We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel review october 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Plaza
Ranked #62 of 185 Hotels in Naples
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Situated on the edge of the historic / old quarter of the city. The hotel is 200m from Piazza Garibaldi where the tram, bus, metro and rail stations are ... so easy access by public transport to anywhere in or out of the city. Hotel is spotlessly clean with comfy rooms and good soundproofing from the everyday clatter of daily life. Staff could not do enough to help and with a friendly and happy banter made the mundane requests so enjoyable. Breakfast was good with the coffee made fresh in front of you the way you wanted it. Overall a very pleasant weeks stay and would recommend to anybody who wants to see both sides of the city.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterthepainter100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (994)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

129 - 135 of 994 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2013

We chose the Hotel because it was close to the station. It is however in an awful part of Naples. The square outside the hotel is dirty with men sitting around all day, making you apprehensive. The first woman we encountered at reception was good, but it went down from there. Request for the optional tea making facility via the phone resulted in no action for 12 hrs, checking again told it was our responsibility to go to reception to pick items up. Breakfast was Average, service very patchy, tables not cleared, bread was stale on two days, you needed to be a local to get coffee from the person operating the cappuccino machine, others like us were directed to the self serve option. Room was clean but needed maintenance. Ok for a one night stay, but look elsewhere for an extended period.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

It's difficult to review this hotel. It's a mixed bag of results:

The good:

1) The hotel staff are exceptionally accommodating and helpful with sightseeing ideas, excellent restaurant suggestions and help when keys were lost due to theft of a bag. Molto grazie a i bellissimi Olimpia e Massimo!!

2) Good location for access to the train and public transport

3) Very affordable

The bad:

Not enough power sockets for today's electronics-centric lifestyles (but I could have packed a powerbar as I often do)

The ugly:

The area is possibly one of the worst in Naples - absolutely swarming with gipsies, illegals and criminals. My mum's bag was stolen from someone on a scooter while crossing a nearby street.

In short, if you don't need to be in the area, or if you're a bit of a naive or not a seasoned traveller, don't. But if you do want the strategic location and are street smart, I would highly recommend the Best Western Hotel Plaza.

Room Tip: Leave your hotel keys at reception to avoid them getting stolen. Only travel with a small amount of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cardiffian79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

I tried to see the positive here but cant. Breakfast is understaffed do we had to clear our tables, reception guy spent his whole time on the phone, miming to us what he needed us to do. Very few plugs in the room, breakfast terrace is just aweful. Did I say it was close to the train station?

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I agree with most of the reviews, they are fairly accurate. We picked it because we planned on touring Herculaneum, Pompeii, and hitting a few decent nearby restaurants, and it was very close to the main train station and the airport shuttle. I'm glad we did, because as many have pointed out the nearby hotels are seedy and probably primarily "sex hotels". No one is going to pay these prices for that.

As Best Westerns go it's above average, modern, renovated (apparently) rooms, everything clean, decent staff. Two were very helpful, two were indifferent. They did seem to have a hook into a nearby restaurant Mimi's which I also reviewed (not that it was dishonest). All I can complain about is they didn't renovate the showers, if they did they went cheap. Everything else was as expected of a hotel at this price level. Also I don't believe the 20 euro per night "hotel tax" they collect at checkout, although I may be wrong about that and we were in too big a hurry to argue.

I can't argue with the included breakfast, the spread was the best we had in Europe. You could eat your fill unless you expected an English or American breakfast, but even there they had quite a few of the healthier options (they had the only yogurt I saw in a hotel in Italy, for example). I cracked up at the "instant coffee" comment, there was an espresso machine manned by two staff that you just about ran into on your way in or out. They also did a decent job at it. Ad of course it was enclosed, would you want to eat in the searing August heat (even in the morning)? Those that trashed it were expecting more for their money than they had any right to expect.

The area as everyone has discovered is trashy, dirty, shady, has prostitution, high traffic with insane drivers, and is not at all appealing. The nearby touristy streets are decent though and there's plenty to look at. That being said, common sense is all you need to be safe. Like don't talk to strangers, keep your valuables close, don't walk in places you obviously weren't meant to walk in, especially at night. We never felt threatened, weren't bothered, obviously targeted, or solicited, but that might just be luck.

And Naples, clean up your streets, stinking garbage isn't appealing to tourists, believe it or not.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Orerockon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This hotel is horrible. When we checked in the front desk man was very rude and unhelpful. He just handed over the room key and on asking him how far is the center he just made a big circle on the map and starred at his computer.When you are in hospitality business you cannot be rude to your customer.The room reminded us of an hospital room boring blue walls with white light in the room.The bed sheet was stained.
Now for the location it is in the worst part of naples. The square in front of our hotel is filled with strange men sitting around and starring at what god knows.The street are filled with garbage everywhere.In the evening the square is filled with people selling second hand goods which look like they are stolen very very creepy.You walk even more ahead people are selling ipad and iphone randomly on the roads. In the evening the front desk man was different , he was kind enough to tell us not to walk on the roads and that he could arrange us a taxi for the center costing 15 euros. Lucky for us it was our last day of are holiday and we stayed only one night here. The hotel charges 25 euros flat for airport taxi. Take this taxi and run away from here

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nehasahaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

This is a hotel that is so near everywhere you want to see in Naples. It was clean excellent air condition fair but good breakfast except on Sunday the bread was not fresh. The staff at the reception were very friendly and helped answer our questions and provided us with tours and explained very well how to reach or get a bus to a destination. Gian Franco was very helpful every time and had always a smile on his face which is very welcoming. Only thing negative is that the square in front of hotel is very dirty and on some days in the evening it is used as a flee market by gypsies.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Mercato
ibis Styles Napoli Garibaldi
Fuorigrotta
Best Western JFK Hotel
Best Western JFK Hotel
#14 of 185 in Naples
725 reviews
Grand Hotel Europa
#52 of 185 in Naples
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Porto
Fly Boutique Hotel
Fly Boutique Hotel
#5 of 185 in Naples
486 reviews
Mercato
UNA Hotel Napoli
UNA Hotel Napoli
#21 of 185 in Naples
1,924 reviews
Ramada Naples City Center
#46 of 185 in Naples
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Plaza

Address: Piazza Principe Umberto 23, 80142, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Naples
#43 Luxury Hotel in Naples
Price Range: £46 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Hotel Plaza is a comfortable hotel situated in the immediate neighbourhood of the city centre and the modern business centre in a recently restructured 19th century building. After careful works of modernisation and restoration of the building and facilities and with a complete restyling of the furnishings in the rooms and the public area, Best Western Hotel Plaza is ready to welcome its guest in a refined and comfortable setting. Located at 200 metres from the central railway station, at the back of Piazza Garibaldi from where it is possible to arrive in any area of the city thanks to efficiency of the Metropolitana and Circumvesiana, the hotel, because of its favourable position, is certainly the ideal place for families visiting Naples and for men on business trips. The port of Naples and the international airport of Capodichino can be reached in a few minutes with the special shuttles departing from Piazza Garibaldi. Best Western Hotel Plaza give its guest environments that unite the warmth and welcome of large hotels with a modern and serviceable furnishing. 56 rooms and 1 jr.suite, all soundproofed and equipped for maximum comfort: air-conditioning, direct line telephone, satellite television, Internet access, safe and hair dryers. Each floor of hotel has a room carefully furnished for handicapped guests. WI-FI FREE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plaza
Best Western Naples
Naples Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing