We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy home in the chaos of Napoli”
Review of Hotel Il Convento

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Il Convento
Ranked #3 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Location, location, location. I will always opt for ear plugs to be in the buzz of it all. The charm that makes Napoli what it is and why I drug my wife there in the first place. The hotel is in what I consider the best part of Napoli so you can really experience life in the street. Easy to get to and a great base for exploring the vibrant streets.

Our room was very cozy and had a lot of touches to make it feel like home. We loved the hot pot (electric kettle) with coffee in the room. Great way to start the day and I seldom find this in Italian hotels. We like it so much, we later bought a hot pot which we took with us all around Italy. The room was clean and well furnished. The staff was very helpful and the breakfast, wonderful. It was a great stay. Will stay here again and recommend to others.

Room Tip: Ask for upper floor on side street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Czexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (999)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

278 - 284 of 999 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2014

This hotel isn't fancy, it's very simple. Perfect for me, and a great price. The room was small but very clean and cute! Also a nice free breakfast in the morning and free wifi. Very nice staff too. Loved it!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank laStepharoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

A lovely hotel with friendly staff. We got a warm welcome, some small local snacks and even a bottle of prosecco to celebrate New Year. Our little balcony looked out over one of Naples typical streets, we even had a X-mas tree. The location is perfect to explore the different areas of the city and there are some excellent restaurants nearby. We felt like living the Naples way with the security of a safety deposit box in the room and closely watched hotel access.

Room Tip: The family room includes a mezzanine level at which there 2 single beds. It provides sufficient spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yolande H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Staffs are friendly and has been very helpful with our questions, giving good recommendations as where to dine and checking out various places for us whether they are opening during the holiday etc. And, the hotel is at a very vibrant neighborhood and it's very convenience to get to the shopping area and the historical sites.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greentravel2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We arrived by a rental car to Napoli. The traffic was terrible, we haven't seen alike anywhere in the World. The parking was easy to find, thanks to the instructions and maps mailed to us in advance. Once in the hotel you really can feel and live in the life of Napolitans. It's very well situated, walking distance to everything (a special thanks to that, no need to take the car). The staff at the hotel are great and very friendly. Ask them for the best restaurants etc and you will be able to experience the best.
We highly recommend you this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heikki O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

A little difficult to find at first, this hotel is in a great location, just off Via Toledo. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. The rooms are quite large and have good facilities including tea and coffee making and a minibar. Despite what you read in the guidebooks, the Spanish Quarter is a nice part of this city and far less threatening than the area around Via Fiori. There are many good restaurants within a short walk of the hotel, including just around the corner. Via Toledo is the main shopping drag and has interesting shops and is always full of people. However, Naples has fallen upon hard times so it is a far cry from its glory days. Be very careful when travelling on the buses in particular. I had my pocket picked by a very determined, experienced thief, despite my best efforts. Basically, don't get on a bus outside an obvious tourist spot. Walk a stop or two down the road. Don't allow yourself to be separated from your companion (if you have one) and don't panic if someone bars your way when you are trying to get off the bus. Just wait and get off at the next stop or shout at them and ask them why they are trying to pick your pocket. All a possibility, not something I thought of doing until afterwards sadly. Also don't bother with travel insurance. The companies providing this are possibly bigger thieves than the guys working the buses.

Room Tip: Ear plugs are provided in the rooms, mainly to block out the convent bells that ring out from 7am. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We visited Naples for the weekend in December 2013, staying at Hotel il Convento. The hotel staff are helpful, the location is very central and we had a comfortable stay. The beds and pillows were rather firm, but apart from that, the rooms were comfortable and cleanand its nice to be able to make tea or coffee with the in-room kettle.
I can can absolutely recommend the hotel to anyone visiting the city for a few days and I would certainly love to visit again, albeit taking my own (soft!) pillow!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irene229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 186 in Naples
2,189 reviews
Fuorigrotta
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#4 of 186 in Naples
1,151 reviews
Porto
Fly Boutique Hotel
Fly Boutique Hotel
#5 of 186 in Naples
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
San Ferdinando
La Ciliegina Lifestyle Hotel
Grand Hotel Oriente
#10 of 186 in Naples
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Convento

Address: Via Speranzella 137/a, 80132, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > San Ferdinando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Naples
#6 Romantic Hotel in Naples
Price Range: £54 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Il Convento 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Convento is a cute little hotel in the very heart of Naples. It's situated in the narrow atmospheric streets of the Quartieri Spagnoli only few meters away from the main shopping street (Via Roma/Via Toledo)In a palace of the 1600, skillfully restored, with the aim to re-create its original look it feels a bit like living in a castle (lit candles and brickwalls). The hotel is filled with beautiful furniture have a cute breakfast area and free wi-fi in breakfast rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Il Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Convento Hotel
Il Convento Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing