We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming, quiet place in Naples”
Review of Hotel Il Convento

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Il Convento
Ranked #3 of 185 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed 3 nights with old friends at this three-star hotel, mid-September, prior to our departure to the region of Sorrento. We had carefully made our hotel selection in order to get back to a quiet, cosy place _ with a safe deposit box, also :-) _ when tired of visiting busy, noisy Naples. To reach the place from the airport, we took a taxi and we recommend you do the same, this gem is well hidden in the narrow streets of old Naples, closed to "Piazza Trieste and Torrento". We had a standard double room, well decorated, our friends got a Junior suite, with a terrace where they invited us to have a drink before dinner ih restaurants nearby. The ladies were pleased with the proximity of Via Toledo, which is "The place" to buy things in Naples. Last, but not least, the staff is very, very helpful and helped us a lot in our search of good restaurants. They also gave us useful tips for the discovery of the city. All in all, we were very pleased with our choice !
Only minor improvement needed : slow service at breakfast, (but the overall quality of it is rather good and definitely at the level of other three stars hotels in Italy)

Room Tip: The juniors suites, if available, are a great value for money !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Froggies_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (979)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

291 - 297 of 979 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2013

Stayed early Oct 2013 and had a junior suite (number 44). This room had no balcony or windows that looked out onto the street, as due to it's location in the tighly packed streets of this old part of town, any window or balcony would probably just be 4 metres from someone elses on opposite side of road. What it does have is its own superb walled terrace, with lighting and many plants. Its great to have you breakfast, catch the sun or sit under the stars at night.

Staff very helpful and hotel clean. Very close the shopping at Via Toledo and Harbour areas.

The narrow streets around the hotel get a certain amount of scooter and car traffic, so keep and eye out at the junctions. Apart from the great breakfast in the morning, we didn't use any other of the hotel facilities (e.g. bar) as we tended to be out most of the time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Il Convento is a nice, clean hotel situated in old center of Napoli. It is easy to reach by bus from the rail station + a short walk via Toledo. Our room was a little bit small, but enough place for two people. Charming palace, plenty of restaurants nearby + grocery stores if you need some Italian cheese and good wine. Breakfast was good, and people at the reception were helpful. Highly recommended if you have little time and you want to visit the city. The harbour is at walking distance for trips to Capri. Having a car is not a very good idea, Napoli streets are narrow, but from this hotel everything is at walking distance, or metro, or funicular. Wi Fi available, but sometimes not strong enough for Skype.
A little bit noisy, earplugs are a must if you are a light sleeper!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M_and_FT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

the Hotel is not easy to find, due the GPS passes out between the tall houses. better you park your car in a garage and take a cab, as there is no space to drive the or park. The hotel has very nice rooms, well appointed an spacious. They are functional and clean. The staff is very good and I was even able to park my motorcycle next door in the storage. When you want to see the real old Naples, that's the place to go, close to the main attractions.

Room Tip: don't go there by car, park it in a silo and take a cab.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This is a lovely small hotel in the centre of Naples, within a few minutes walking distance of restaurants and buses. The area is busy so feels quite safe.The staff here are wonderful - when I had my credit cards stolen (NOT at the hotel) they could not have been more helpful and sympathetic.
The rooms are very clean, look newly decorated and have everything you could reasonably want. Mine had a little balcony overlooking the street. I will definitely stay here again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hthomas87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Located in the spanish quarter, one of the most interesting parts of the Naples, Il Convento is a great, affordable option. The rooms are very small and the breakfast won't blow you away, but it's clean, the beds are comfortable, and the location is very good. The staff is nice and helpful too.

There is a little street noise, but the windows are double paned. If you need absolute quiet, try the ear plugs (provided by the hotel). If you need absolute quiet and can't tolerate ear plugs, look elsewhere. This is a lively city and a lively neighborhood; I believe they've done all they can given their location.

Room Tip: See my review regarding noise at the location. I believe most rooms are subject to some street noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank technotarek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

A very lovely hotel that is in a good part of town and easy to access other parts of town. Good facilities near by so if you want to find restratunts and stuff then you are able to within a walking distance. Would recomend to anyone who asks. Small and charming.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josh E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Porto
Fly Boutique Hotel
Fly Boutique Hotel
#5 of 185 in Naples
458 reviews
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 185 in Naples
2,136 reviews
San Ferdinando
La Ciliegina Lifestyle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Oriente
#9 of 185 in Naples
1,051 reviews
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Convento

Address: Via Speranzella 137/a, 80132, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > San Ferdinando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Naples
#6 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#10 Family Hotel in Naples
Price Range: £56 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Il Convento 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Convento is a cute little hotel in the very heart of Naples. It's situated in the narrow atmospheric streets of the Quartieri Spagnoli only few meters away from the main shopping street (Via Roma/Via Toledo)In a palace of the 1600, skillfully restored, with the aim to re-create its original look it feels a bit like living in a castle (lit candles and brickwalls). The hotel is filled with beautiful furniture have a cute breakfast area and free wi-fi in breakfast rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Il Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Convento Hotel
Il Convento Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing