We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, safe area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel San Francesco al Monte
Ranked #21 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Booked as a last minute w/e break. Hotel was a bargain. Only main restaurant open in low season, bet it's amazing high season (& probably price to match!). Maps at reception not great but easy enough to walk down to shops and restaurants or catch tram. Turn right out of hotel & it's a short walk! We caught bus from airport to main square then got taxi which is probably best till you get your bearings! Room was huge & comfortable. Hotel restaurant delicious with enormous portions! Really enjoyed our short stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Innit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (929)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

274 - 280 of 929 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2011

This Hotel is totally oversold by its website. Although the view is spectacular, the neighborhood is not safe and it is very noisy. It is a very claustrophobic hotel because all the passages are windowless small and narrow and then you are taken into a tiny bedroom that you cannot swing a cat in which is even more claustrophobic. Tiny little lifts which you wait for endlessly. The bedroom was attractively decorated with a good view and the bathroom at first glance was well appointed. However, first of all the toilet had not been cleaned (really disgusting) and bathroom smelt of terrible damp. I had booked for two nights and I left immediately the next morning after a revolting breakfast on the terrace. Do not stay here.

Room Tip: Tiny claustrophobic bedroom, bathroom well fitted but was not clean and smelt of damp
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank flowerpowergardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritapagliari, Proprietario at Hotel San Francesco al Monte, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2011

Dear Ms “Flowerpower”!
Good morning from Naples!
We are totally disappointed with your review just for one reason: The Hotel as you can see in all the website was an old convent of XVI century so for this reason can’t be claustrophobic! It’s an historical place so it’s our choice to leave all like the past but with modern comfort like the Jacuzzi shower or bath in all the rooms.
We have two elevators that can bring up 12 people each, so I don’t think so that is small!
For the cleaning is almost impossible because we are very straight with our house keeper and we have morning and afternoon service.
The breakfast buffet that you sad was “revolting” is one of our service that our guest prefer and make us compliments!
Maybe the only thing that can understand is the small of damp (not terrible and disgusting as you sad) that can be caused because the hotel was caved into the rocks.
I think that all travelers has to choice with more attention the structure and choice the hotel not for the price or the facilities (like the swimming pool)!
Next time I suggest to find a modern and common hotel to enjoy your vacation!

Rita Pagliari
Hotel San Francesco al Monte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

The hotel situated in a converted monastery is beautiful! Dinner on the terrace was pricey but lovely, a very romantic setting with an amazing view. It was quite difficult to locate although front desk was nice enough to send someone to guide us up the hill. Our room was small but clean. The mattress had bulging buttons that were miserable to sleep on. There was no hot (or warm) water in morning, they sent someone but there was no explanation or fix. The front desk was quite unhelpful and didn't seem to care if we had a nice stay when we checked out. Overall staff did not seem thrilled about being there. Internet was not available unless you purchased an overpriced 24 hour card because they were out of the smaller ones. Even though it is pricey, it would be a lovely place if they pay attention to fixing details! Separate from the hotel is Naples; a filthy city with piles of garbage everywhere. Not a place a tourist would enjoy!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pgardebled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

This hotel was lovely. Unusual as well because it is a converted convent, so the rooms are not modern, they have enormous charecter and are clean and confortable and the bathroom had a spa bath which was great after a hard day of touring. The bed was really confortable. The restauarnt had an outdoor terrace which overlooked the bay of Naples and the food was superb. The pool was closed when we went in April, but we sat on the adjacent roof terrace enjoying the spring sunshine and heat. We left totally relaxed. It's the only place we would consider if we ever return to naples again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank candyrio27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2011

I stayed at the San Francesco for almost a month. Yes there is the occasional wedding but the noise never bothered me. The service, the rooms and the views are superb and the staff are lovely. I am traveling again to Naples in April on a family holiday and have booked the San Francesco for several days - I wouldn't stay any where else in Naples.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
Thank Kateinkigali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2010

Thoroughly enjoyed a long weekend here. Wonderful views of the bay from our room, friendly atmosphere and excellent service. The only very slight downside was its distance from other restaurants.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PremierCru22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2010

The hotel has great views over Naples, the bay and Vesuvius in the distance. The staff were friendly and helpful.
We had dinner at the hotel restaurant the first night which was excellent. The breakfasts were good with sufficient selection. The hotel is on a hill overlooking Naples and so not in the centre of activity. However there are two funiculars relatively close to the hotel. The only downside (and this is not a reflection of the hotel) is Naples itself which is a dirty city. There is the rubbish issue and on top of that there is lots of dog poo on the pavements, so you need to watch where you walk.
The only negative issue was the bedroom / bathroom. They were in need of a bit of upkeep. The bath had mould round the sides and the room was looking a little tired with a hole in the wall where the curtain hook should be. But apart from that we had a very comfortable and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JB238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Romeo Hotel
#15 of 186 in Naples
1,137 reviews
Grand Hotel Oriente
#8 of 186 in Naples
1,081 reviews
Royal Continental Hotel
#42 of 186 in Naples
2,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Ferdinando
Hotel Il Convento
Hotel Il Convento
#4 of 186 in Naples
989 reviews
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 186 in Naples
1,519 reviews
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 186 in Naples
2,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Francesco al Monte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Francesco al Monte

Address: Corso Vittorio Emanuele 328, 80135, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Price Range: £92 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Francesco al Monte 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seemingly carved into a mountain side, a 16th century monastery once home to the monks of Barbanti (due to their flowing beards) is now home to a timeless retreat. Hotel San Francesco offers serene views over the Bay of Naples, Mount Vesuvius ana Capri Island and easy access to the colourful Naples street life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel San Francesco al Monte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing