We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hotel Chiaja is so warm, welcoming and wonderful that if I could I'd move in.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chiaja Hotel de Charme
Ranked #24 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Hotel Chiaja is so warm, welcoming and wonderful that if I could I'd move in.”
Reviewed 10 June 2009

In response to our first inquiry, the email we received from Rosy, one of the front desk employees of the hotel, was so warm, welcoming and friendly that I immediately had a positive feeling about the hotel. Every email I sent -- I am a bit of a worrywart -- Rosy answered quickly, and in what we discovered to our great delight, was a Neapolitan style; a friendly, warmth to strangers. Through these emails, Rosy soothed my worries, not only about the hotel itself, but about Naples. In retrospect, I cannot imagine what worries I could have had about the hotel since it is really fabulous.

"Let me welcome you with some real Neapolitan coffee," Rosy said to us and an adult British family who also arrived too early for our rooms to be ready. The espresso in Italy is the best we've tasted in any country, and in Naples, it is to die for; rich, aromatic and smooth. What a welcome!

The Chiaja truly is a boutique hotel: It has an upscale feeling without the snottiness often involved in places like that, it is a very well maintained property painted in warm colours, there are employees available to handle most needs at all times. It's not a spa sort of place, it's a classy, beautiful place with an appealing relaxed flavour.

There is a relaxed, roomy lobby off the breakfast room, both of which are adjacent to the reception desk, which has someone there day and night. During the day, there are usually two or three people at the reception desk. Any questions or advice needed were handled promptly and well. We felt very well looked after.

We really looked forward to the afternoon treat tray that offered different Neapolitan pastry treats each day.

We had a Superior double room with a small balcony that over looked Via Chiaja, a pedestrian street, which was a major treat. Try for one of these rooms if you can swing it because watching the dynamic Neapolitan life at different times of day is really interesting. As far as we could tell, the only difference between a standard double room and a superior double room was the street view.

The room itself was relatively spacious and called "El Maestro" -- each room has a different name with an oil painting of the person in the room. Our room was very clean, very good quality linens etc, lovely artwork, and a sparkling bathroom. We loved it. Each evening around 8:30 pm (20:30 on the European clock) a maid came to the room and asked if everything was alright; this is a very appealing service.

The breakfast was of very high quality: it included cereal, yoghurt, fresh fruit, fruit juice, absolutely scrumptious cream filled croissants, regular croissants, a special ricotta filled pastry, bread ... etc. And, it also featured a very hard working young man who made delicious espressos, capuccinos and so on.

The Chiaja was a warm, calm and relaxing oasis in the swirl of life in Naples. And don't believe everything you've heard about Naples. We were floored with the friendly, welcoming nature of Neapolitans. The hotel is situated right in the historic centre of Naples, which is excellent for tourists.

And yes, we loved this hotel and its staff so much we'd move in if we could!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaymondVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    475
    509
    140
    59
    9
See reviews for
213
524
66
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2009

My wife and I began our Amalfi coast vacation with a first night in Naples. The hotel is in a terrific location for dining, shopping, and cultural excursions. Hotel staff were very hospitable. Continental breakfast was quite good with many choices. We had a room facing the street, and we did not experience any noise issues. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guffin61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCal
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2009

We transfered to this hotel from the sister hotel (Decumani de Charme) due to the lift being out of service and my mother in law with a bad knee. Anyhow, they made all the arrangement for the move while we were out sightseeing, didn't charge us any more than the original hotel and were so accomodating.
Loved the location and the room had a charming little shared balcony that overlooked the streed with lots of activity. Very near a bunch of sights that were walking distance. Super clean room and shower with comfy beds. Quiet during the night.
Good breakfast and good happy hour (bring your own wine, it is a little expensive).
Great hotel for the value and centrally located.
Not a whole bunch of reasonable restaurants immediately nearby, but the ones that are have personality!
Super nice host/owner, who is actually related to the original owner of the home!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoCalSkyeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2009

This was a lovely welcoming place to say. The staff couldn't be friendlier or more helpful, which is not always the case in Italy. The rooms are fairly small but well furnished and the house is in its own private courtyard.

It is located in the Chaia district which felt really central and atmospheric, and was within walking distance of all the attractions. I was really pleased with finding the Hotel Chiaja and wished I could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank culturegirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2009

We recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Naples and wanting to the see the city's vibrancy and colour, in a safe and elegant part of the city centre. The staff were delightful and happy to help with our many questions. Stay in this hotel and fall in love with Naples!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melbournefriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2009

A lovely stay in the beautiful month of October in fascinating Naples...The Hotel Chiaia is beautifully located...steps away from the Piazza Plebiscito and people-watching, espresso-drinking at Cafe Gambrinus, around the corner from several trattorias, just up the hill from the imposing Castel Nuovo...The hotel itself is in this neat old building....the room itself is small by US standards, but boasted a nice, big comfy bed and beautiful jacuzzi bath..and the balcony! One of our delights was people-watching on the street one story below...our most unforgettable memories of Napoli! The staff was most helpful....suggesting restaurants or directing us to trattorias, advising on transportation, making reservations, etc, Breakfast in the little breakfast room was very nice. We plan to return!

  • Liked — View from the balcony and the wonderful location
  • Disliked — The furniture could use a little paint
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank stellaf24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2008

The hotel is somewhere between above average and excellent. We stayed there last November. The hotel was very clean and nice. The staff were especially pleasant and helpful. Overall, a good hotel at a very reaonsable price. The location is also good for wondering around Naples - a very interesting city. Since then, the hotel has followed up on occasion by email with Christmas greetings and offers. Looking forward to going back in the near future.

  • Liked — Location, quality for the price
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Nancy60660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
San Ferdinando
Hotel Il Convento
Hotel Il Convento
#4 of 186 in Naples
956 reviews
Chiaia
Hotel Palazzo Alabardieri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chiaja Hotel de Charme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiaja Hotel de Charme

Property: Chiaja Hotel de Charme
Address: Via Chiaia 216 | 1° Piano - 1th Floor, 80121, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > San Ferdinando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#20 Business Hotel in Naples
#20 Family Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chiaja Hotel de Charme 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Chiaja Hotel de Charme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chiaja Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing