We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel San Francesco al Monte
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$264
US$231
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$252
US$244
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$263
US$226
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Piazza Bellini(Naples)
US$193
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$391
US$354
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$276
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$260
US$161
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$316
US$246
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$199
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Grand Hotel Europa(Naples)(Great Value!)
US$124
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (978)
Filter reviews
978 results
Traveller rating
449
319
118
56
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
449
319
118
56
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconverted monasterybay of naplesroof gardenswimming poolpool closesrestaurant terraceunique hotelfunicular railwayspanish quartertop flooroverlooking the baymini fridgemount vesuviussuperior roomfive nightsvia toledoold building
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
200 - 205 of 978 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2014

travelling with elderly guests this hotel is quite different lovely interior as it was an old monastery.Most of had to use the lifts as the stairs never led to the floor you were booked on in fact trying to find stairs was a problem as no directions to them..One worrying thing rooms had no Fire drill plan this needs to be addressed.

The room was okay.We had NO HOT water for 3 nights as did other guests also electric wiring on plugs and light fittings were hanging out the back of them, we did complain but were still the same on leaving after 4 night stay.

Food on the whole was good we only did b/b.

Location far too noisy a road outside the hotel driving in Naples is appalling,

Room Tip: No idea as most of us elderly guests we not too happy with what they had.We had air conditioning,beds were comfy and clean
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank turtletops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This is an amazing hotel with an incredible view of naples. Staff are very helpful and will print out ferry times etc and advise what to see. Our room had a huge window which was like a painting as the view of the city is that good. A jacuzzi bath and good shower.
We chilled by the pool taking in the sights and had a fab lunch (expensive compared to other places but worth it) we used to get the train (funicular) down the hills to the water which is novel in itself and then walk as taxis can be expensive. We did a kayak trip around naples which we found on trip advisor and it was one of the best things we did so if it's for you defo book it up before your trip or when there like I did.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kslangley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianna S, Direttore vendite at Hotel San Francesco al Monte, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Karin M,
first of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel; for us is very important improve service and meet the expectations of our guests.

The satisfaction of our guests is our first aim! We appreciated all your compliments. We are very happy that you enjoy our wonderful city .

Looking forward to welcome you soon again in our “convent” and at your disposal for future requests.

Marianna Sarno
Hotel San Francesco al Monte - convento

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Only been here two nights but just had to say what a fabulous place. This hotel has a fantastic rooftop garden an oasis in a crazy city. Tranquility and beauty with a lovely dipping pool (not for exercise but to cool you down) the flowers and shrubs are fantastic. The hot water may be slow to arrive and the cupboard space sparse in the rooms but the staff are lovely and the breakfast included is very good. We love this place. ...... Will update at end of holiday.....

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ais0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We loved this hotel. Friendly staff, great location, beautiful room.

What we particularly liked was the bathroom window. Whilst showering/bathing you have a great view over the city. This hotel is all about the views. I must say we expected the pool to be bigger, but eventually we did not go for a proper swim: the temperature went down quite quickly in the late afternoon and the water is not heated.

From the hotel you walk straight into the Quartieri Spagnoli, which is an interesting area and close to Via Toledo and all the sights.

We found the restaurant and bar a bit pricey, but that is the only negative we can think of.

We will definitely stay here again if we decide to visit Naples once more.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaasmeisje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

A very nice hotel converted from a former 16th-century monastery with wonderful views from the bedroom windows across the Bay of Naples to Mount Vesuvius. On the forth floor is the terrace where you can have continental breakfast under sun shades also affording the same spectacular view across the Bay of Naples. This is a quiet hotel and you cannot hear the traffic noise from the road below. The roof garden is a surprise, and is really beautiful and well tended and not to be missed, also this is where a small swimming pool is.

On the minus side the bedrooms do not have anywhere to unpack your suitcase, just two bedside cabinets with two draws each on each side of the bed. The wardrobe has about six hangers to hang your clothes on and no shelves, so be prepared not to unpack your suitcase.The bathroom floor and bath/shower is very slippery when wet.
We requested a rubber bath mat for the bath but were given a couple of cotton bath mats which the maid took away after a couple of changes The hotel do supply paper slippers to wear presumably to stop slipping.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harveyKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews