soon.

Room Tip: If you visit inthe summer ask for a room with the single A/C (not connected with the central system.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaudioMario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaravaggioNapoli, Direttore at Caravaggio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

Dear guest, we are very sorry to not be able to meet its needs. Not having a spare bedroom with a balcony overlooking the square we have shown, before making any changes, a room that could meet their needs and she agreed the change, saying he was so happy. Completely new there are complaints regarding the beds and clean rooms which did not mention during his stay.
Franco Russo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews