We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel San Francesco al Monte
Ranked #21 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2011

After attending this hotel for a 4 day stay as part of my friends wedding, i can honestly say id return firstly to naples but more so to this hotel. The staff were welcoming and english speaking staff. rooms immaculate and clean so was the rest of the hotel. Views were amazing and even better by night overlooking the port. The pool on the top of the hotel also means a beach is not needed.
I must point out that the waiters also very warming and despite a large amount of customers to attend to in the evenings due to the wedding party they were attentive and friendly be it first thing in the morning or early hours.
With the tram a stones throw away you can also easily be in the hustle and bustle of the the town, where again Naples offers shopping, views and great food.
Even if you look in for a drink you will be looked after well. Recommend highly

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (928)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

263 - 269 of 929 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2011

This is a fantastic hotel, which has so much to offer. The setting of the hotel make you feel like the city is right on your doorstep. There is a fantastic view of the bay of Naples, church spires and terracotta roof tiles. The garden is a great place for breakfast, drinks and dinner and really made the stay for us.

The hotel itself is full of character, the food is fantastic and the pool area is very stylish and perfect size for a dip.

The local area has a couple of great friendly restaurants just around the corner and it's a short ramble in the city itself.

A great place to stay in Naples

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Location works very well, up the hill is much better than down as you get to appreciate panoramic views of the bay, the city, and Vesuvius in the background.; you're a short trip from the town on the funicular / by cab. Terrace is completely open and breakfast was excellent and plentiful. The hotel is a slightly older building but in good condition, bathrooms etc. Would return.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JustinChase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

What an amazing venue, overlooking the bay of Naples, and just one stop on the fonicular [metro] to the centre of the city. Rita, the owner, gave such wonderful attention to detail in arranging the wedding for my son and new daughter in law. Over 150 guests arriving from all over the globe were welcomed with precision planning and typical Italian hospitality.

The rooms are well equipped and all have great views and the service from the staff was impeccable, especially our wonderful Vincenzo!

We stayed here for 4 days and cannot praise it enough. Great food, great location, great service. Children are also catered for and extra large rooms are available for families. My daughter stayed in one of these with her two children and it was excellent.

I have already recommended the hotel to my friends and also business colleagues as it is a superb place for business meetings and seminars also. I cant wait to go back for another stay.

Well done Rita and the team, you are all amazing!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dahlia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

The hotel had phenomenal views - the best in Naples. Lovely breakfast on the terrace overlooking the city, port and Vesuvius. Decent rooms and only slightly slow service by very friendly staff. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexZenovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We had a wonderful stay at Hotel San Francesco al Monte. Our room had a wonderful view of the city and the Bay of Naples. I really appreciated the location; the hotel is located in-between to funicular stops that bring you to the center of town (or up to some other great neighborhoods and Metro connections). The neighborhood felt very safe--even late at night--and there is a great restaurant just down the road.

And the food. The food! We only had one meal at the restaurant and it was great, but we were fortunate enough to be guests at a wedding held at the hotel. Wow! Everything we ate was remarkable. Antipasti, pasta, SEAFOOD...make sure to book at least one meal at the hotel. The only thing I didn't like was the house white wine, which was strange since you are in Italy and even cheap wine is usually pretty good. Stick to the red.

The hotel staff went out of their way to be helpful to throughout our stay, including working out prices with cabs ahead of time so we didn't get overcharged. The atmosphere could not be more charming...don't every corridor is a surprise including an old chapel and a delightful pool on the roof. The entire former monastery is built into a cliff and you really get a sense of how unique the building is. Keep in mind, this isn't an ultramodern hotel...that combined with the cliff means things can seem a bit old and damp, but we didn't run into any of the mustiness problems other reviewers have mentioned.

All in all, the hotel is a great home base in Naples (and jumping off point for seeing everything from Capri to Sorrento).

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a city/bay view! What a way to start the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank economush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Great place to stay in Naples. Really interesting and atmospheric building which whisks you away from the bustle of Naples. Awesome terraces and views of the city. Great staff. Very friendly. I'd definitely stay again. Very different to the usual places!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HobbesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Romeo Hotel
#15 of 186 in Naples
1,137 reviews
Grand Hotel Oriente
#8 of 186 in Naples
1,082 reviews
Royal Continental Hotel
#42 of 186 in Naples
2,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Ferdinando
Hotel Il Convento
Hotel Il Convento
#4 of 186 in Naples
989 reviews
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 186 in Naples
1,519 reviews
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 186 in Naples
2,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Francesco al Monte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Francesco al Monte

Address: Corso Vittorio Emanuele 328, 80135, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Price Range: £92 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Francesco al Monte 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seemingly carved into a mountain side, a 16th century monastery once home to the monks of Barbanti (due to their flowing beards) is now home to a timeless retreat. Hotel San Francesco offers serene views over the Bay of Naples, Mount Vesuvius ana Capri Island and easy access to the colourful Naples street life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel San Francesco al Monte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing