We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Safe Haven” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Plaza
Ranked #50 of 189 Hotels in Naples
Dorset, England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Safe Haven”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

This is a very nice hotel in the somewhat unsettling city of Nalpes. Walking from the main station with my bags I called in at several rather dodgy hotels along equally dodgy roads but as soon as I stepped into the Plaza I felt safe and secure. One advantage is that it can be reached in 5 minutes from the train station. Come out the station, walk straight ahead, keeping to the right of the plaza (currently under construction). Ignore the street life, walk to the end of the plaza and turn right when you hit the junction. The hotel is a short way along, set back from the main road in the left hand corner of the square.
I had a room overlooking the square. It was lovely as it caught the afternoon sun and although slightly noisy until about 11pm I slept very well. The room was clean, lovely fresh, good quality sheets, nice pillows and extra bedding available. Lots of extras available such as free tea and coffee making facilities-just ask at reception. Reception were friendly (mostly) especially Max and Gianfranco who went out of their way to be helpful.
Lovely breakfast (try the fresh bread rolls) served by a waitress who was unfailingly pleasant. Nothing was too much trouble. ANd served in the bright rooftop restaurant.
I was given a choice of bath or shower. Chose shower. yes the cubicle was small but plenty of hot water and a nice strong shower. Towels were changed daily, beds made each day.
TV only CNN in English.
Wifi free in rooms and lobby. I had no problems logging on with the code from reception.
I doubt I would ever visit Naples again (it was a disappointment;dirty and noisy and not nice after dark) but if a friend was visiting I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for room at front if you like watching people and sitting in the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lodore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    368
    201
    68
    46
See reviews for
143
325
56
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

The best western is good value for money, its a good 3 star, better than many 4 stars, the staff were great, the catering manager made a special effort to get us a kettle in our room and supply us with British Earl Grey tea bags specially, this was a very nice touch. They were also able to offer lots of free extras for your room, lend you a coffee machine, dressing gowns, all sorts they couldnt do enough for you, the cleaning was good too.

Breakfast was excellent, up on the top floor for nice views of the city, very tasty fresh bread each morning and proper coffee, plenty of fresh fruit and choice of cereals, help yourself to as much as you like, but there is a waitress to bring you drinks too, only grumble was the fruit juices were a bit water down though.

Location wise its very good, 0 mins walk from restaurants, 5 mins walk to Historic centre, 1 min walk to train station (get out of napoli and explore the amalfi coast instead i recommend), 10 mins walk to coastline/ferry port. Most of the best bars/restaraunts are a bit of a walk away from here though, the bar in the hotel is nice enough for an evening, comfy sofas, good music.

the only problem is Naples itself still has a massive waste management problem, whilst the countryside around here is worth the trip the city itself is filthy, litter, dumping and piles of trash in the street, dogs muck cover the pavements and graffiti on everything even churches and war memorials, its a shame on a proud nation that a handful of people are making the place look like a landfill site and ruining it for tourists and locals a like.

My advice, spend one night here, see the best sites, the piazza de plebscito, the museum of archeology, the duomo, herculaneum etc, get some pizza and red wine down you and then get the heck out of Naples asap and go and stay in Sorrento or Amalfi, its lovely in the countryside and Pompeii is a must, vesuvius is beautiful, the food, history, culture and coastline is fantastic around here, but until the Mayor / Council sort out the filth in the city I would only use Naples for the airport and then stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jimmyt090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
158 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

I suggest you skip the City of Naples altogether. But if you really must then this Hotel is maybe up there as compared to the others in the area. Its a 2 star hotel with a 2 star kind service in my book. Very scary and dirty neighborhood. Staff are not at all friendly and not at all helpful. Internet in the lobby is not for free and comp breakfast is forgettable. Rooms are tight, they are mostly here in Europe. Rooms are clean with all the basic except cable tv. I wont be returning to Naples again so this hotel will forever be just a "memory".

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dorycook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Naples hotels

Costa Mesa, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We checked in after my wife was robbed in broad daylight in front of the hotel. The clerk inside noticed the problem, but evidently it is fairly common in that area and no one can do anything to stop it.
The inside of the hotel is nice, but dark. The room was well kept and comfortable, which is good because we stayed inside a lot more than we planned. Breakfast was good. Served at top of hotel and in a bright open room. Servers were pleasant and helpful. Nice hotel, terrible area.

Room Tip: book outside of Naples or go further South of Pompeii.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank x666dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

Everything has been excellent. The hotel is very close to the city centre. The personnel, all of them were very frindly and very helpful. The room was very clean and confortable. The breakfast is served on the roof with an amazing view. What can I say more? for sure I´ll come again to this hotel in my next visit to Naples.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marmax62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

I stayed at the Best Western Plaza with 2 female friends and we had a lovely stay. The rooms were more than adequate and very clean. The staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough to help us. We could not fault anything and would definately stay here again and would happily advise others to do so.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimmybelinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

Having read the reviews we thought we had made a big mistake in booking here! We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel, although some of the staff were a little unwelcoming. The room was lovely, bathroom really nice and the bed very comfy. The cleaners do a great job with the rooms and supply plenty of towels every day. Double glazing on doors worked a treat as area outside is very noisy, especially early in the morning. Our only gripe was the tv had no english speaking channel apart from CNN. For a budget hotel i could not rate this hotel enough. It is convenient for the train station and buses, about a 5 min walk away.
Whilst the hotel is lovely, the area outside is very undesirable. it is noisy, it is dirty, the buildings around are covered in grafitti and look fit to collapse at any moment. There is lots of rubbish and the roads are a complete nightmare to cross, very crazy drivers are the people of Naples on their scooters. We ate out every night at a restaurant opposite the entrance to the hotel (reasonably priced and the staff were lovely) we weren't brave enough to venture anywhere else past 8 o'clock. Summing up, fantastic location to get to Pompeii, Vesuvius, Herculaneum and Sorrento etc with ease. Trains and buses are fantastic, very cheap, always on time, if a little crowded. Just use this hotel as a base to travel out from and WATCH your bags.

Room Tip: none of the views from any of the rooms will be nice. overlooking the roads and other building
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Ramada Naples
#43 of 189 in Naples
3.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Grand Hotel Europa
#47 of 189 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercato
ibis Styles Napoli Garibaldi
Mercato
Hotel San Pietro
Hotel San Pietro
#11 of 189 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Stelle Hotel
#28 of 189 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Plaza

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel Plaza
Address: Piazza Principe Umberto 23, 80142, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Naples
#35 Luxury Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Hotel Plaza is a comfortable hotel situated in the immediate neighbourhood of the city centre and the modern business centre in a recently restructured 19th century building. After careful works of modernisation and restoration of the building and facilities and with a complete restyling of the furnishings in the rooms and the public area, Best Western Hotel Plaza is ready to welcome its guest in a refined and comfortable setting. Located at 200 metres from the central railway station, at the back of Piazza Garibaldi from where it is possible to arrive in any area of the city thanks to efficiency of the Metropolitana and Circumvesiana, the hotel, because of its favourable position, is certainly the ideal place for families visiting Naples and for men on business trips. The port of Naples and the international airport of Capodichino can be reached in a few minutes with the special shuttles departing from Piazza Garibaldi. Best Western Hotel Plaza give its guest environments that unite the warmth and welcome of large hotels with a modern and serviceable furnishing. 56 rooms and 1 jr.suite, all soundproofed and equipped for maximum comfort: air-conditioning, direct line telephone, satellite television, Internet access, safe and hair dryers. Each floor of hotel has a room carefully furnished for handicapped guests. WI-FI FREE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp and Expedia so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plaza
Best Western Naples
Naples Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing