We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding Bliss”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel San Francesco al Monte
Ranked #25 of 190 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wedding Bliss”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

What an amazing venue, overlooking the bay of Naples, and just one stop on the fonicular [metro] to the centre of the city. Rita, the owner, gave such wonderful attention to detail in arranging the wedding for my son and new daughter in law. Over 150 guests arriving from all over the globe were welcomed with precision planning and typical Italian hospitality.

The rooms are well equipped and all have great views and the service from the staff was impeccable, especially our wonderful Vincenzo!

We stayed here for 4 days and cannot praise it enough. Great food, great location, great service. Children are also catered for and extra large rooms are available for families. My daughter stayed in one of these with her two children and it was excellent.

I have already recommended the hotel to my friends and also business colleagues as it is a superb place for business meetings and seminars also. I cant wait to go back for another stay.

Well done Rita and the team, you are all amazing!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dahlia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    364
    264
    105
    51
    33
See reviews for
127
413
15
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

The hotel had phenomenal views - the best in Naples. Lovely breakfast on the terrace overlooking the city, port and Vesuvius. Decent rooms and only slightly slow service by very friendly staff. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexZenovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

We had a wonderful stay at Hotel San Francesco al Monte. Our room had a wonderful view of the city and the Bay of Naples. I really appreciated the location; the hotel is located in-between to funicular stops that bring you to the center of town (or up to some other great neighborhoods and Metro connections). The neighborhood felt very safe--even late at night--and there is a great restaurant just down the road.

And the food. The food! We only had one meal at the restaurant and it was great, but we were fortunate enough to be guests at a wedding held at the hotel. Wow! Everything we ate was remarkable. Antipasti, pasta, SEAFOOD...make sure to book at least one meal at the hotel. The only thing I didn't like was the house white wine, which was strange since you are in Italy and even cheap wine is usually pretty good. Stick to the red.

The hotel staff went out of their way to be helpful to throughout our stay, including working out prices with cabs ahead of time so we didn't get overcharged. The atmosphere could not be more charming...don't every corridor is a surprise including an old chapel and a delightful pool on the roof. The entire former monastery is built into a cliff and you really get a sense of how unique the building is. Keep in mind, this isn't an ultramodern hotel...that combined with the cliff means things can seem a bit old and damp, but we didn't run into any of the mustiness problems other reviewers have mentioned.

All in all, the hotel is a great home base in Naples (and jumping off point for seeing everything from Capri to Sorrento).

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a city/bay view! What a way to start the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank economush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

Great place to stay in Naples. Really interesting and atmospheric building which whisks you away from the bustle of Naples. Awesome terraces and views of the city. Great staff. Very friendly. I'd definitely stay again. Very different to the usual places!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HobbesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

If you are going to Naples look no further then this sanctuary in the bustling and chaotic city of Naples.

The hotel looks over the Bay of Naples and you can see as far as Capri, Ischia and the Vesuvius as well and a dramatic city view.

The setting of the hotel blows you away and if you are looking for a romantic break then this is the place.

The owner is active in the business and they make sure that you are taken care of at all time while booking restaurants, trips and transfers.

The rooms are amazing and unique with exceptional customer service.

We had our wedding here and the setting, the food, the staff and location was amazing...more then you could ever imagine from Naples.

Hotels in Italy rarely impress you and this certainly is breath taking in everyday with some much history in the old convent which has delicately been converted in hotel a hotel.

This is a QUALITY Hotel with antique charms.

you cannot be disappointed...

If you are looking to make an impression, to relax and too experience Naples in the best way STAY HERE.

Marco Cassandro

Grazie Rita and the team

Room Tip: Every Room has a unique view and some have a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcassandro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

We had booked a superior room - the only thing which was superior about it was the price. It was about 28C (83F) when we arrived but no one had thought to turn on the antiquated air-conditioning in our rooom in anticipation. When we arrived there was a wedding reception taking place in the hotel and a group of golfers also arrived at the same time, We were lucky to get a parking space in front of the hotel but they insisted on valet parking it at €25 per day. Wifi was €20 per day. The whole place is a rip-off. As a previous reviewer mentioned, everything about the rooms feels old and dingy (see photo of bath towel). Our luxury bathroom had mould growing round the bath. And the toilet was in free-flow when we reached the room - we complained, they sent the bell boy to check it, he knew what the problem was (as it clearly was not the first time) but could not fix it until the technician came the next day. He duly came, fixed it and after one flush, it was back in free-flow. So two nights with little sleep and a shrug from reception when we checked out - no manager there to sort out a discount - eventually they called the owner who removed our expensive and unimpressive meal from the previous night. Breakfast also not up to scratch - awful cheap orange juice and poor selection of everything else - AVOID

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SRPLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
123 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

We looked forward to staying in an authentic monastery in the middle of Naples but Hotel San Francesco al Monte also has its downsides.

First of all there is the location. Corso Vittorio Emanuele is a very busy street. The rooms are relatively good sound-proofed so no problems in that area. Unfortunately, if you are travelling by car you will soon notice there is little parking space available in the neighbourbood. even if you would be willing to park like the Italians do... The hotel has a few parking spaces in front of the building but when we stayed there they were reserved for a wedding and regular hotel guests could not park there. The hotel has its own valet parking but it's pretty expensive.

Also, the neigbourhood is a bit tacky, especially with the continuing problems regarding the garbage in Naples. Don't walk to the city center, especially not at night. The shortest road leads through the Quartieri Spagnoli that is -if not dangerous- very grim and intimidating. On a positive note: the hotel is within walking distance of a elevator that brings you to the center and (in the other direction) to the Vomero area where you will find lots of cheap restaurants.

Our rooms was nothing like the one(s) they show on the website. In fact, our room -with view on the city and the ocean- was a former monk cell. It was small and smelled very damp, probably because the hotel is partly carved into the rocks. All the tissues (drapes, curtains, towels...) were a bit old. The room was also very dark, as is most of the hotel. The bathroom was small, not very convenient and wasn't super clean either. The hotel doesn't provide stuff like a bath robe and slipper or even something as little as a pen in the room. Not the standard you would expect from a 4* hotel.

And the service isn't one you usually get in a 4* hotel either. The standing lamp in our room was broken so we unscrewed the bulb and left it for housekeeping. The next day, the bulb was gone but not replaced... The people at the reception were friendly but didn't really make an extra effort either.

The hotel hides plenty of surpises and when walking through the corridors you mights end up in a former chapel with authentic wall painting. Breakfast isn't bad and it's served on the top floor where you have a beautiful view on Naples. On the roof is a pool that unfortunately was closed when we were staying there. It opens only in June and only from 10 (I believe) untill 17h.

There was no internet connection in the room and the internet in the lobby was relatively expensive.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hanssterkendries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 190 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Romeo Hotel
#13 of 190 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Grand Hotel Parker's
#28 of 190 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
San Ferdinando
Hotel Il Convento
Hotel Il Convento
#4 of 190 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Francesco al Monte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Francesco al Monte

Property: Hotel San Francesco al Monte
Address: Corso Vittorio Emanuele 328, 80135, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 190 Hotels in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Francesco al Monte 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seemingly carved into a mountain side, a 16th century monastery once home to the monks of Barbanti (due to their flowing beards) is now home to a timeless retreat. Hotel San Francesco offers serene views over the Bay of Naples, Mount Vesuvius ana Capri Island and easy access to the colourful Naples street life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel San Francesco al Monte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing