We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in the traffic chaos”
Review of Hotel Il Convento

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Il Convento
Ranked #3 of 185 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We arrived by a rental car to Napoli. The traffic was terrible, we haven't seen alike anywhere in the World. The parking was easy to find, thanks to the instructions and maps mailed to us in advance. Once in the hotel you really can feel and live in the life of Napolitans. It's very well situated, walking distance to everything (a special thanks to that, no need to take the car). The staff at the hotel are great and very friendly. Ask them for the best restaurants etc and you will be able to experience the best.
We highly recommend you this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heikki O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (986)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

281 - 287 of 986 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2013

A little difficult to find at first, this hotel is in a great location, just off Via Toledo. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. The rooms are quite large and have good facilities including tea and coffee making and a minibar. Despite what you read in the guidebooks, the Spanish Quarter is a nice part of this city and far less threatening than the area around Via Fiori. There are many good restaurants within a short walk of the hotel, including just around the corner. Via Toledo is the main shopping drag and has interesting shops and is always full of people. However, Naples has fallen upon hard times so it is a far cry from its glory days. Be very careful when travelling on the buses in particular. I had my pocket picked by a very determined, experienced thief, despite my best efforts. Basically, don't get on a bus outside an obvious tourist spot. Walk a stop or two down the road. Don't allow yourself to be separated from your companion (if you have one) and don't panic if someone bars your way when you are trying to get off the bus. Just wait and get off at the next stop or shout at them and ask them why they are trying to pick your pocket. All a possibility, not something I thought of doing until afterwards sadly. Also don't bother with travel insurance. The companies providing this are possibly bigger thieves than the guys working the buses.

Room Tip: Ear plugs are provided in the rooms, mainly to block out the convent bells that ring out from 7am. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We visited Naples for the weekend in December 2013, staying at Hotel il Convento. The hotel staff are helpful, the location is very central and we had a comfortable stay. The beds and pillows were rather firm, but apart from that, the rooms were comfortable and cleanand its nice to be able to make tea or coffee with the in-room kettle.
I can can absolutely recommend the hotel to anyone visiting the city for a few days and I would certainly love to visit again, albeit taking my own (soft!) pillow!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irene229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Really nice, quiet friendly place right in the heart of Naples. Nice furnishings. We had the 'junior suite' with a lovely little pation Better than expected breakfast, including ham, salami and sliced hard-boiled egg - to try with the spicy olive oil!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dkatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

11 of us came from the UK for 3 days (2 nights) and can highly recommend this hotel. Located in the slightly hectic but extremely atmospheric Spanish Quarter it was perfect for exploring all areas of the city and nearby Pompeii as well as being nearby to a huge choice of independent restaurants, tavernas and trattorias. Staff could not be more friendly and helpful and rooms are delightfully rustic and traditional. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stubbsy70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in early October. It is located in the Spanish Quarter which is full of character, narrow streets with lots going on. Some reports have tried to say the area was dangerous but we never felt even slightly threatened - Barcelona is far worse. The building itself is full of character, a great breakfast on a table with other guests which encouraged conversation and shared experiences of Naples. The location is perfect for walking to a lot of the places you would want to visit but the highlight of the hotel is the staff who could not be more helpful or welcoming. We recommend it to anybody and will not stay anywhere else if /when we return.
Tony& Pauline, England

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RugbymanBebington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Our stay at the hotel was flawless. The staff were very helpful, the rooms were exceptionally clean, and we loved the breakfasts! Although the hotel is located in the Spanish Quarter, which is supposed to be one of the most dangerous parts of Naples, we didn't notice any suspicious activity. In fact, we felt quite safe. The hotel is very cozy and has a beautiful decor. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for reasonably priced accommodation in the heart of Naples. You won't be disappointed. Please take into account that this is a very small hotel, and thus it doesn't offer many amenities. There is only a small bar and a breakfast room.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CzechTraveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 185 in Naples
2,160 reviews
Porto
Fly Boutique Hotel
Fly Boutique Hotel
#5 of 185 in Naples
471 reviews
Fuorigrotta
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#4 of 185 in Naples
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Grand Hotel Oriente
#8 of 185 in Naples
1,074 reviews
San Ferdinando
La Ciliegina Lifestyle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Convento

Address: Via Speranzella 137/a, 80132, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > San Ferdinando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Naples
#6 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#10 Family Hotel in Naples
#18 Best Value Hotel in Naples
Price Range: £52 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Il Convento 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Convento is a cute little hotel in the very heart of Naples. It's situated in the narrow atmospheric streets of the Quartieri Spagnoli only few meters away from the main shopping street (Via Roma/Via Toledo)In a palace of the 1600, skillfully restored, with the aim to re-create its original look it feels a bit like living in a castle (lit candles and brickwalls). The hotel is filled with beautiful furniture have a cute breakfast area and free wi-fi in breakfast rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Il Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Convento Hotel
Il Convento Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing