We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just short of "charming"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chiaja Hotel de Charme
Ranked #22 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This hotel is located on a bustling pedestrian street--although cars and scooters still seem to meander through the hordes of people--and staying here makes you feel as if you are right in the middle of an electrifying city. Whether you actually ARE or not depends on what you are looking to do in Naples. The hotel is on a popular street for shopping and it is about a 15-minute walk to the waterfront or to the port. Piazza's, parks, pizzeria's and cafe's are all close by--but the centro storico district is a bit of a walk. For us, the location was fine as we visited Naples primarily for the September Pizza festival on the waterfront. As for the hotel, it was clean and comfortable for the most part. The room was large and stylish, but faced the back with an unappealing view of residential windows. The front desk staff seemed mostly uninterested in us. We were rushed through check-in and had to be persistent in getting our basic questions answered. We had a problem with the AC and we were told that the AC wouldn't work if the window was open. Even then, it still didn't seem to work great... Overall, those are minor complaints though and the pros mostly outweighed the cons during our stay. WIFI worked great, breakfast was very good with freshly made coffee, pastries, fruit, cereal, etc... As others have mentioned in comments, entering and exiting through the small door in the evenings was kind of funny, but the hotel certainly felt secure at night! We would stay there again due to the location and the reasonable accommodations. Not perfect and perhaps just short of "charming" but an adequate home base for exploring Naples.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AKWorldWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 1,289 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

In no way did our experience at the hotel match the charming quaint descriptions.the bathrooms smelled. It isn't even possible to get a cup of coffee in the early morning. We were very disappointed all around.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheodorBaisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Booked this hotel based on the reviews on this site and have to say it was fabulous. From the moment we arrived, its was welcoming and staff at reception were excellent. They has perfect english and were more than happy to help and advise on places to eat etc.The room was beautiful, a real italian feel, quite large, high ceilings, great décor. Large bathroom, spotlessly clean. There was excellent wifi. We had a lovely balcony overlooking the street below, yet the room was very quite during the night. There were lovely touches throughout the hotel, canapés to eat in the afternoon or take away and a lovely reception area. The only negative I would have is at night time you do have to go through a small little door to gain access to the courtyard and your room, but then again this adds to the character of it in. Great location close to the spanish quarter and main sites. I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Room facing onto the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keane79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This hotel came highly recommended and not just from reviews on this site. It was then quite disappointing in reality. It is central in its location (closet to the Spanish Quarter on one hand and other Naples sites on the other hand). Apparently, for safety reasons, after hours the huge gates to the premises are locked and you need to use a very small and low entrance (even with your suitcases). The room was not at all as described and even worse, not so as they looked on the site of the hotel itself. Ours was very clean and stood up to the promise of old, unique furniture. Somehow this did not add up to charming. May be it had to do with the uncomfortable matress and pillows. The AC never worked properly. This had to be reported twice to not much avail. The promised free internet turned out to be an inetrmittent connection with very low bandwidth when working. Not very usefull. Breakfast was actually nothing to write home about. Staff was indifferent with a smile. There's quite a lot of competition around with same prices. Go there !!!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

The staff were wonderful! They could not have been more welcoming, friendly and helpful -- most especially Claudia. We had a fabulous room! It was spacious, high ceilings, decorated very lovely and tastefully, and had everything we needed. We also had a balcony that overlooked a charming Neapolitan street, though the room was totally quiet. The hotel itself was decorated beautifully and had a lot of character. The breakfast was delicious! The location was excellent! A great and safe neighbourhood that was easily accessible to many sites. Highly recommend staying at this hotel!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abt0724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

The hotel is a bit far away from the train station, but given what we had heard about Naples, we figured we'd play it safe and stay somewhere with positive reviews rather than somewhere more centrally located yet questionable. We cabbed to and from the train station, and it cost us €11 both times to the station, and €13 coming from the station. Make sure to ask for the cost beforehand, and the cabbies will give you a flat rate and a receipt. That way there's no funny business. You can also take a bus to the train station, but we chose not to.

Anyway, the hotel itself is unique, and the room was very nice. We arrived at night and got buzzed in through a teeny little door -- the first sign that the hotel would be secure (although the area around the hotel seemed pretty safe). The staff was all very friendly and helpful, and the room was spacious with a nice, clean bathroom. We enjoyed our stay here, all in all.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zach S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

The entrance looks like an old neapolitan house,because it is,then you enter go the first floor,with lift or scale,and it is a real residence of charm,nice particular rooms,good internet connection,clean spacious bathroom,we also had a small terrace with the view of the street which is typically neapolitan.
The position was perfect for who wants to see the center ,castel del'ovo and goes to the port,as we did.
If I return to naples I would go there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank First-vera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
San Ferdinando
Hotel Il Convento
Hotel Il Convento
#4 of 186 in Naples
989 reviews
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Porto
Fly Boutique Hotel
Fly Boutique Hotel
#6 of 186 in Naples
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Chiaia
Hotel Exe Majestic
Hotel Exe Majestic
#34 of 186 in Naples
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chiaja Hotel de Charme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiaja Hotel de Charme

Address: Via Chiaia 216 | 1° Piano - 1th Floor, 80121, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > San Ferdinando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Naples
#18 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#20 Business Hotel in Naples
Price Range: £61 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chiaja Hotel de Charme 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chiaja Hotel de Charme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chiaja Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing