We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Chiaja Hotel de Charme
Ranked #23 of 185 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2009

This is a great little hotel on a lovely shopping street right off of Piazza Plebiscito - a great location. The hotel is charming, clean and the service was friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TTB_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

334 - 340 of 1,266 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Chiaja Hotel de Charme on the first night of our 8 days Amalfi trip. We got ripped off by our taxi driver from the airport but was compensated when we had a free upgrade at the hotel. The free upgrade came because the hotel staff (Rosy) remembered our trip was to celebrate my husband's birthday. Thank you, Rosy! We found the hotel with little diffculty. The entrance was hidden in the courtyard (behind a big brown wooden door) and up two flights of stairs. If you keep your head up and look out for the white balconies, it should not be difficult to locate the hotel. If you are an elderly couple or with disabilities and have some baggages, you might like to take the elevator instead. It will cost you 10 cents to use the elevator.

Once checked-in (the procedure was short and painless), we went immediately to the balcony of our room to admire the passing neapolitans beneath. The room was adequately big for European standard and had a high ceiling with tall french-doors. The bed was comfortable and air-cond was working properly. TV was not working well with the non-Italian channels (CNN) but that didn't bothered us as we were not watching it much. Bathroom was of good size, shower was not dripping but could include body-lotion in the amenities.

The location of the hotel was excellent, close to all the shoppings (Via Toledo), funicular up to the S. Martino National Museum, and within walking distance to the Molo Beverello Port and Santa Lucia area (also excellent dining over there). There were plenty of police patroling nearby and we felt safe throughout the day and night.

Breakfast was OK but with many sweet pastries and the fruits were a bit raw (kiwis were hard and sour). In my opinion, it would be nice to replace one or two of the pastries with some ham and cheese. If you need some recommendations to eat or a good coffee, just ask the receptionists. They had very good suggestions and would mark them on the map for you.

At time of check-out, we met a young gentleman (probably owner of the hotel) and he was very patient and attentive to our feedback. We felt there was a welcome in the beginning and a farewell at the end. The hotel was definitely not a Four Seasons or Hilton, but the service we received from this little hotel was equally warm and profession as the big chains. If you are using Naples as your hub and wish to be in a convenient location with good services, I would feel very comfortable recommending the Chiaja Hotel de Charme for you.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabysuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2009

After a lovely week in Amalfi needed to stay one night in Naples before flying home the next morning. Chose Hotel de Charme in Chiaja after trawling through lots of reviews as wanted somewhere safe within walking distance of Beverello Port as we were arriving by ferry from Amalfi. Didn't want to pay the astronomical taxi fares we had heard about. Easy walk from the Port up the temporary wooden walkway skirting Castell Nuovo (running the gauntlet of the street traders selling bags and sunglasses) then up the street with an arch Via S Carlo into Piazza Trieste e Trento then straight into pedestrianised Via Chiaia. Hotel is then about half way up the street on the right at No. 216 - if the big wooden doors are closed then press the gold button for reception. Could be difficult to find if you didn't know this. There is a lift up to the first floor where the hotel reception is situated.

Pleasant little hotel with helpful English speaking staff. Comfortable older style furniture rooms, nice hallway by reception where we had a complimentary glass of wine (we missed out on the evening pastries) and there's a small breakfast room. We had booked a standard rate double in advance on their website for 99 euros (inc breakfast) which faced the internal courtyard over the kitchens of Brandi Pizzeria but were offered a superior room with balcony over street for 164 euros, but didn't think it was worth paying the difference as we just wanted a quick clean stopover. Breakfast was ok - lots of sweet pastry/croissants but nothing savoury except for Philidelphia cheese spread. Had dinner in a restaurant just up from Brandi Pizzeria recommended by the receptionist literally steps away from the hotel called Locanda N'Tretella - meal and wine pretty good and much more reasonable of course than the prices we'd been paying on the Amalfi coast.

Transfer back to the airport in the morning was easy - walked back down towards Castell Nuovo and caught the Alibus there direct to the airport - they run every 20 mins, take about 30 mins to get to the airport as they stop briefly in Piazza Garibaldi and it's only 3 euros each (pay the driver).

So, all in all, after some worries about staying the night in Naples as we had been warned about the city's reputation, we found it easy and uneventful. But, I would say, to be extra safe I didn't carry a handbag or wear jewellery, we didn't take the camera out with us, my husband kept all his money/cards in a bodybelt under his clothes and we made sure we kept well away from Piazza Garibaldi and the Spanish Quarter. Naples is definitely a weird and intimidating place - heed the warnings, be aware and prepared and stay as safe as you can!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cowbridgelady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2009

In response to our first inquiry, the email we received from Rosy, one of the front desk employees of the hotel, was so warm, welcoming and friendly that I immediately had a positive feeling about the hotel. Every email I sent -- I am a bit of a worrywart -- Rosy answered quickly, and in what we discovered to our great delight, was a Neapolitan style; a friendly, warmth to strangers. Through these emails, Rosy soothed my worries, not only about the hotel itself, but about Naples. In retrospect, I cannot imagine what worries I could have had about the hotel since it is really fabulous.

"Let me welcome you with some real Neapolitan coffee," Rosy said to us and an adult British family who also arrived too early for our rooms to be ready. The espresso in Italy is the best we've tasted in any country, and in Naples, it is to die for; rich, aromatic and smooth. What a welcome!

The Chiaja truly is a boutique hotel: It has an upscale feeling without the snottiness often involved in places like that, it is a very well maintained property painted in warm colours, there are employees available to handle most needs at all times. It's not a spa sort of place, it's a classy, beautiful place with an appealing relaxed flavour.

There is a relaxed, roomy lobby off the breakfast room, both of which are adjacent to the reception desk, which has someone there day and night. During the day, there are usually two or three people at the reception desk. Any questions or advice needed were handled promptly and well. We felt very well looked after.

We really looked forward to the afternoon treat tray that offered different Neapolitan pastry treats each day.

We had a Superior double room with a small balcony that over looked Via Chiaja, a pedestrian street, which was a major treat. Try for one of these rooms if you can swing it because watching the dynamic Neapolitan life at different times of day is really interesting. As far as we could tell, the only difference between a standard double room and a superior double room was the street view.

The room itself was relatively spacious and called "El Maestro" -- each room has a different name with an oil painting of the person in the room. Our room was very clean, very good quality linens etc, lovely artwork, and a sparkling bathroom. We loved it. Each evening around 8:30 pm (20:30 on the European clock) a maid came to the room and asked if everything was alright; this is a very appealing service.

The breakfast was of very high quality: it included cereal, yoghurt, fresh fruit, fruit juice, absolutely scrumptious cream filled croissants, regular croissants, a special ricotta filled pastry, bread ... etc. And, it also featured a very hard working young man who made delicious espressos, capuccinos and so on.

The Chiaja was a warm, calm and relaxing oasis in the swirl of life in Naples. And don't believe everything you've heard about Naples. We were floored with the friendly, welcoming nature of Neapolitans. The hotel is situated right in the historic centre of Naples, which is excellent for tourists.

And yes, we loved this hotel and its staff so much we'd move in if we could!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RaymondVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2009

My wife and I began our Amalfi coast vacation with a first night in Naples. The hotel is in a terrific location for dining, shopping, and cultural excursions. Hotel staff were very hospitable. Continental breakfast was quite good with many choices. We had a room facing the street, and we did not experience any noise issues. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guffin61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2009

We transfered to this hotel from the sister hotel (Decumani de Charme) due to the lift being out of service and my mother in law with a bad knee. Anyhow, they made all the arrangement for the move while we were out sightseeing, didn't charge us any more than the original hotel and were so accomodating.
Loved the location and the room had a charming little shared balcony that overlooked the streed with lots of activity. Very near a bunch of sights that were walking distance. Super clean room and shower with comfy beds. Quiet during the night.
Good breakfast and good happy hour (bring your own wine, it is a little expensive).
Great hotel for the value and centrally located.
Not a whole bunch of reasonable restaurants immediately nearby, but the ones that are have personality!
Super nice host/owner, who is actually related to the original owner of the home!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoCalSkyeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2009

This was a lovely welcoming place to say. The staff couldn't be friendlier or more helpful, which is not always the case in Italy. The rooms are fairly small but well furnished and the house is in its own private courtyard.

It is located in the Chaia district which felt really central and atmospheric, and was within walking distance of all the attractions. I was really pleased with finding the Hotel Chiaja and wished I could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank culturegirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
San Ferdinando
Hotel Il Convento
Hotel Il Convento
#3 of 185 in Naples
984 reviews
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Porto
Fly Boutique Hotel
Fly Boutique Hotel
#5 of 185 in Naples
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chiaja Hotel de Charme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiaja Hotel de Charme

Address: Via Chiaia 216 | 1° Piano - 1th Floor, 80121, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > San Ferdinando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#20 Business Hotel in Naples
#20 Family Hotel in Naples
Price Range: £60 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chiaja Hotel de Charme 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splitty, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Chiaja Hotel de Charme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chiaja Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing