We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, central and well priced”
Review of Caravaggio Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Caravaggio Hotel
Ranked #103 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Malmo, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean, central and well priced”
Reviewed 17 October 2012

This is a hotel with nice and clean rooms located in the touristy Historic City of Naples.

The rooms are clean and the staff is nice and friendly. Rooms have very high ceiling (4 meters at least) and bathrooms in good quality. If you get a room that's facing the busy street it's going to be quite noisy during night because of the many vespas and cars that constantly honk and drive fast.

Breakfast is boring. The coffee tastes worse than Nescafé. Just go outside and have a nice macchiato instead from one of the many cafés for less than €1.

I wouldn't recommend spending too much time in this part of the city though, but I can't complain about the hotel except for the breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the street if you value your sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank linuxlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaravaggioNapoli, Direttore at Caravaggio Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Dear customer,
we are happy to have met his expectations, Naples is a city sometimes chaotic and, in spite of our attention, not always able to mitigate the noise caused by traffic. We will be happy to host you again to offer, this time, great coffee.
Franco Russo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    66
    46
    33
    27
See reviews for
55
73
21
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berwick, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We stayed one night in the centre of Naples, and this is definitely centre. Great location and quite safe feeling inside. But on the down side, the room was quite smelly-we think it was the air conditioning. Also in the morning when we checked out, we were told that we would have to walk off and find our car. It was very difficult to find in such a disjointed, old city. All the tiny alleys run off each other and are not always very well signed. We found the car in the end, but to be told to go and find it ourselves was fairly poor service I thought. Still it was not all bad!

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Fil V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaravaggioNapoli, Direttore at Caravaggio Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Dear customer, after a long series of positive comments we have carefully read his report, on which we have already spoken. We are very sorry that our location has departed from the expectations, but the historic center of Naples, as also many towns, is made up of narrow streets that intersect, just to avoid the problem we are affiliated with a Parking simple to reach and would recommend it to our customers.
Sincerely yours, in the hope of 'goodbye ..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Naples hotels

Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

An OK hotel - clean and with a friendly staff. The room was clean, but it smelled strange, almost moldy... There was an air condition in the room, but it was old and did not work very well. The breakfast was plain (bread, cheese, ham, juice, coffe and yoghurt), but very good. The location is very good - right in the middle of the old city.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RitaTove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaravaggioNapoli, Direttore at Caravaggio Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Dear customer,
we regret having failed his expectations because of a problem for us too unpredictable and we hope to have a further opportunity to receive to thank you for reporting an disservice to raise the quality of our structure. As you have noticed, which is why we work
Sincerely yours, in the hope of 'goodbye .
Franco Russo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 19 September 2012

I had an excellent stay at the Caravaggio hotel. The rooms were very nice and quiet. Its location is fantastic: in the old historical centre of the city in front of the "Pio Monte della Miserocordia" and very close to the "Duomo".
The staff is very warm and helpful. Paolo, Maria and all the other people working in the hotel bring the marvellous atmosphere of the city into the hotel. This was a real pleasure.
I am already looking forward to my next visit to Napoli !

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaravaggioNapoli, Direttore at Caravaggio Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Dear customer,
we read his review with pleasure. We are pleased to have met his expectations, it is very important to us that our customers spend most enjoyable holiday. A big thank you to the staff and especially by Paul and Mary.
Hoping to see you soon
Yours sincerely
Franco Russo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We stayed 3 nights in August. We loved the location of the hotel but not our room. We had booked a family room well in advance, a room with double and two singles. However it was not a nice room and we were really disappointed. One of the single beds was not a proper bed, it was a chair which folded out and the room itself was horribly dingy.To their credit the hotel did move us into a double room which was much nicer, once two singles were squeezed in it was very cramped for 4 people. We were not given a discount for the smaller room. Whilst I'm sure its fine for couples, my advice would be for families to avoid booking a room here.

Room Tip: Don't book a family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaravaggioNapoli, Direttore at Caravaggio Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Dear customer,
we are very sorry that it did not meet your expectations of stay in a room large and spacious. In reality, this did not depend on us, because we had reserved us a room to suit for your needs but she preferred to change it to one that affacciasse the square, though smaller.
Yours sincerely
Franco Russo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

To be fair the Caravaggio is not a terrible hotel. The building is old and the photos do a good job of making rooms look bettter than they are and in hiding the squaller of the square in which it is located. The staff also did a reasonable job of meeting our needs.

However...... My wife and children were very unsettled by life in Naples and while we stayed for our two nights as planned we have decided not to return for the night before our flight home. I fully accept that this last night was on an Advance Payment Tarrif but my several attempts to gain a refund where met with no success at all. As "readers" you can decide if this is fair. Given the circumstances I feel that a little more understanding may have been appropriate.

I am pleased that we travelled to see Naples but do not feel that the level of safety is suitable for families or less experienced travellers. Decide as you will.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markadlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaravaggioNapoli, Direttore at Caravaggio Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Dear guest,
we knew that your review would have been bad because you said it in your e-mail. We repeat an other time that some offers, like the Advanced Payment Tariff, are not refundable and you know to have booked this type of option, like written in your review. However we want to thank you because your awful review is not about our hotel but just about Naples, a city which everyone knows for its pros and cons, but universally recognized between the best in the world.

Franco Russo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We spent a weekend at the beginning of this month at the Caravaggio Hotel and found our room cool ( temperatures were averaging 34C), peaceful with friendly efficient staff and a wonderful Carravagio next door
The staff were charming - particularly Valentino - who suggested the excellent and long established, Mattozzi restaurant in Piazza Carita for the Sunday night - it was the European Football Cup Final and we found many places were closed.
The area has bags of atmosphere, historic alleys,local artisanal shops and cobbles where
Caravaggio probably walked
Carravagio Hotel is in an interesting and atmospheric part of the historic centre of Naples
Also it is ideally placed to visit the wonderful Caravaggio at the Pio Monte della Misericordio opposite or the Duomo nearby

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view and a little balcony to observe the street life in the historic heart of N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruthmedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaravaggioNapoli, Direttore at Caravaggio Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Thank you very much for that you said about us, we'll be happy to have you our guest next time.
Franco Russo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Pendino
Hotel des Artistes Naples
Hotel des Artistes Naples
#40 of 186 in Naples
250 reviews
Mercato
Hotel San Pietro
Hotel San Pietro
#10 of 186 in Naples
479 reviews
Porto
Palazzo Salgar
Palazzo Salgar
#11 of 186 in Naples
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neapolis Hotel
#59 of 186 in Naples
397 reviews
Palazzo Turchini
#48 of 186 in Naples
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caravaggio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravaggio Hotel

Property: Caravaggio Hotel
Address: Piazza Cardinale Sisto Riario Sforza 157 | Spaccanapoli, 80139, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Pendino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Luxury Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Caravaggio Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently inaugurated, it occupies part of a XVI century noble palace and has been restored - respecting its former style - using the most contemporary standards.The well-designed rooms offer the most modern comforts in a warm and friendly atmosphere.The Hotel, besides, is provided of a spacious hall for breakfast buffet with typical Neapolitan products, a bar, a reading room and a conference room for small meetings.The large and spacious rooms are all furnished in modern style, sober and functional, in order to grant the Guest a relaxing and overwhelming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Caravaggio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravaggio Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing