We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel San Francesco al Monte
Ranked #23 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A very special hotel”
Reviewed 16 July 2009

This hotel is absolutely fantsatic. The staff were friendly and extremely helpful. The superior room we had was clean and very spacious. The pool was a God send as it was very hot over 30 everyday. The location was a short walk from the funicular and a nice one too as you can see the whole of Naples. Breakfast was great with a nice range on offer and complimented by the views from the roof terrace. We will be back. There were two wedding while we were there but they did not affect us at all. We had an evening meal there which was also very nice after a hard day at Pompei.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PickaLilly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    277
    106
    51
    34
See reviews for
137
423
17
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
US
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2009

This 4-star hotel cost no more than other 3-star places we stayed in Italy, and is so luxurious that we felt like stars in a classic movie. Our room had a stunning panoramic view of the bay. The buffet breakfast was served on the rooftop terrace and featured a huge range of choices - pastries, eggs and bacon, meats and cheeses, fruits and cereals, and great coffee too. When we had trouble with our room safe people came twice to help and refused to accept a tip. Naples is fun but noisy and hectic; as soon as we walked in the hotel doors each day we felt the tranquility of the place envelop us. The staff was very professional and helpful. The surrounding neighborhood is very quiet; we felt a little nervous the first night when we arrived in Naples by train and then had to take the metro, then the funiculare, and finally walk about a quarter-mile to the hotel, but we never had any problems.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
136 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2009

The hotel is an oasis of peace and quiet above the bustle of Naples. There are beautiful gardens and a swimming pool on the top floor - a great way to orientate yourself in the town for the first visit. The terrace is perfect for romantic drinks in the evening, looking across the bay. The hotel may not be centrally located, but we liked the peace and quiet, and you can walk into town and/or use local public transport. Breakfast is on the terrace (again!) - although the buffet is typical 4*, the views make the experience: Vesuvius, the islands... If I had to be picky, they gave us instant coffee for breakfast (yes, instant coffee in Italy!), and our room furnishings definitely tended towards the monastic (fab bathroom though). And those views....

  • Liked — location & views
  • Disliked — instant coffee for breakfast
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DH76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2008

we stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. the overall experience was good as the hotel has charm and some phenomenal facilities eg the huge 7th floor terrace w swimming pool and the breakfast restaurant on the 4th floor w terrace and views of the bay. the location is very convenient to visit all the major sites and it is close to the best shopping areas. there are drawbacks and some are significant. our room was pretty small and the bathroom only had a shower no tub. the remarks by other reviewers about wedding receptions are also true. the restaurant and/or the 7th floor facilities are booked very often for weddings and closed off to hotel guests in late pm and evening- this was the case one evening when we were there and, as confirmed to us by the reception staff, happens very frequently. beware of the rooms too close to the wedding party if you want to sleep at night. we had a room on a lower level and there is quite a bit of noise in the street - Neapolitans are very fond of honking.

  • Liked — location, charm, view
  • Disliked — noise, service
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fifon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
162 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2008

Last minute vacation for three days and chose Naples because the sun was shining and still in the 30 degree's. The hotel staff were friendly and hospitable. We arrived before the usual check in time and we were offered to sit by the pool or take lunch in the restaurant which has incredible views over Napoli. Room was spacious and comfortable (beds a bit hard) although the air conditioning was not powerful enough for me. Restaurant great and just enough choice for the three days we were there. Napoli itself was dirty and lots of dog muck in the streets, so watch where you walk! Interesting city, lots to see.

  • Liked — The pool and views across the City
  • Disliked — No spa
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACAMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2008

Location is good, the views are stunning. The hotel retains the characteristics of the monastery with an interesting mix of ancient and modern art and furniture. Views are great, and it's a nice retreat at the end of the day from chaotic old Naples below. Terrace on 7th floor is a beautiful garden with sofas and armchairs; there was no private function so we could use it all the time; however as rooms (except 2) do not have balconies, if the terrace is closed you're only left with the view. Breakfast on 4th floor terrace was excellent. Rooms (510 and 56) were nicely furnished and of a good size. Staff was ok, but night shift did not particularly care when I told them that the leg of my bed was broken, and tried to make me pay for an additional room (I was sharing room with twin beds and only single rooms were available). Short walk to funicolare to go downtown, otherwise taxi is the best option.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank gianlucamanzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2007

We stayed in this hotel at the beginning of October to attend a party and it was a very mixed experience.

It started with an administrative nightmare (and finished with another, unresolved yet). A friend of us was having a celebration in Naples and booked the hotel for several couples coming from abroad. We wanted to arrive one night earlier so we contacted the hotel directly as he sugested to arrange it. In August, after several tries (e-mails not answered) we managed to book a room at a certain price. Since we didn't get a confirmation from them despite again several e-mails we called them in september and they said they didn't have such a reservation from us. Yes, they had rooms available for that night, but not at the price that they had quoted before and we had used for the reservation. After several phone calls with different people we managed to get the room at the price initially offered. By the way, we were not the only ones experiencing problems trying to book an additional night to the ones originally booked for the party.

The hotel is nice, fantastic views, wonderful breakfast on the 4th floor terrace. The upper floor garden and swimming pool are beautiful and I am sure it will be fantastic to sit there at the end of the day with a drink or have a swimm after pottering around all day, however, we were unable to use them on the three days we were there because there was always a private function or another going on. Our room was small and simple, but OK, same for the shower room. You have to be patient with the air conditioning, ours was powerful enough, but was placed under a windowshill with a big slab of marble directly above, so most of the cool ir was trapped there, but it was OK after a while. The problem was that we were given the room next to the restaurant / terrace on the 4th floor where they had a celebration every night we were there ,and in front of the elevator, as a result, from midnight on and for a couple of hours it was hell, first with guests leaving and afterwards with the staff was clearing up, including plenty of things (tables?) being pushed along the corridor and plenty of shouting. On the last morning we were talking about that during breakfast while one of the waiters was bringing coffee and looking at the key on our table he said "ah! you had 41. Puffff!". So they know perfectly well what they are submitting their guests to when they assign that room.

The worst part though came at the end. We paid our room and left for the airport and when we arrived home we received a phone call from the friend hosting the party asking if we had also paid for the room. Yes, of course. Well, apparently, all the rooms were already paid for, and they had charged all of us a second time. They promised to reimburse us, but up to know, despite several e-mails, etc., no sign of the money yet. Our friend was terribly upset, they managed to ruin the final part of his celebration.

So, bottom line, if you still decide to stay here, be patient, get everything confirmed in writing (reservations and prices specially) and avoid room 41 and you may have a good stay.

  • Liked — Location, views, breakfast on the terrace
  • Disliked — Administrative mess, the noise in the corridor every night
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank London-E-A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 186 in Naples
1,385 reviews
Royal Continental Hotel
#44 of 186 in Naples
2,438 reviews
Romeo Hotel
#21 of 186 in Naples
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Grand Hotel Oriente
#9 of 186 in Naples
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Francesco al Monte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Francesco al Monte

Property: Hotel San Francesco al Monte
Address: Corso Vittorio Emanuele 328, 80135, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Francesco al Monte 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seemingly carved into a mountain side, a 16th century monastery once home to the monks of Barbanti (due to their flowing beards) is now home to a timeless retreat. Hotel San Francesco offers serene views over the Bay of Naples, Mount Vesuvius ana Capri Island and easy access to the colourful Naples street life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel San Francesco al Monte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing