We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good little hotel”
Review of Hotel Il Convento

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Il Convento
Ranked #3 of 185 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Though a relatively frequent traveller to Italy I'd never made it to Napoli - put off in part by stories of crime and noise. Read Tripadvisor for pointers of a place to stay and definitely made the right decision. Hotel Il Convento is right in the thick of it in the Spanish Quarter, but it's a cosy retreat. Ear plugs were provided in the room, but didn't need them. The location couldn't be better, just off Via Toledo and close to the tourists spots, cafes, restaurants, etc. My room was a Junior Suite with a small terrace - excellent. The staff were very good and extremely helpful, especially when I was having difficulties contacting a local company to confirm my tour of Pompeii. They also gave excellent restaurant recommendations. Ended up having a great time in Napoli. Yes, it's a place where you need to be careful and sensible, but for me Napoli is a new favourite place. GF - Perth, Australia

Room Tip: Get a Junior Suite with a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (979)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

286 - 292 of 979 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2013

The staff was the most cordial and helpful. Maria (on of the staff members) shared a wealth of information about the city and the south of Italy in general. The room was spotless and had a feel of a flat. The breakfasts could fill you for the whole day and were delicious at that. Hotel's located in a busy area, the mornings could be a bit quieter but it was not that bad. No doubt a great bang for the buck! We easily recommend it without reservations (but advance reservation recommended:)

Vlad & Natalya, Atlanta, GA

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VLADandNATALYA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Despite bad reviews about this cozy hotel, I leave the hotel with a good impression.

We got update in the room for free, without asking for it, as soon we arrived the Signore at front desk (forgot his name) gave info where to eat (another amazing and cheap place with tasty Napolitan Pizza, calzoni, pasta etc etc etc 2 block away).

The breakfast in the room was marvelous, in the private terrace.

Internet works great, fast enough to have Skype conferences, and reliable connection 24/7.

Great service, always ready to help and giving advice.

It's not a chain hotel, not 5,4,3 stars... just a cozy hotel with great Napolitan atmosphere.

From central take metro to Toledo station, out to right and follow signs... VEEERYYY easy to reach (despite some reviews) just take a look in google earth!

7 minutes walk to Piazza del Plebiscito, castel nuovo.

Stayed several times before in Naples, chain hotels... but will stay here again next time!

Room Tip: Room 42, quiet room, private terrace, BUT NOT STREET VIEW!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrés A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

The hotel is in the heart of it. The name of the microposition says enough: the Spanish Qarter. Walking distance from most of the important sightseeing in the center of the city.(from the Ovo Castle to the Archeological Museum and from Saint Elmo Castle to Piazza Garibaldi...). Best pizza places (one on Via Sersale and three/four on Via dei Tribunali) in walking distance. Nice and small hotel, very clean, Breakfast is good but it could be even more diverse... Room was small but clean and no complains at all about the bathroom. Lovely choice for a couple investigating the past and the present of the city and the surroundings. Location is excellent if you want to experience Naples, it's narrow streets full of vespas, it's lively inhabitants and picturesque fruit & vegetables shops, butcheries...

Room Tip: A bit roumorous at nights (what can you expect from the hotel in such a lively quarter), but not too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tine_bucik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Il Convento helped to make our first stay in Naples a very positive experience in early October. Il Convento is ideally located for walking, and it suited our taste as a small hotel with old-world charm, clean and comfortable, and a good value.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRBM_StillWalking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed 3 nights with old friends at this three-star hotel, mid-September, prior to our departure to the region of Sorrento. We had carefully made our hotel selection in order to get back to a quiet, cosy place _ with a safe deposit box, also :-) _ when tired of visiting busy, noisy Naples. To reach the place from the airport, we took a taxi and we recommend you do the same, this gem is well hidden in the narrow streets of old Naples, closed to "Piazza Trieste and Torrento". We had a standard double room, well decorated, our friends got a Junior suite, with a terrace where they invited us to have a drink before dinner ih restaurants nearby. The ladies were pleased with the proximity of Via Toledo, which is "The place" to buy things in Naples. Last, but not least, the staff is very, very helpful and helped us a lot in our search of good restaurants. They also gave us useful tips for the discovery of the city. All in all, we were very pleased with our choice !
Only minor improvement needed : slow service at breakfast, (but the overall quality of it is rather good and definitely at the level of other three stars hotels in Italy)

Room Tip: The juniors suites, if available, are a great value for money !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Froggies_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Stayed early Oct 2013 and had a junior suite (number 44). This room had no balcony or windows that looked out onto the street, as due to it's location in the tighly packed streets of this old part of town, any window or balcony would probably just be 4 metres from someone elses on opposite side of road. What it does have is its own superb walled terrace, with lighting and many plants. Its great to have you breakfast, catch the sun or sit under the stars at night.

Staff very helpful and hotel clean. Very close the shopping at Via Toledo and Harbour areas.

The narrow streets around the hotel get a certain amount of scooter and car traffic, so keep and eye out at the junctions. Apart from the great breakfast in the morning, we didn't use any other of the hotel facilities (e.g. bar) as we tended to be out most of the time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Porto
Fly Boutique Hotel
Fly Boutique Hotel
#5 of 185 in Naples
460 reviews
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 185 in Naples
2,136 reviews
San Ferdinando
La Ciliegina Lifestyle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Oriente
#9 of 185 in Naples
1,051 reviews
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Convento

Address: Via Speranzella 137/a, 80132, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > San Ferdinando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Naples
#6 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#10 Family Hotel in Naples
Price Range: £56 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Il Convento 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Convento is a cute little hotel in the very heart of Naples. It's situated in the narrow atmospheric streets of the Quartieri Spagnoli only few meters away from the main shopping street (Via Roma/Via Toledo)In a palace of the 1600, skillfully restored, with the aim to re-create its original look it feels a bit like living in a castle (lit candles and brickwalls). The hotel is filled with beautiful furniture have a cute breakfast area and free wi-fi in breakfast rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Il Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Convento Hotel
Il Convento Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing