We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel was great, Naples was not!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chiaja Hotel de Charme
Ranked #22 of 185 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2010

The hotel was really cool - very kitchy...the room was a little on the small side but very comforatble and the bathroom was great. The airconditioning was really good too. The hotel staff very helpful and brightened our experience of Naples! The location was really great - 10 mins slow walk to the marina to get the boat to Capri, and again only a few minutes to the bus.
A bit far from the train station - we got taxis and was different prices everytime...so just check 1st. Buses are easier and way cheaper but people arent always helpful as to which bus goes where etc.

I hated Naples. I wouldnt bother except as for a cheap place to stay to get to the other islands/towns. It's like a 3rd world place! Mucky, messy and intimidating!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank originaljilly_bean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 1,323 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2010

located in one of the most pleasant area of naples, nice room and friendly staff but breakfast was disapointing, they kept serving same fruit salad adding more every day but the old fruit were still there. also the air conditionning was noisy and not too efficient plus you cant control it yourself. was a bit disapointing in light of previous reviews.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank echotangolima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

Had we known about this hotel on our first trip to Naples three years ago we would have had a better time in Naples. Chiaja is on a pedestrian street keeping it very quiet and safe. The hotel is located in a great neighborhood with cute restaurants,nice shops and close to major sites including Piazza de Plebiscito, The Underground City and Via Toledo. We stayed at this hotel twice on this trip. Our first room was a little noisy not due to traffic but a crazy women who sang all night for the two nights we were there, however when we returned we asked for a different room and it was perfect. The rooms have an old world charm.
The staff were so nice who recommend a great little restaurant, that we liked so much that we went twice, helped us get boat schedules, airline confirmation. Even when we made the reservation they responded back to us immediately and any questions I had they answered right away. After staying at Chiaja Hotel de Charme my husband and I have a much better appreciation to Naples.

Denise and Carlo

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deniza10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2010

The Chija Hotel de Charme is a gem in the heart of Naples. Its location is especially convenient if you arrive by boat which we did from Sorrento. A short walk around Castel Nuovo brings you to Piazza del Plebiscito and Via Chiaja which leads to the hotel. If you arrive during "siesta" hours as we did, the entrance is somewhat difficult to find - a small brown, locked door. Just look for the hotel name on the doorbell plate and ring. (It is much easier to find during non-siesta hours.) The staff is very helpful and friendly, willing to offer suggestions for dining and maps of the area. If and when we return to Naples there is no doubt we would choose to stay at Hotel Chiaja de Charme.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lowbrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2010

Our recent stay at Hotel Chiaja du Charme was very pleasant. We arrived early in the morning, so of course the room was not ready. The staff offered us coffee and a place to rest, and made up the room for us quickly. The staff spoke excellent English. In the evening they left out local baked specialties or pastries for the guests. The hotel is located on a pedestrian street with shopping and restaurants, and feels very safe. Nearby trendy shopping was in one direction, the sea in another, and the historic Spanish quarter was next door. We walked to churches and the historic center comfortably (about a 30 minute walk to either the Duomo or to the fabulous Archeological Museum). The hotel is on the European first floor (up a flight of stairs) and indicated by a large pennant hanging from the windows rather than a sign. When we were looking for the hotel, the bell man saw us from several doors away, ran over, asked if we were going to the hotel, and then carried our bags up the stairs to reception (there is an elevator too). Several of the rooms are named after the original owners occupants, with relevant paintings in the rooms. We stayed in the teacher's room. The bathroom was large by European standards, and the bathtub had a jacuzzi. The room had a small balcony, from which one could watch the relaxed action on the street. The breakfast had wonderful local pastries and fresh juice, as well as good coffee. All in all, a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JVetro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2010

position is great, but room was very small, breakfast is nothing special and price is high.
i'll probably go somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dafab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2010

This hotel was really charming and intimate. The hotel is in the middle of a very busy area of Naples - it's right by the Piazza del Plebiscito, ferries, shopping, restaurants, Galleria Umberto, and almost everything is walking distance. It is about a 30 minute walk to the train station. Just steps away from the door are lots of clothing stores, restaurants, gelaterias. It's also just a 10 minute walk to the bay.

The hotel is hard to find because there is no car roadway there, you have to get out near the Piazza del Plebiscito, and walk through these very narrow cobblestone streets to find it. If you are on Chiaia street and find yourself walking up a hill, turn around! it's at the bottom of the hill. If you come at night, the courtyard would be closed and you will have to buzz yourself in and walk through a tiny door. When we got there however, the stores below saw us, and directed us upstairs to the lobby.

The staff was nice and spoke English. Every morning there is a basic breakfast buffet and you can order cappuccinos. Every afternoon there is a snack of pastries or mini pizzas.

We got the standard room - which had cozy quaint furniture. It's small and hard to walk around if you have luggage open everywhere. The bathrooms were comfortable - standard rooms do not have bathtubs. The toiletries could use some improvement - they only provide wash gel and shampoo, no lotions or conditioners. Our balcony door went to a shared courtyard with other rooms, so that was not private at all.

We would stay here again. Price was for 3 nights with tax : $422.37

Unique Qualities: It's right in the smack middle of the shopping district and you can stumble into the Piazza del Plebiscito.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snowcat99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
San Ferdinando
Hotel Il Convento
Hotel Il Convento
#4 of 185 in Naples
1,004 reviews
Porto
Fly Boutique Hotel
Fly Boutique Hotel
#6 of 185 in Naples
487 reviews
Chiaia
Hotel Palazzo Alabardieri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Chiaia
Hotel Exe Majestic
Hotel Exe Majestic
#33 of 185 in Naples
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chiaja Hotel de Charme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiaja Hotel de Charme

Address: Via Chiaia 216 | 1st Floor, 80121, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > San Ferdinando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Naples
#18 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#20 Business Hotel in Naples
Price Range: £58 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chiaja Hotel de Charme 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Chiaja Hotel de Charme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chiaja Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing