We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique experience, largely positive!”
Review of Caravaggio Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Caravaggio Hotel
Ranked #97 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Hampshire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Unique experience, largely positive!”
Reviewed 19 February 2010

Great location and friendly, helpful staff. W had a strange room (105) "outside" the main building above a rear courtyard. It had a 25 ft high ceiling, and it was cold, though the room heater worked pretty well. In summer, it would be the AC unit! Strange bathroom with a glass canopy buily above it, inside the main room. The room overlooked a street and so was not quiet at night. The room safe was behind a painting and used a large key, which was left at reception! The tiled floor was freezing, no complimentary slippers. The room is probably pleasantly cool in Winter, but quite cold in February. My coldest trip ever to Italy (weather generally, not the hotel). Best points: staff and location. Worst point: didn't rate the breakfast very highly, despite, once again, very pleasant staff.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rh1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    65
    41
    31
    27
See reviews for
53
69
21
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Noorden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2009

We stayed in the Caravaggio hotel for a few days, the busy city of Napoli can be tiring sometimes but this hotel is an oasis of quiet in a bustling city. All the staff is very friendly and willing to help you on your way. The location close to the Duomo and the centro storico makes navigating the city very easy. The icing on the cake was the goodbye gift when we checked out, nobody needs to do that, but it gave us a good feeling so we can recommand it to everybody and will be staying here again if we visit Napoli in the future..

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank threeputted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2009

EXCELLENT 4*HOTEL IN NAPLES!!!!
Located in the historic quarter, this charming and classy hotel is run from frendly and kindly staff. It's close to the most interesting attractive places. The rooms are amazing - great bed, huge and lovely bathroom, TV, internet, breakfast. It's really cleaned and I suggest it to you because you'll get what you can expect from a wonderfull trip.
Have a nice journey to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonKatrine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2009

But make sure that you want Spacca Napoli, before you book here. As other reviewers have mentioned, the area can be a bit overwhelming to people not familiar with Naples - the narrow streets, tall buildings, grit and graffitti and people loitering around. If you're okay with that, the location is great! I would not recommend this for single women travelling alone - I was quite glad to have a buddy, and would have been afraid walking late at night.

Our room was clean and very quiet, but I agree that the lack of air conditioning was a definite draw-back, especially after being in the hot Mediterranean sun all day. The bathrooms were a bit underwhelming - our showerhead would not stay in the proper place. The bedding was also just average (although clean).

I will say that the breakfast was a great spread. The staff was not overly helpful with recommendations, ferry times, etc., though.

For someone with a budget who is okay with no aiir conditoning, it's fine.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DC_girl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2009

We were directed to Caravaggio after the hotel we were initially booked at claimed they had a problem with the room we were meant to stay at and they did not have another room. Very nice and friendly staff in the hotel. The lobby and the corridors are what you would expect a four star hotel to be like. However, the room itself is definitely not a four star hotel room. It was very plain with cheap furniture and a small television by the ceiling. Paint was cracking in the walls and the air conditioning device was obviously broken or malfunctioning since there was water leaking on the floor. However, the hotel is very clean. Also the location is convenient since it's right in the heart of Spaccanapoli. I can understand that some people might be upset by the location but I felt the street was rather safe although very busy. It's more or less the same as you encounter in all big cities. The breakfeast was rather good continental breakfeast.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexi32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaravaggioNapoli, Owner at Caravaggio Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2009
Dear Mr Alexi,
The thank you for the praise expressed on our hotel, on the cleaning, on the breakfast, the staff and the location of Caravaggio Hotel, but we are in complete disagreement with your arguments with regard to the room and the quality of the Hotel.
Our Hotel since its inauguration has received a certification of hotel 4 stars and the latest reconfirmation was a month ago from the ISNART, this means that the 4 stars are the result of a thorough analysis of bodies that have reconfirmed the high classification, with your judgment so hard you leave us perplexed.
The room where you have stayed for 2 nights is very large, approximately 18mq, the bathroom is wide and with high ceiling, the TV is 14 ".
Furniture that you found in the room are from the CAMAR of Pesaro, one of the best companies with national distribution.
We receive daily numerous compliments from the hotel guests and honestly we do not explain the reason for your discontent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Naples hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2009

On internet the hotel looked wonderfull and on arrival staff were very helpfull but room was not great. NO AIR CONDITIONING, did not work and were given a fan. Would not open windows as they were about four meters up high and looked as they would fall in if you tried. Room had very high ceiling and bed was a wire base, room needed a good clean espically under bed, at least a inch of dust, shower hardly worked and shower could not drain properly so had to staind in inches of water. Lighting was so dim you could hardley see at night. The breakfast was terrible with stale bread and old fruit but staff member could not do enough. Hotel has a four star rating I woul only give it a one star and would not recommed it to anyone

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nefer14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaravaggioNapoli, The Management at Caravaggio Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2009
Dear Guest,
we have known from the Tripadvisor website about several discomforts you claim to have experienced in our Hotel during your journey to Naples in May 2009.
With surprise we have read about the lack of services' list you wrote, and even more surprising is the fact that you didn' mention
about your disappointment directly to us all trough your stay. It would have been better to ask for a solution to us so that we could have solved everything, even giving you another room.
Our Buffet breakfast, also included in the negative aspects, can be considered a moment of pure delight. We supply to our Guests fresh local products, a tasty and soft bread like home made.
We are really sorry that this type of breakfast didn't satisfy your expectations.
For all these reasons we confide in having you once again in the future so that you could better appreciate the quality of our services that seems not to have reach you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2009

Pleasant hotel but definatley not 4star. Very pleasant and helpful staff.

The PROBLEM is the hotels location.The writer has worked in places such as Durban RSA, Swaziland, Moscow, Tarterstan Republic (East Russia) ,NY,LA and Mosside (Manchester) and is 6foot plus in height and 16 stone plus! The writer does not consider himslf a wimp! BUT found the locality of the hotel evening/night very threatening and intimidating.Groups of youths roamed the streets surrounding the hotel and whilst the writer was not directly threatened ; inter alia the writer and his wife witnessed a terrible mugging 50 yards from the hotel entrance which resulted in a tourist sustaining terrible injuries.

The other problem is that the road adjoining the hotel appears to be used by locals as a "rat run/short cut" and there was the constant danger of being run over by scooter riders who considered the pavement areas as part of the road and rode down the pavements at considerable speed expecting pedestrians to "dive out" of the way!!!

Daytime there was no problem whatsoever: its early evening/ nightime.

As a whole we loved Naples and will return next year but will stay in a hotel in a different district.

Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank ericleroi7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Neapolis Hotel
#64 of 186 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Pendino
Hotel des Artistes Naples
Hotel des Artistes Naples
#41 of 186 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Mercato
UNA Hotel Napoli
UNA Hotel Napoli
#20 of 186 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercato
Hotel San Pietro
Hotel San Pietro
#11 of 186 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Hotel Suite Esedra
#136 of 186 in Naples
3.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caravaggio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravaggio Hotel

Property: Caravaggio Hotel
Address: Piazza Cardinale Sisto Riario Sforza 157 | Spaccanapoli, 80139, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Pendino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Luxury Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Caravaggio Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently inaugurated, it occupies part of a XVI century noble palace and has been restored - respecting its former style - using the most contemporary standards.The well-designed rooms offer the most modern comforts in a warm and friendly atmosphere.The Hotel, besides, is provided of a spacious hall for breakfast buffet with typical Neapolitan products, a bar, a reading room and a conference room for small meetings.The large and spacious rooms are all furnished in modern style, sober and functional, in order to grant the Guest a relaxing and overwhelming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Fastbooking, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Caravaggio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravaggio Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing