We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel San Francesco al Monte
Ranked #22 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
North Canton, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

This hotel is gorgeous! It was fun just to wander around the hotel stumbling upon different rooms within the hotel (was an old monestary). We stayed on the 3rd floor-we had great views of the city from our window. The room was gorgeous was well-it had a chandelier with ceiling paintings-was very roomy-had a jacuzzi shower-roomy bathroom-big roomy bed-beautiful windows to open, a little sitting area to read-a mini fridge and a safe-a writing desk...oh and a.c! ( It was a hot one while we were here so the a.c. was heavenly). The room and hotel as a whole was very clean and nicely decorated. The breakfast area was very nice-good views of the city-and the food was pretty good. The swimming pool was great! it is alittle smaller but was not crowded-and while it has very nice views of the city on the one end of the upper floor with the pool on it it also has nice little trees and flowers that make you feel like you are in a little wilderness oasis. We loved swimming in the pool....when it was open. It is only open from 9 till 5-which we were kinda bummed about the first night-we were looking forward to cooling off in the pool after walking around for a good 30 minutes in the heat with our backpacks on trying to find the hotel (it really isn't too hard to find we just got mixed up-there is a bus stop directly across the street from the hotel or if you hang a left outside of the hotel and go down some stairs down the road it leads you out to a station (probably 10 minute walk)- but once we got to our cold room we were happy enough to just hang out in there. There are a few little shops within walking distance down the road. The rooms were pretty quiet. Overall we really really liked the hotel- It was a beautiful hotel and at a decent price. I only wish that gorgeous swimming pool was open longer throughout the day!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    388
    281
    107
    52
    34
See reviews for
139
433
17
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Walton on Thames
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Right from the start the staff couldn't, have been more helpful. We arrived at this magnificent hotel 3 hours before we were due to check in, no problem, we were able to deposit our cases and chill out by the wonderful pool while we waited for our room. Throughout our stay the staff were attentive and cheerful especially the chap by the pool, he really made an effort to make sure everyone had what they wanted and always had a smile on his face. The building has been converted from monastery to hotel really sympathetically and it's all the better for it. We had a standard room, which is 2 cells knocked in to 1, and it was great. My only gripe is no tea or coffee making facilities in the room and I didn't have a clue how to work the safe (no instructions). Great views, brilliant location, fantastic staff, loved it!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

My wife and I spent three nights in this unique, historic hotel set high on the hill overlooking the Naples harbour, with Vesuvius providing the backdrop. In short, the views were spectacular. Few will match the outlook from the breakfast area (where the sevice and buffet breakfasts were probably the best we enjoyed on the mainland) or rooftop gardens above.Our room was an executive room with sea view - very comfortable! From the hotel's front door one may walk to the left along to the first road that takes cars and pedestrians down through a relatively poor residential and commercial area, where fresh fruit and fish, laid out on the pavements, were half price, compared to other areas. Armed with water bottles, delicious strawberries, bananas and the best-priced gelati, we then walked Sophia Loren's "back streets of Naples" and on to all the tourist highlights till, eventually, exhausted, we'd find a great restaurant with Lacrimus Christi at a reasonable price, before taxiing back up to the hotel each evening. Catching the train to climb Vesuvius and see Pompeii was also easy and our hotel staff offered excellent advice on all our excursions. We also visited the island of Procida from this hotel base - a dream excursion to a place with outstanding restaurants, great taxi drivers and incredible, colourful vistas. If we return to Naples one day - and who would not, as there are so many day excurions outward that may be made from here? - this hotel will again be our base.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halle, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
366 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We ended our trip around the gulf of Naples in this hotel before returning home. As we came of the islands, we were pleased to find this hotel where we could keep the noice of Naples outside. The view and the pool are great.
If you want to swim, pay attention. The pool is open from 9 to 17h.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wyns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

The hotel clearly displays its history, and is perfect for those who appreciate unique hotels. The view was the best part--since the hotel sits high on the hills in Naples, our room had an amazing view of the water from the two large windows. The room was small but comfortable, with a writing desk, table, and a small sofa in a niche. Small closet, little drawer space. The bathroom had a combo tub-shower, but the plumbing was awkward to use to shower and the bathtub very small. Oddly, the room had two liquid-based air fresheners that were obnoxiously overpowering. The room was beautifully decorated, with a wonderful old-fashioned feel to the decor.

I found the staff a little lacking. On checking in, the front desk couldn't seem to find our reservation, and then didn't know how much our room was supposed to be. The breakfast staff was quite unfriendly, until we turned over our tea cups to find them filthy and then they were very apologetic. The breakfast was simple but tasty enough.

The neighborhood was uphill from the downtown area, which meant a refreshing walk, or harried taxi ride, back up to the hotel. We didn't see many restaurants in the area, though the little restaurant we found downhill from the hotel was amazing.

Room Tip: Anything with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KelKitties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

wonderful place, lots of past history. breathtaking view from the breakfast view. lovely staff. cosy room. free internet on the ground floor. this is a real boutique hotel. I wish there would be more places like this one.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gigio13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle WA
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

This is an elegant hotel, with staff that is well trained and smart, the English is great and the hospitality is wonderful. Breakfast is served on a terrace that over looks the waters of Naples and faces Vesuvius. The breakfast is very good, the pool was closed but the hotel was loaded with great art. I think this hotel is worth the money and the ambiance makes it a great value especially if you can get a value deal, its worth the hike up the stairs to get the amazing view and service. Love to stay there again.

Room Tip: All of Naples is a hill - bring your walking shoes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Capetownrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 186 in Naples
1,414 reviews
Royal Continental Hotel
#44 of 186 in Naples
2,488 reviews
Romeo Hotel
#20 of 186 in Naples
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Grand Hotel Oriente
#9 of 186 in Naples
989 reviews
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Francesco al Monte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Francesco al Monte

Property: Hotel San Francesco al Monte
Address: Corso Vittorio Emanuele 328, 80135, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Francesco al Monte 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seemingly carved into a mountain side, a 16th century monastery once home to the monks of Barbanti (due to their flowing beards) is now home to a timeless retreat. Hotel San Francesco offers serene views over the Bay of Naples, Mount Vesuvius ana Capri Island and easy access to the colourful Naples street life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel San Francesco al Monte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing